We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I was there now!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lui Bar

The Lui Bar
Level 55, Rialto, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 3,927 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night
Devonport, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wish I was there now!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

After going to the Lui Bar on the weekend for a few cocktails, I had never been before. When I reached the top and walked out into the bar i was more blown away then i was expecting. The cocktail list was extensive and made to perfection. The staff were knowledgeable and beyond friendly. If you are after a place to go for a special occasion or just want to be blown away by a truly inspiring space then the lui bar is the place to be.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    19
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mount Isa, Australia
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Amazing in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The Lui Bar is part of Vue De Monde and is located next to the restaurant on the 55th floor of the Rialto Building on Collins Street.

The perfect place for a drink before you eat in Vue De Monde or an excellent compromise if you can't get a table, the Lui Bar is elegance and sophistication all the way with arguably the best view in Melbourne.

The cocktail list has something for everyone, but don't be afraid to ask for the wine list. It's huge and a treat for anyone who loves their wine. Whilst there are enough bottles that cost the same as an overseas holiday, there is also a very wide selection between $100 and $300 and to be honest, more than we expected.

My husband and I have a soft spot for the Marguex region of France and where delighted to find that there was a bottle of 1998 Chateau Ferriere, so we indulged. We received a complimentary dish of olives and macadamia nuts, which was amazing. Neither of us like macadamia nuts but they were roasted and salted and had some rosemerry and were amazing. We could not help but finish them. The olives were magnificent as well.

You would be hard pressed to find a better place in Melbourne to sit and watch the sun go down. Add in a cocktail or a glass of wine and some tasty morsels and you will be in heaven. JUST GO!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Romatic night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Fantastic views of Melbourne.. it also famous for its tasty cocktail.. i ordered lui martini, very unforgettable experience. the bartender was very kind teaching me the culture of martini, even though i still did very bad job at the taste later on... my friend ordered a cup of gin tonic, which is very good. I guess ull never get wrong with gin tonic:DD

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gingin, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“An absolute must do on your bucket list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Fabulous view as its been said before, dress for the occasion and totally immerse yourself in this wonderful experience. Read all the reviews and then add yours too. This visit to Melbourne with my daughter was certainly enhanced by the cocktail at the Lui Bar.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Fantastic view of Melbourne at night! Wandered in and had an awesome experience. Staff were amazing! Cocktails were as good as anywhere! Will recommend friends to experience The Lui Bar!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lui Bar also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to The Lui Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lui Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.