We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pegasus Apart'Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pegasus Apart'Hotel to your Saves list
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   206 A'Beckett Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Port Motueka, Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

we stayed here for 4 nights and then extended our stay another night(with no problem) at the beginning of sept and enjoyed it immensely. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Short walks to Queen Vic Market,CBD, Flagstaff underground train station and tram lines made this a great spot. There was a ittle noise but more because the window next door didn't shut properly from what we could figure out. We really appreciated the kitchen which enabled us to meet our dietary requirements.The pool was great, just a shame the spa didn't work properly.
When we checked out we were able to leave our luggage at the front desk, collect our rental car and then return for the gear with no hassles.

Room Tip: avoid the east facing windows if you are a ight sleeper! the sun sure gets up early,even at the begi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PegasusApartHotel, Manager at Pegasus Apart'Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear PennyB

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and our team’s friendliness added to your Melbourne experience. Our Spa is being attended to; we are waiting on a replacement part to get it back from reduced functionality.

Our apologies for the noise through the window

We hope to be your place of choice when you next visit Melbourne

The Team at Pegasus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    181
    23
    10
    12
See reviews for
85
103
29
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

New hotel, therefore clean. Rooms are comfortable and a decent size. Provision of shaver, toothbrush and basic toiletries (albeit not in the Molton Brown category) adds a nice touch. Housekeeping could do with some improvement. (Sugar replenished only on request and window ledges not dusted). Public transport is a within walking distance. This hotel is in the 'value for money' category and I would have given it a higher rating had it not been for the abysmal level of noise insulation between rooms. I had to endure 3 sleepless nights during my 4 night stay due to the noise intrusion from guests in the room next to mine who carried on talking and laughing until 5 am. They weren't being rowdy, just young ppl chatting and having a good time. To add insult to injury, the lady at the front desk who asked for my feedback regarding my stay as I was checking out showed no empathy and, to date, management has not bothered to respond to my comments.

Room Tip: Make sure there are no guests in adjacent rooms if you want a good night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PegasusApartHotel, Manager at Pegasus Apart'Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Sandom_13

We are sorry to hear you were kept awake until the early hours due to social activity; as we have a manager on duty 24/7 we are able to address such issues if reported to us. As we are a new build, it could be that insulating material has been missed. If you could contact us directly to provide your name or room number, we would be able to check on the noise insulation issue.

Thank you for advising of the sugar and room dust situation; a standard which is not typical of our housekeeping services.

The Team at Pegasus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at Pegasus Apart'Hotel for 3 nights. Upon arrival we had a warm greeting. We chose to stay at the Pegasus as they offered free parking and the accommodation looked fairly comfortable and new.

We were on the 12th floor and we didnt experience any construction noise next door as mentioned in other reviews. The location was excellent, just across the road from the Queen Victoria Markets, transport and other attractions in the CBD. The facilities throughout the hotel were very new and the kitchen was nice. We didnt use the kitchen in our apartment but was nice to know it was there if we needed it. If I were to be critical for improvement, I would say the jacuzzi was a little cold and the pressure on a jet nearly blew me out the water and the bathroom amenities were perhaps a little cheap (i.e toothpaste, shampoo etc)

In saying the above, I still consider it good value and we were very happy with our stay. The parking in Melbourne can be a nightmare and do really appreciate the fee parking - very few hotels will provide this. I would certainly consider staying again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PegasusApartHotel, Manager at Pegasus Apart'Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear holidaytraveller83

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, the location worked for you and that you were not inconvenienced by construction noise.

We have looked into the Jacuzzi issue and have found that one of the heaters/pumps is in need of attention; a replacement is on order.

Parking has been complimentary until recently; however wecommenced applying a daily fee of $22 for unlimited entry and exit – I hope you will still stay with us when you next visit Melbourne!

The Team at Pegasus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

After just moving to Melbourne my partner and I needed somewhere to stay a few nights before we found a place to live.

The room was perfect for what we needed and for the business traveller. Simple but stylish decor with extra thoughtful amenities with the room. Room service was of a high standards and even washed up our cutlery from the night before.

The staff were both professional and friendly offering advice on both we here to settle and great bars to discover around the area.

The gym had a few pieces but the equipment was not set for the avid gym user. However their was plenty of fresh towels for use and the pool was clean and Impressive. However this hotel is still being renovated so I believe these facilities will improve.

However if you have come for a break or just business then you have to try the legendary coffee then and go down the street to Carpe Diem.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PegasusApartHotel, Manager at Pegasus Apart'Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear CharlieJoshua

We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was suitable during your settling into Melbourne.

Our gym equipment is being replaced soon to better cater for guest needs and complement the Pool and Spa area. In the next few months we will be opening our own Café.

We trust you have settled into Melbourne!
The Team at Pegasus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed in this apartment from 4 to 10 August. It has a superb location, it is about 6 mins working distance to Queen Victoria market, 20 mins walking to Southern Cross station, and about 10 mins walk to CBD.

I found that the cleanliness of the room is depends on the person who is on duties. Unfortunately, the wireless is not upto standard, it was down most of the time during my stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PegasusApartHotel, Manager at Pegasus Apart'Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Snoopie_kid

Our apologies for the internet service being down during your stay, we have recently had Optic Fibre cabling laid in the street and about to be connected to it; we anticipate this will be the final step in improving the complimentary internet demand and delivery.

Thank you for your feedback in regards to room cleaning standards along with dates of stay as it assists us with identifying and addressing such inconsistencies.

The Team at Pegasus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Fabulous place not only for its location but also for excellent stay and spacious rooms, bathrooms and voila a full kitchenette. Pegasus is within walking distance to Flagstaff train station and also near to other public transport system of Melbourne city like the tram's. Also it's within walking distance to China Town and Greek Precinct. Great shopping and eating joints on Elisabeth Street, Lonsdale & Bourke Streets. Located just a bloack away is the famous Queen Victoria Market for great bargain purchace.

Room Tip: All rooms are well built and have free internet connections
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PegasusApartHotel, Manager at Pegasus Apart'Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear VijayKSrinivvasan

We are pleased to hear Pegasus provided a comfortable and accessible base for your stay in Melbourne

We hope to welcome you back when you next visit Melbourne

The Team at Pegasus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Anau, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We're currently on the fifth night of a five-night stay at the Pegasus Apart'Hotel. The location is great, just one street away from the free circle tram or not much further into the CBD or to Queen Victoria market. There's plenty of cafes, restaurants, convenience stores and an Aldi supermarket all within walking distance too.

We arrived at around 9.00 a.m and the excellent reception staff allocated us a room immediately, which was great after a very early flight. The room was spotless, tea, coffee, milk and sugar provided daily, toiletries always topped up, slippers, hairdryer.......

We made daily use of the lap pool, where additional towels and good changing facilities were available. The spa was not working at all during our stay but this did not affect us at all; the lap pool was a pleasure to swim in.

The only negative comment I have is in regard to the wifi, a necessity for us on this trip. We could not get a connection in the room for 24 hours and had to go down to the lobby to connect. Again, staff were helpful but we had to explain to the night staff and then the day staff that we had no connection and each time wait whilst different solutions were explored. Within 24 hours we had a perfect connection in the room, making the rest of our stay much easier. As having wifi in the room was a number one priority when selecting hotels for this trip, it was a little annoying having to wait so long, but ultimately we did get what we'd paid for.

Another bonus was in regard to the Myki cards, which are necessary to travel on public transport in Melbourne. Visitors are expected to buy a card for $6 then load it up with money to cover travel costs - you cannot use cash on public transport and if, like us, you only need transport for one day you have no choice but to pay this card fee. On asking about the cards at reception we were pleasantly surprised to learn that we could 'borrow' cards from the hotel for a refundable deposit, thereby just paying for actual travel rather than an unwanted card. This is a great additional service for visitors and there's a 7-11 nearby to put credit on the card.

To summarise, this hotel has very friendly staff, the rooms are spotless and the facilities and location are good. We'd definitely return here.

Room Tip: Room 12 was definitely quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PegasusApartHotel, Manager at Pegasus Apart'Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Caroline M

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay on all counts – staff, product and location!

Our Wi-Fi issues are reducing as time goes on. We are excited to announce that a new telecommunications supply cable is being laid down A’Beckett Street this week, this will further assist with connectivity performance.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back when you next visit Melbourne

The Team at Pegasus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pegasus Apart'Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pegasus Apart'Hotel

Address: 206 A'Beckett Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pegasus Apart'Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pegasus Apart'Hotel is a full service, four star hotel featuring one of Melbourne's largest hotel indoor pools, spa, gymnasium, restaurant, bar/cafe, event space on-site car park and a self-serve laundry. Wi-Fi is complimentary for all guests throughout the hotel; this is an unlimited service keeping you connected during your stay. Ideally located at the north west end of the CBD, Pegasus is well suited to leisure and business travellers. Our location provides easy access to shopping and entertainment precincts; legal, medical, education and finance districts. Accommodation is available as a Studio Queen/Twin, Family/Triple, Two Bedroom suites and a collection of two bedroom family suites featuring a themed children's bedroom with interactive entertainment systems. All studios and suites feature a well-equipped kitchenette; family rooms and two bedroom suites also have a dining table and chairs. Executives can make the most of work, rest and play in our SoHo suites. Featuring a bedroom with a Queen size bed, a full size office and an intimate living space - perfect for the professional traveller needing a home away from home! The kitchenette in SoHo suites also feature a pod espresso coffee machine. Executive floors feature a photo collection of Melbourne's architectural, historical and cultural points of interest. An exclusive rooftop executive lounge is also available for SoHo guests. Events and Meetings at Pegasus can be held in one of our two meeting rooms; one extending onto an outdoor terrace. Event space and our Restaurant all feature an abundance of natural light. Pegasus is conveniently serviced by major transport services including the free City Circle tram and the Skybus transfer service from Southern Cross station; the closest railway station is Flagstaff. Our A'Beckett St location is away from main street noise and traffic, making your arrival, departure and daily access a pleasant experience. Etihad stadium is only an 8 minute walk from Pegasus; with the rest of Central Melbourne, Carlton and Docklands no more than a 15-20 minute walk away. The iconic Queen Victoria Market is just around the corner from Pegasus; a great place to buy fresh produce to enjoy in your room. The "start line" to your shopping experience is only 600m away; start at Melbourne Central's Latrobe St entrance and explore Melbourne's great shopping experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pegasus Apart'Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pegasus Apart'Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.