We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING FIND” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chef Lagenda

Chef Lagenda
835A Ballarat Road | Deer Park, Melbourne, Victoria 3023, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,139 of 4,076 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Malaysian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“AMAZING FIND”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We came here after recommendations by a few people.

and it delivered..

on a tuesday night there was not a spare table in the place..wide selection of food and what we had was great..dumplings are a must..

so cheap as well..will be coming back and could become a regular

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Amazing Chilli Mud Crab!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I'm in love with the Chilli Crab here, prices are reasonable and service is OK. Its not 5 star dining but the food is fresh and the chef does a great job.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very good! From a Malaysian's point of view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Was checking out the Malaysian food scene in Melbourne and my sister recommended this popular Malaysian eatery in Deer Park. It was quite a drive for us to get there but if you stay in the western suburbs, this place is a MUST-TRY! It's always packed so go early, or make sure you have a booking.

Chef Lagenda's menu IS INDEED extensive! It offers almost every popular Malaysian dish that a Malaysian can think of. From authentic hawker fare (mee goreng, laksa, claypot rice, congee, satay) to snacks (roti canai, spring rolls, curry puffs, siu-mai) to Chinese-influenced mains of Lemon Chicken, Black Pepper Beef, Honey Prawn or hometown favourites of Curry Chicken, Beef Rendang, Assam Fish, Sambal Kangkong.... Chef's selections offer Chilli crabs, Curry Fish Head, Steamed Fish teochew-style! Such a huge selection, it was like having a whole malaysian food court in one restaurant! The range of food offered will satisfy many palates, great for the adventurous and also the not-so. As in Malaysia, do expect a casual dining experience here, and do not mind the noise!

We picked a range of the Lagenda Mains and Hometown Favourites and shared among us adults, in true Malaysian style. Our children had the Lagenda Meal Deal at AUD9.90 (choice of 2 roast meats, soup and noodle/rice). - and this deal is truly a good deal! Our opinion of the food? Our children said it in one word - "YUMMIEST"! Indeed very good authentic Malaysian food offered, generous portions too.

We tried the Ice Kachang, Chendol and Sago Pudding for dessert. These disappointed us, the main ingredients of fresh coconut milk & gula melaka were missing. A real pity. Chef Lagenda should work further on these.

Service was very good. Food came on time, staff were polite and attentive. The restaurant was packed (and noisy) by the time we left, but service was friendly throughout. The best part is the bill at the end, a real thumbs-up! Can highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food and value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We have visited this place twice in about 2 weeks. We tried different food on the menu. In general, the food did not disappoint us. The place may be a bit noisy but that is Malaysian/Singapore hawker style cafe. Service is pretty fast.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Three nights in a row! Excellent food, value for money & staff. Would recommend it to anyone! Book if you have a group otherwise you may have to wait, the lines of people say it all....it's fantastic!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Lagenda also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Chef Lagenda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chef Lagenda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.