We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Epocha

Epocha
49 Rathdowne Street | Carlton South, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
+61 3 9036 4949
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 4,130 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $19 - $47
Cuisines: European, Italian, Mediterranean, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: Epocha restaurant and bar, is set in a stunning Victorian terrace, opposite the Carlton Gardens a few steps up from the CBD of Melbourne.The menu features sharing dishes with humble origins of Europe. Tasty and wholesome food to nourish your soul, cooked with love by our Chef, Sascha Randle.Our wine list offers a small range of regional drinking wines that, with our food, will put you in the heart of Europe. Let us guide you!
Washington D.C.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The best meal of our entire three-week stay in Australia, and impeccable service. Easily walkable from downtown.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    16
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us by family members who visit every time they are in Melbourne, maybe it was the rave reviews, but we found it a little underwhelming.
The place is lovely, a little dark, the plates to share were tasty and interesting, we tried the veal (to share as it is huge) and it was nice, but after such interesting entrees a little boring.

Glad we tried it

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Outstanding dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

What a great find this was! What we really liked about it was the homely feel about the place as its laid out like eating at a friends house but with really outstanding service that finds the perfect balance between attentive, without always being ' in your face'. When we left, a staff member even walked us to out taxi (which they'd called)! Great stuff.

We went for a chefs menu options and sampled a little bit of everything. The food is of a very high standard, plentiful, and the wine list entirely European and very substantial.

We had a great night, well done Epocha.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Surprising Luncheon Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We popped in her for lunch on Tuesday after quickly checking a few reviews. We wanted something a bit different to the more prevalent Italian style in Carlton. This is definitely a more generically European affair and very stylish. The building is one of those gracious former-mansions with a lovely view of the World Heritage Exhibition Buildings. We just happened to be there during the Melbourne Food and Wine Festival which we had forgotten about but were pleasantly surprised to see a special lunch menu at a special price. We enjoyed everything but particularly remember the beetroot entrée and the pork belly which would have to be one of the finest pieces of slow cooking we have experienced. The wine list is a real adventure and we enjoyed starting off with a Greek sparkling followed by a Victorian pinot noir and French sauvignon blanc. Service was brisk and affable and we enjoyed the opportunity to look at their normal menu which contained a number of interesting sharing options. The fixed price Sunday lunch roast looked very interesting. Sobering up with a walk around the Exhibition Buildings and through the Melbourne Museum made for a perfect early autumn afternoon (except at 33C it should have been summer.)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sunday lunch. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Loved it. The Sunday roast is a must do.
Great service , we'll priced and very knowledgeable and friendly staff.
Ask for recommended wines to match makes a fantastic day even more enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Epocha also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Epocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Epocha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.