We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambrosia

Ambrosia
221 Camberwell Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3123, Australia
98823422
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,022 of 4,076 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Consistently great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Five of us had a most delicious lunch. Every single dish was fantastic, complemented by the wonderful husband and wife team who run the place. And at $6/per person corkage for BYO, it's an absolute bargain. But they also have an excellent wine list. We had the seared duck breasts in Port wine sauce with veggies ($31.50), Morton Bay Bugs grilled to perfection, also with veggies ($37.50), grilled salmon ($31.50), lamb shank risotto ($25.50), fried calamari ($25.50), and a cheese platter ($28.50). We always leave happy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    7
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Monday Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Recently I enjoyed a delicious meal with some good friends in a comfortable environment. Warm welcoming service followed by a delicious meal of char grilled salmon riding high on a nourishing bed of seasonal vegetables. The meals are well priced. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Business lunch - fresh yummy food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Really nice lunch, we had a banquet for 4 which had seafood - Mussells were beautiful. Came with traditional greek meat. Service efficient and friendly, setting nice, definetely recommend! be nice to have a nice long dinner here.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“great food, outstanding service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

last minute suggestion by friends to book. reasonably priced food, excellent selection, and too many daily specials to choose from. The service was as good as the best anywhere, nothing being too hard for the servers. We changed orders a few times, and it was no problem at all!! The food serves were large, and tasty. We (4) ordered the Greek Banquent. Excellent selection, and no one went hungry. Great place!! Well done Ambrosia. Much better than those pumped up celebrity Greek places!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Beyond expectations.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We organised what was intended to be a casual no fuss meal out with friends. What a pleasant surprise! Food was excellent, wine list was extensive without being over powering, and staff were very professional and fun. Rices were modest for a place of this standard. It was quite crowded but that didn't detract from a very pleasant night out. Will go again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambrosia also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Ambrosia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambrosia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.