We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rare Steakhouse King Street

Rare Steakhouse King Street
42-44 King St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
+61 3 9620 9888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #253 of 4,076 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $20 - $57
Cuisines: Barbecue, Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We had the pork spare ribs and 300g eye fillet for dinner. We both agree it was one of the best meals in a steak house we had ever had. Staff were friendly and prices were good. Overall experience was 9/10. Thanks

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    24
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The service by the wait staff is exceptional, they remember your name, your last order and are great with the wine list. Perfect place for a work lunch with clients.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“One for the Meatlovers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Second visit to Rare and it was as good as, if not better than the first visit. Warm bread to start is nice. Then had sizzling garlic prawns which are the best I've ever had. Then ordered a 300g eye fillet with chips and red wine jus. Could not fault any of it. Steak cooked to perfection (medium) and melted in your mouth. Service very attentive. Dessert was ice cream with Mars bar sauce - what more needs to be said! Not the cheapest meal in Melbourne and parking can be a challenge, but worth the effort.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This place is pleasant and welcoming with good relaxed service and excellent quality meats. It is not a "cheap steak night" type of place, but is very good value for a quality product.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Go. Here. Now.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

This has been on my 'Steakhouse' list for a whole and decided to go after my partner received a $150 bonus from his boss.
We ordered the garlic prawn entree, which was severd with ciabatta bread. It tasted great, the prawns were cooked perfectly and the bread was a nice addition to soak up the garlic oil.
For mains, we both had a medium rare rib eye with mushroom sauce. My partner chose his side to be chips and I opted for the baked potato with sour cream and chives. The chips were very crunchy and the baked potato could've done with a bit more sour cream.
However, the real review is the steak. It was cooked perfectly. I have only been to one other restaurant that can cook a medium rare steak perfectly and now I know of two. The rib eye was moist, juicy, tender, succulent and any other adjective that you could possibly think of that would describe a great tasting steak.

Overall, the steaks are amazing and I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rare Steakhouse King Street also viewed

 

Been to Rare Steakhouse King Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rare Steakhouse King Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.