We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eau De Vie

Eau De Vie
1 Malthouse Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
+61 412 825 441
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4,130 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Beautiful place for a great cocktail. Tucked away, but definitely worth finding for a visit. Amazing '40s interior.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    12
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I had wandered past the big wooden doors with no signage many times when staying at the Adina on Flinders Street, and wondered what was hiding behind them when I stumbled across the answer on Trip Advisor. I finally had the courage to go through those doors, and I am really glad I did.

The atmosphere of Eau De Vie is fantastic, the innovative cocktails list like a book you want to keep reading, and the staff are friendly and knowledgeable. We had to try a shared cocktail served in an old fashioned punch bowl overflowing with liquid nitrogen vapour. I can't wait to return and try some more of the amazing cocktails on offer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious cocktails!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I had 2 cocktails during my visit here. The first was a modern take on the classic mai tai and was delicious. The second was called a negrizzle and was a take on the classic negroni. It came in a jar with the lid on and when you opened the lid a cloud of smoke came out! It was quite smokey and delicious. The service was very friendly and professional.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“What a really super atmosphere, love the ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

A relatively new watering hole in the centre of Melbourne

not easy to find at all, a bit of a speak easy

Go down Malthouse lane (turn right before Wagamama and past the French Bistro) on your right, just before you go down the stairs

dark and seductive reminiscent of those old London or NY establishments

what a fantastic back bar, must be at least 700 bottles on it, great glassware, just a great selection

nice wine by the glass and a tasty snack menu
it is a great place for a few friends or a group, notice a private room with open kitchen that looks super

Would suggest it to everyone

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

So hard to find...but so worth it!! A beautiful cocktail lounge, with a 1920's theme. I could have stayed here all night. The staff were friendly and helpful, the cocktails...to die for! I would recommend Eau de Vie to anyone visiting Melbourne!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eau De Vie also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Eau De Vie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eau De Vie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.