We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hooked on hooks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hooks @ The Yarra

Hooks @ The Yarra
50 River Esplanade, Yarra's Edge | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
03 9043 4221
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #589 of 3,963 restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, Contemporary, Healthy
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“hooked on hooks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

only went the first time because of a scoopon deal.
absolutly fantastic.
been back twice more and will be back again and again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    23
    11
    0
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“hidden Yarra”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

It took longer to find this place than get service.River Esplanade is an alley so do not look for a street..However once there it was a very cosy bistro,service was excellent and despite a wet and wild day the setting was warm and cosy.Definetly for casual dining and overall a pleasant experience..Value for mon ey we have done a lot better'

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hooks at Yarra's Edge at Docklands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Hooks is a modern restaurant specialising in seafood. Food is fresh with sass in its presentation and taste. Variations in serving lobster is exciting and I always choose this dish. With red bean bags under the palms, lunchtime is very popular on sunny days with patrons lingering over their glass of wine and prawn salad or pizza. Take away fish and chips is also popular. Whatever your taste and needs, this is a good place to be.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bargain of the Century !!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Excellent food and service!!

I eat here regularly and you cannot go past the $10 Speacials. Osso Bucco, Lamb Shanks, Oxtail - all slow cooked and served with Risotto - then there are the delicious pizzas - my fabvourite is the Gamberri Pizza loaded with Tiger Prawns. But there is so much more too. Spectacular food served by the nicest people in the hospitality industry !!! Try this fabulous place out - you will not be disappointed and will no doubt become a repeat offender like me. ADDICTIVE !!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great location - Easy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Went here with some friends who live at The Docklands and to my suprise, loved the whole place. Beanbags our the front in a quiet little area by the water and a stone throw away from the outlets. Good service, food so cheap however, cannot beat the quality that arrives on your plate and great local wines to choose from. Sometimes I believe they have a band as well, we shared a pizza, meatballs and dumplings and all was very good. A great way to spend a lazy afternoon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hooks @ The Yarra also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Hooks @ The Yarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hooks @ The Yarra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.