We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Melbourne Afternoon Dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hooks @ The Yarra

Hooks @ The Yarra
50 River Esplanade, Yarra's Edge | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
03 9043 4221
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #569 of 3,967 restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, Contemporary, Healthy
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Melbourne Afternoon Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I had read reviews of this restaurant and seen it before, so put it on the list of places to try on our 3-day stay in the city. We strolled leisurely down by the South Wharf restaurants, under the bypass and around the corner to this surprising gem of a place!
Completely forgot to take photos as we were SO relaxed! My husband ordered the Gnocchi with blue cheese sauce. It arrived and was also surrounded by a tomato puree so made a lovely presentation. And it was YUM! I am such a fan of calamari when it's fresh and well prepared. Was deliciously crisp on the outside, beautifully tender within and the garlic aoli with a squeeze of lemon was outstanding. We each had a glass of wine, looked at the boats on the marina and thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon.
We spied some others on the outside tables having bowls of prawns with a glass of wine and knew we would have to come back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    23
    11
    0
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“O M G Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The service was excellent service spot on right down to wiping the table after they had taken the soiled dishes away they never intruded but kept asking if we needed anything and was everything alright
We found it a little out of our normal way but it most certainly not now

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mordialloc, Australia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good value and great river views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was diiner after a river/bay yacht cruise of about two hours, so we approached with low expectations of a cheap, group dining type meal and were more than pleasantly surprised at the result. The restaurant is smallish, but neat, well laid out with space between tables. The menu that we had to choose from was more than reasonable with plenty of choice. My calamari entree was very good, crisp and tasty calamari on fresh salad, the saganaki eater pronounced it OK but maybe a bit too much. The mussell eater was overwhelmed at the size of the serving and the soupiness of it, but he pronounced it OK. Main courses were good my prawn and chilli pizza was well presented, well cooked and very tasty and both the seafood risotto and the two marinaras were given big ticks. The wine selection was fine and the pricing quite good. Not fine dining but a nice restaurant in a great spot by the river serving good food and offering good value.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great marinara!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had a dinner there with my friend while visiting Melbourne. The restaurant has a nice and romantic location next to the river, and is cozy. I had a marinara, which was excellent (including the delicious seafood) and my friend had fish and chips, which was the best I have tried so far. The staff was nice and polite. Overall, greatly recommended!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“What awesome delicious food !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband took me here for a surprise Valentine's Day Dinner..... we were greeted by a smile and shown to our seats.... we sat outside, admiring the views, boats and beautiful warm evening. The customer service for all the waiters/waitresses, was brilliant. The prices was really good. The food was mouth watering and fresh.... I had Bluff Oysters from NZ and they were flown in the day before from NZ. The oysters were huge.... My husband seafood Vol-au-vents ... he loved it. He also had a huge rib eye steak and said it was delicious.... I had a lobster Thermidor and so fresh... I then had a raspberry chocolate souffle.... You could also sit outside on huge beanbags which gives this restaurant a relaxed feel... Really loved the food... the atmosphere... customer service..... location.... and wine selection awesome...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hooks @ The Yarra also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Hooks @ The Yarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hooks @ The Yarra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.