We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and superb service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Suites Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Suites Gateway to your Saves list
Clarion Suites Gateway
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Splash into Summer
Ranked #31 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney
1 review
“Excellent location and superb service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

I've now stayed twice at this Hotel once for business and more recently for leisure. It is in an excellent location just a short walk (15 or so minutes) from the CBD and a few blocks from the main convention centre. The tram is just a minute or so away to go to the Rod Laver Arena and Federation Square. Both times the room/s were spotless and the desk staff were polite, friendly and went out of their way to help. They contacted us when our rooms were ready so we could get early entry. On the last visit the main person on the service desk took the trouble to call us by name and was extremely helpful locating information and assisting with luggage etc.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    238
    55
    22
    10
See reviews for
154
254
52
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

My partner booked this for our 9th Anniversary and I have to say I was disappointed.

We were obviously looking for a romantic break but the plywood furniture and grey carpets didn't exactly get us in the mood for love!

I have to say that the views and the location were very good, so if you were going on a family trip or with a friend then yes this would be a good option. It was also very clean.

But 4 or even 41/2 stars would suggest something a little better than zipbeds (we were sold a kingsize bed) and complimentary products that I wouldn't use to wash my car let alone in the shower.

Given that this wasn't the cheapest accommodation in town and the pics make it look better than it is we felt a little bit ripped off to say the least.

Come on Trip Advisor reviewers!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, July 20, 2009
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback, as it allows us to respond and subsequently act on guest recommendations where possible.
Most hotel room furniture, particularly as a result of wear & tear, offer a laminate cover so that it is hard protected, or the other option is to apply a fine veneer, which we employ. Hard woods are generally not used due to cost.
Further as a result of guest comments, concerning the standard variety of “Sealy King Slip Beds”, which is deemed the norm in the industry, we have this week as a matter of comfort placed on top of each mattress, a lofty thick king topper, so that the ambience and quality of the Sealy bed is not undermined.
We are somewhat unsure of the reference to grey carpet, all our hotel rooms apart from 1 room, have been refurbished with a light maroon colour wool carpet. Furthermore, we are in the process of facilitating, Biodegradable in-room products, which will offer a gentle approach and further assist in our effort towards sustainability, we hope that we will have this in place by August.
We do apologise if the mood was not satisfactory, and if you will please contact us directly, we will ensure to complimentary upgrade you to one of our Deluxe Suites, next time that you may wish to stay with us. This suite offers a level of ambience for the occasion.

Best Regards,

Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

From the moment I arrived I found that this hotel exceeded my expectations. Reception was speedy and friendly. The bright, smiling, receptionist also presented me with a voucher for a free beverage - much appreciated and quite unexpected.

The suite was extremely well equipped for this class of hotel and included a full kitchen, comfortable and well-furnished living area. The queen-sized bed was one of the most comfortable that I have encountered in much travelling.

The "Williams Bar & Cafe" proved an excellent choice for dinner with the meals being both reasonably priced and of a very good standard. The service from the young lady at the bar was up with the best that I have experienced; friendly and conversational, but also allowing me my own space - an approach rarely found these days.

Great value, great service, great people!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

Friendly helpful staff (day and night). Nothing was to much trouble.
Great location, close to shops, transport, sporting facilities, resurants and entertainment.
Great view from riverview rooms.
Clean, tidy rooms with help information located in rooms.
All good.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland; Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

We have stayed at this location seven times and we can only say what we have always been treated with the utmost respect and courtesy from all staff associated with this hotel, the rooms, facilities etc. can not be faulted and we would strongly advise this accommodation for all

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

CLARION SUITES GATEWAY
1 William St Melbourne. It adjoins Flinders St
Paid
A$ 249 per night

The blurb on their website describes this as a boutique Hotel.

OHH!

Out Taxi journey from the airport was diabolical and the Indian driver started by repeatedly trying to bang down the boot lid on our cases to make them fit. It was obviously impossible and my wife demanded that one case be placed in the back seat area and this would solve the problem. His driving skills were questionable and after nearly missing the entry into William St, he turned suddenly, with a screech, to the door. He had to be asked to unload our baggage. He was totally indolent. We later discovered that the Indian population were revolting in the city centre. Most Taxis have Indian drivers.

This Hotel exuded a tacky outdated image from the lobby. Nevertheless It was late afternoon, we were tired so we decided to stay. Our Suite was out of the early1950s, a poor impractical layout and with worn out furnishing. The internet connection was dear and didn’t work. Although the view from the window was over the river Yarra to the South Bank, below was a busy, noisy railway and heavily trafficked road. My cousin, who was in the Federal Police in Melbourne, telephoned me and said that we should not stay as it was adjacent to an area with clubs, drugs and other places of ill repute. All seemed to stack against this place. It was expensive also. The next morning we checked out.

Whilst looking at another hotel in the centre of the city, I let upon a sign saying Somerset Serviced Suites. I enquired and after viewing a suite, which was a fraction of the price and far superior, booked in for our three remaining nights here.

You guess my recommendation!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, June 29, 2009
Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking your time to offer your personal critique on www.tripadvisor.com this is very helpful, as it allows our team to assess and monitor our service quality and performance with the utmost view of offering more comfort and enhancing the levels of guest satisfaction whilst staying with us.

Furthermore, we are very glad that you did find a hotel that was suitable for your requirements and budget, this is very important to us, in that, we are focused that all visitors to our fair city have an enjoyable experience.

It is correct, in that, most of our fellow Melbourne citizens, who happen drive a taxi are of Indian or ethnic back-ground, and mostly students.
We do value their contribution, if we did not have their willing participation, there would be quite a few less taxi’s on the road, therefore, commuting would indeed be a challenge.

Aesthetic appeal in any circumstances is a personal appreciation and we do understand that a contemporary modern look may not have been suitable for your taste and perhaps a more traditional fitting may have been appropriate.
The hotel refurbishment was completed late 2007, therefore, all the rooms and furnishings are relatively crisp and new.

Furthermore, the hotel windows are double glazed which blocks-out most of the noise emanating from street level.

We are also pleased to advise that we are surrounded by, Class A office buildings, opposite the Immigration Museum, and only one block from Collins St.
The night clubs that you have alluded to are in fact on, King St, which is not in this area, nor do we have a drug issue on William St, that I am aware of. However, like all major cities, there is soft red light area in another part of the inner city.
Thank you once again for your contribution; your comments inspire us to seek opportunities to serve our valued guests better.

Kind Regards,



Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

Stayed in a Yarra view studio for 3 nights. Average cost was about $145 per night. I think for that price I'd say it's reasonable but not outstanding. Have had better value previously at Oaks apartments in Melb, but on this occasion they were not price competitive, and in any case I was interested in trying somewhere.

The Clarion pluses:
1. The view is pretty good across to the casino, and the fire show is great to watch. 2. The studio is reasonably sized, and the Clarion itself is pretty well situated. 3. Room was clean, and well cleaned daily.

The Clarion minuses:
1. Front desk was efficient, but they could add some simple touches like establishing eye contact and greeting you as you pass by (it's pretty minor I realise but it always makes guests feel more welcome - and it's free to deliver on!). 2. The room design (long and thin). 3. The bathroom. 4. The sports only cable subscription. 5. There is a bit of noise from the train tracks (but didn't keep me awake). 6. What did wake me was an early morning visit from a restaurant staff member who wanted to collect two extra glasses they had sent to the room the night before. Thumbs down for that bit of no-thought action.

All in all it was functional, but unremarkable. Wouldn't recommend unless it was at a good price. I think for around the $150 - $170 price range there are better options.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Address: 1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#42 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Suites Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.