We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice executive rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Suites Gateway

Save Saved
You added Clarion Suites Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clarion Suites Gateway
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Warm Up For Winter
Ranked #26 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Nice executive rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have stayed here a couple of times, great Central location, Room had everything that was required for my stay whilst on Business. Short walk up the street for both Breakfast and Dinner. Close to transport

Will stay again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Grant,

Thank you for your review, your continued patronage is well recognised and most welcome at our Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    372
    219
    52
    20
    10
See reviews for
151
242
51
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment for 3 nights on arrival to Australia. The ladies behind the desk were so helpful and friendly we knew straight away that we would be enjoying our stay. The breakfast was always fresh and the rooms were very clean and functional with great views over the Yarra River.

The main throng of Melbourne was only a short walk away as were all the restuarants etc on the other side of the river. The Aquarium was just down the road, not that we had time as we were busy exploring everywhere else ! Great location for a fabulous city.

Room Tip: Make sure you have River view - Awesome especially at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, we have to agree that our location is near to many attractions like the Crown Entertainment Complex, Yarra River and south gate shopping precinct and we appreciate that you enjoyed your time with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit our lovely city.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We have just had a wonderful weekend here. It is a great location and easy walk to main shopping precinct. Located very close to two tram stops - one direct to markets. Staff were so friendly and helpful. It was a great place to catch up with the world. Thanks.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments, we take pride in our feedback and appreciate you taking the time to post your review. We look forward to seeing you again when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Very clean, tidy and comfortable accommodation. Gorgeous city views from the balcony. Ideal location and handy to city attractions and conference centres. NOT ideal if you are a super light sleeper as you may hear the sound of nearby trains (despite the double glazing). I got used to the sounds by the 2nd night though. Staff are friendly. And it is very affordable compared to other centrally located hotels. If you are there for work, why pay so much more elsewhere when all you want is a clean, comfortable room and bed? Clarion had this and I am glad I was able to spend the money I saved on shopping instead.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review we appreciate your comments about our views, location and service.
I would like to assure you that all our bedroom windows are double glazed and generally when the bedroom door is closed upon retiring we do not experience any noise concerns.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit our lovely city.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights Grand Final time last year and although reasonably busy they couldn't do enough to make our stay very comfortable.. Our welcome was like we were old friends even though it was our first time staying there... Our room was one of their Riverview deluxe rooms and the view was to put it mildly "Awesome" we have stayed at some wonderful hotel around the world and this one is right up there with the best for its service and those stunning views... Needless to say we are back in Melbourne again this GF time and will be staying with these wonderful people again...

Room Tip: Go for the river view rooms a little more cost but so so worth it... :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear John,

Thank you for your comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have to agree our Riverview rooms do offer amazing views of the Yarra River and some of Melbourne’s other wonderful features. We look forward to welcoming you back for 2014 AFL Grand Final.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Very welcoming front of house staff, One William cafe and restaurant staff - experienced, courteous, and efficient. Wonderful location to the city, Southbank, Metro and Vline trains, as well as trams, and free city circle tram just on Flinders st. The city's various performing arts theatres are in easy walking distance, if not a short tram ride. Clarion Gateway Suites room facilities, again, prove to be in tip top condition. A very comfortable stay. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear John,

It is pleasing to receive positive feedback and I’m glad you enjoyed the location, room features and service, we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to Clarion Suites Gateway when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

I tend to stay in the same brand of accomodation on my twice yearly visits to Melbourne. On my most recent visit I left the booking to a friend and I am very glad I did! This hotel is very comfortable, very clean and quite central to all Melbourne has to offer. We had a lovely two bedroom apartment overlooking the river and the casino.
Highly recommended and I certainly will be returning!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear John,

Thank you so much for your review, it is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Address: 1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Suites Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.