We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Suites Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Suites Gateway to your Saves list
Clarion Suites Gateway
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% OFF Room Rate
Ranked #26 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I was went down for work and enjoyed my stay. The staff where lovley and really helpful. great loaction as its next to the Yarra and short work to the Casino, resturants and pubs. I had a bath/shower in my room but other than that it was great.
Thank you

Room Tip: Go for the river view room and you will enjoy the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear David,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments about our service and location.
Also for future reference we do have rooms with showers only, please advise staff of your preference when making your next booking, we would be happy to accommodate your request.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    259
    59
    22
    11
See reviews for
166
281
54
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Friendly reception staff. Fairly handy location, close to Crown Casino complex so plenty of choice for meals. Very clean throughout. Very quiet. Not a spectacular view from my apartment (air conditioning units on rooftop below and office buildings opposite) but its in the city, so you expect that. Booked through wotif.com and got it as a 4.5 star mystery deal, so it was a pleasant 'mystery'. Nice big towels (bath sheets). Recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, we are situated in a great location and with Crown Casino and the shopping prescient within easing walking distance we appreciate that you enjoyed our location and all that Melbourne has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

There is something about this Hotel that makes it I would say..."The Best" in Melbourne. If you choose a Riverside room that is the best view in Melbourne that you will get. You overlook the Crown Complex across the Yarra River and lets not forget the Fireballs Gas Brigade this is simply the best view ever. You can choose to stay at the Crown Complex or even Crowne Plaza looking down at the Yarra River but where Clarion Suites Gateway is situated straight across from Crown and an easy walk the the Crown complex and Southgate too...you have a perfect view of everything!! We stay here at least once each year and the staff are just great. The Hotel is gay friendly too! Lovely rooms, lots of space...just great! What I suggest is.......come and stay here and book a river view room and your stay will be just delightful!! Thanks Clarion Suites Gateway!!! You're the best!!! :))

Room Tip: Medium level floor with a river side view room-just wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Diana,

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate your positive comments about our location,
amenities, staff and service, we have to agree the views from our river view rooms are amazing.
Your continued patronage is well recognized and most welcome at our Hotel, we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times (100's of nights over the last few years), mostly on business, but on occasions for leisure as well.
And I have recommended this hotel to family and friends who have also enjoyed their stays here.
The staff and particularly the management of the hotel are excellent and they will go out of their way to make you stay comfortable and enjoyable.
Staff turnover here is low which is great for regular guests as always they remember your name and room preferences, it is also an indication of a great place to work as the staff must like working here as some have been there for years.
A reliable and stable workforce is a great asset in the hotel industry and you do not see it all that often these days.
We have stayed at many hotels around the world for business and pleasure and I have a wide choice of options in Melbourne, but I continue to return to the Gateway because they will always go the extra mile for a guest and you cannot beat the great location.
The restaurant and food is great, the service is always good and they make a great coffee as well.
They have some great suites and many of the rooms are like an apartment with a full kitchen, separate bedroom and a great outlook over the river and Crown Casino complex.

If you are travelling to Melbourne on business or pleasure then I highly recommend you give the Clarion Gateway a go.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite with a river view that overlooks the Crown complex and wacth the gas fire in front o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor, your continued patronage and support is well recognized and most welcome at our Hotel.

We really appreciate your comments about our staff, service, locations, rooms and amenities.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Clarion Suites Gateway Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay, the staff are excellent, the location is superb and the rooms are great. Like others reviews - we couldn't recommend this place highly enough. The double glazing in the rooms is a bonus, restaurant well worth visiting, and we had everything we needed. Some reviewers commented that they had cold showers - what worked for us if the water was cold when we turned it on (only twice in one week with the whole family showering) was to turn the shower off, wait 10 seconds and turn it on again - all fixed. We are looking forward to staying at the Clarion again as it is probably one of the more enjoyable places we have stayed at. Well done to the team there.

Room Tip: Highly recommend a one bed room river view suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Helen,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on tripadvisor, your patronage is well recognized and most welcome at our Hotel. We really appreciate your positive comments about our rooms, location and service and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit our lovely city.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Great staff, great food, great location, great room!

Just perfect for any trip to Melbourne.

Could not recommend this place any more highly.
True quality and absolute value for money.

The company I work for uses this place regularly, everyone I work with agrees and we all can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Davo,

Thank you for your review and recommendation of Clarion Suites Gateway. Your continued patronage is well recognised and most welcome at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I've stayed at the Clarion a number of times when travelling to Melbourne on business. It's away from the main shopping areas, but close to Southbank etc. The staff are friendly and professional, and always willing to accommodate requests. Happy to recommend the hotel. If you stay in for dinner, try the ribs on the room service menu - delicious.

Room Tip: Try to get one that overlooks the river....the light show in the evening at Southbank is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Robbie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Clarion Suites Gateway, Melbourne! Your continued patronage is well recognized and most welcome at our hotel. We really appreciate your positive comments about our staff, service and location and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Address: 1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Suites Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.