We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always the best & always enjoyed without question” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Suites Gateway

Save Saved
You added Clarion Suites Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Suites Gateway
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Warm Up For Winter
Ranked #24 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Always the best & always enjoyed without question”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

There is something about this Hotel that makes it I would say..."The Best" in Melbourne. If you choose a Riverside room that is the best view in Melbourne that you will get. You overlook the Crown Complex across the Yarra River and lets not forget the Fireballs Gas Brigade this is simply the best view ever. You can choose to stay at the Crown Complex or even Crowne Plaza looking down at the Yarra River but where Clarion Suites Gateway is situated straight across from Crown and an easy walk the the Crown complex and Southgate too...you have a perfect view of everything!! We stay here at least once each year and the staff are just great. The Hotel is gay friendly too! Lovely rooms, lots of space...just great! What I suggest is.......come and stay here and book a river view room and your stay will be just delightful!! Thanks Clarion Suites Gateway!!! You're the best!!! :))

Room Tip: Medium level floor with a river side view room-just wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Diana,

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate your positive comments about our location,
amenities, staff and service, we have to agree the views from our river view rooms are amazing.
Your continued patronage is well recognized and most welcome at our Hotel, we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    371
    217
    52
    20
    10
See reviews for
150
242
51
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times (100's of nights over the last few years), mostly on business, but on occasions for leisure as well.
And I have recommended this hotel to family and friends who have also enjoyed their stays here.
The staff and particularly the management of the hotel are excellent and they will go out of their way to make you stay comfortable and enjoyable.
Staff turnover here is low which is great for regular guests as always they remember your name and room preferences, it is also an indication of a great place to work as the staff must like working here as some have been there for years.
A reliable and stable workforce is a great asset in the hotel industry and you do not see it all that often these days.
We have stayed at many hotels around the world for business and pleasure and I have a wide choice of options in Melbourne, but I continue to return to the Gateway because they will always go the extra mile for a guest and you cannot beat the great location.
The restaurant and food is great, the service is always good and they make a great coffee as well.
They have some great suites and many of the rooms are like an apartment with a full kitchen, separate bedroom and a great outlook over the river and Crown Casino complex.

If you are travelling to Melbourne on business or pleasure then I highly recommend you give the Clarion Gateway a go.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite with a river view that overlooks the Crown complex and wacth the gas fire in front o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor, your continued patronage and support is well recognized and most welcome at our Hotel.

We really appreciate your comments about our staff, service, locations, rooms and amenities.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Clarion Suites Gateway Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay, the staff are excellent, the location is superb and the rooms are great. Like others reviews - we couldn't recommend this place highly enough. The double glazing in the rooms is a bonus, restaurant well worth visiting, and we had everything we needed. Some reviewers commented that they had cold showers - what worked for us if the water was cold when we turned it on (only twice in one week with the whole family showering) was to turn the shower off, wait 10 seconds and turn it on again - all fixed. We are looking forward to staying at the Clarion again as it is probably one of the more enjoyable places we have stayed at. Well done to the team there.

Room Tip: Highly recommend a one bed room river view suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Helen,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on tripadvisor, your patronage is well recognized and most welcome at our Hotel. We really appreciate your positive comments about our rooms, location and service and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit our lovely city.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Great staff, great food, great location, great room!

Just perfect for any trip to Melbourne.

Could not recommend this place any more highly.
True quality and absolute value for money.

The company I work for uses this place regularly, everyone I work with agrees and we all can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Davo,

Thank you for your review and recommendation of Clarion Suites Gateway. Your continued patronage is well recognised and most welcome at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I've stayed at the Clarion a number of times when travelling to Melbourne on business. It's away from the main shopping areas, but close to Southbank etc. The staff are friendly and professional, and always willing to accommodate requests. Happy to recommend the hotel. If you stay in for dinner, try the ribs on the room service menu - delicious.

Room Tip: Try to get one that overlooks the river....the light show in the evening at Southbank is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Robbie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Clarion Suites Gateway, Melbourne! Your continued patronage is well recognized and most welcome at our hotel. We really appreciate your positive comments about our staff, service and location and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Taking the advice of other reviewers, we made a point of booking a riverview room. The views did not disappoint. We were even high enough (on the 14th floor) that we got a little bit of bay view to boot. The customer service at every step was superlative, so congrats on that. The deal we were on also meant that we had little treats in our room which were particularly appreciated by my partner. I was also impressed with the fit out of the kitchen - best I've ever seen in this style of accommodation. All these things were brilliant.
The accommodation in general is, as other reviewers have mentioned, getting rather tired to say the least - this place is in serious need of a refurb. I think I also solved the question of noise. Single glazing through most of the apartment let lots of train, fireball and street noise in. The bedroom is double glazed, but the air conditioning airflow is so poorly calibrated that if you have the bedroom door closed, it's very quiet, but you can't breathe. Your alternative to quiet suffocation is to open the door and deal with lots of external noise. Then again, the walls are so poorly soundproofed that you can hear people conversing in the next room (not in detail, but it was enough that I felt compelled to call the concierge around midnight to ask if our neighbours could please have their conversation in their living area rather than their bedroom - embarassing all round but we had an early start and needed to sleep). The other odd thing was that there was only one bedside table. In a king room. Huh?
Overall, it's obvious the staff are doing the very best they can with what they have to work with. There's some good basics in there, but there's some serious work and investment to really bring the standard of the facilities up to the star rating this place expects of itself. While I'd be happy to stay here again, I'd want the work to have been done before I'd be prepared to pay these rates again.

Room Tip: If you don't get a riverview room you may as well stay somewhere else that will be cheaper for w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

May, I firstly thank you for staying with us, and also for your recent post.
Secondly, I would also like to share with you that we are in the final planning stages of our refurbishment program which we hope to roll-out during the latter part of 2013 or early 2014, as a matter of fact the proto type room will be completed by end of October/November, for final approval.
We do hope that our new hotel room ambience will offer the level of enjoyment and comfort which will satisfy the most discerning guests, such as yourself.
Although, I have to say, that our current standard with only seven years post refurbishment is still very well presented, although we do appreciate it is subject to one’s personal view, and I think that we present an excellent value proposition. For instance- our kitchens is our weakest point of reference, which is highly denoted in your post, thank you for that. We will be dedicating some resource as a cosmetic lift in the kitchen, in general terms, our guest do not visit the hotel for cooking purposes.
We only offer double glazing in the bedrooms of the one & two bedroom suites, although a standard feature in the standard studio hotel rooms.
In the bedrooms there is an air conditioning vent which allows for air circulation at all times, therefore, there should be no issue with stuffiness if the unit is left operating.
The connecting walls are soundproofed and generally no concern, unless a party is taking place next door, although, we do have a No Party Rule policy in place, our team will address any noise concerns with a call to front office.
Our new bedroom design will incorporate a second bedside table, the current design does not allow for an additional table due to the size of the king bed, we thought that this was more important than a second table.
Our rates are very much dynamic in nature, and subject to market fluctuations, however, we do offer some pretty good deals on our website!
Thanks for straying with us, we do appreciate your patronage, and hopefully we will have the pleasure of your company post refurbishment.

Best Regards

Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

One look at the room service menu at the Clarion Suites Gateway tells you all you need to know. The compendia are as tired as the menus (the 80s are alive!) This hotel is functional and clean, but the wear & tear is obvious. Good sized meeting rooms, well set up, but expect the catering to be surprising (ie not what we ordered!) This hotel did the job, but there are better options out there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Sally,

Thank you for your review!
I do apologies that we were not in a position to exceed your expectations on this occasion. We are within reach of our proto-type refurbished room, and we hope that we will have this available by the first week of November; this will allow feedback from our regular guests, and possible improvements based on guest recommendations.
And part of this process we will include new compendiums and inserts, which will highlight our new - One William Club- guest recognition program, we are very excited in being able to reward our OWC members with these additional benefits.

It is our determination to always take note of guest feedback, so that we may have an opportunity to strive for continuous improvement, this process was also employed in the design of our new dinner & room service menu. With this in mind and based on the re-emergence of steakhouse popularity in the market place, our menu is designed on the basis of beef produce and white meats, including fish/seafood products which may be prepared by steaming for our health conscious guests.
We do appreciate that menus are very much a personal preference, however I would like to assure you that, our kitchen team are always willing to prepare dishes based on guest requests, please do let us know next time, and we will be more than happy to oblige.

In closing we thank you for your patronage, and we would very much welcome your feedback when we have concluded our refurbishment program.

Cordially,

Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Address: 1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Suites Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.