We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodation in great CBD location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Suites Gateway

Save Saved
You added Clarion Suites Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clarion Suites Gateway
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Warm Up For Winter
Ranked #26 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Accommodation in great CBD location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Clarion Suites Gateway Melbourne is in a great CBD location, in close proximity to Crown Casino and CBD shopping. Friendly and engaging staff. Try to get a room with. view of Southbank and the Yarra River.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor about your recent stay with us here at Clarion Suites Gateway. We appreciate that you enjoyed our location, service and all that Melbourne has to offer and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    375
    223
    52
    20
    10
See reviews for
152
243
51
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed here as it was very close to work - and thought a view of the Yarra River would be nice for a change (normally I stay on Collins Street for non-work travel). The thing that stood out was how enthusiastic, cheerful, helpful and customer focussed all the staff working there were - no matter where you encountered them you got upbeat friendly smiling service. I had a studio apartment with a river view - spacious, small balcony, huge LCD TV, small leather armchair, very comfortable bed. The shower was over the bath and had good water pressure. The basin and mirror were outside the toilet/shower combo room which was good if there was more than one person staying in the apartment. Good iron, ironing board, kettle, sink etc, microwave, very adequate for a short term stay. Good natural light. It was also very clean. One thing to note is the train noise is quite noticeable - although not enough to affect my sleep and I'm a reasonably light sleeper. About a 12 minute slightly hilly very fast walk to David Jones, Myers shopping area. The café menu had a good selection. Staff also very helpful about returning goods I'd left in the apartment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Clarion Suites Gateway for your recent stay in Melbourne, and for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. We do pride ourselves on our customer service and our staff are delighted to hear that they were able to make your stay a memorable one. As a measure of blocking out external noises all our rooms are double glazed. We would like to once again thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit our lovely city.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed here for four nights in mid July 2013 and was very happy with the staff. Very friendly and helpful. We had a minor issue with the toilet but they addressed it straightaway. Didn't eat at the restaurant but had cocktails with the girls and bar tender was great. The one bedroom apartment wasn't big but enough for 2 adults and 2 kids. 10-15min walk to shopping district. Definitely coming back. Can't get over how nice all the staff were.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on tripadvisor, we really appreciate your positive comments about our staff, service and location and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the clarion suites for two nights for a bit of a weekend getaway from work, and I was quite impressed when I arrived! All the staff were absolutely lovely and as helpful as they could be. However the room I was in, along with most of the hotel was so outdated and deprived from any luxuries. The tv in the living area didn't seem to want to work and the whole level I was on stank of garlic the entire stay. Overall it was ok, but somewhere I would of expected to be called average in the 80s or 90s need refurbishment and some luxury for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Martha,

Thank you so much for your review & also for staying with us!

Constructive contribution does assist us in moving forward, and one element of this process also propels our directors to understand what is being said in relation to the perception of room quality. Hotel refurbishment was completed during 2007, and with the advent of higher guest expectations, we duly have recognized that we must now already plan for the next phase, which entails a more comprehensive fit-out program, therefore, we are now in the planning mode, and execution will follow next year. We do hope that we will have an opportunity of being of service to you when we have completed this program.

Our LCD TV’s are 42 inch in size, and the sticker on the remote details denote how to turn on the unit, although, like any other larger TV’s it does take a bit longer to show a picture, I do apologies if this was not all too clear.

Yes you are correct, sometimes guest do not turn on the kitchen exhaust fan when cooking in the kitchen, please do let us know in the future and we will make a few calls to the other suites, garlic at times can be too savoury.

In closing thank you for your post we hope that we will one day have the pleasure of your company in the future!

Cheers

Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed here on business which turned pleasure where we had a wedding in town.
Second visit to Clarion Suites Gateway and very consistent service that make you feel welcome.
Very clean and well maintained rooms.
I'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the Yarra & Casino. Great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on tripadvisor, your continued patronage is well recognized and most welcome at our hotel.
We appreciate your comments about our service, rooms and amenities and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed at the Clarion for two nights in mid July 2013. Reception staff were very helpful and the room was very clean and well appointed. My room faced Flinders Street so I got a lot of train noise during the night. The double glazing helped a bit but it was still a bit too loud. On site parking was excellent and easy to find and utilize. Bar downstairs was very convenient and quenched a thirst very well at the end of the day. All in all a pleasant stay and I will stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms away from Flinders street are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hi Greg Lee

Thank you so much for posting this review, we do appreciate your time and contribution!

In a general sense the window double glazing works to a level whereby it should not interfere or disrupt comfort, however, at times when the glass panel is opened there may be a realignment issue, hence noise intrusion.
As a measure of checking all the panels we will ensure that all alignments are properly vacuum secured.

Another room type option for your consideration is the internal room category which does not face Flinders St.

May I also take this opportunity in thanking you for staying at our hotel, and allowing us to be of service to you!

We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.

I remain cordially,

Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitemark, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The customer service was the best from the time we checked in. We were early but our room was ready. Loved our 1 bedroom apartment, the bed was comfortable, the full kitchen was as spotless as the rest of the apartment. Nice to have space inside as well as our balcony. We ate in the Restaurant and the meals were very tasty. Our waitresses were the best we have ever had serve us in Melbourne. Nothing was too much for them to do for us. Late check out is a big bonus. We will be staying here again for sure

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Julie,

It was a pleasure for us to host you during your recent stay in Melbourne. Thank you very much for sharing your experience on tripadvisor and for the nice words about our hotel, amenities, service and our Restaurant. Our staff are delighted that they were able to make your stay a memorable one and we look forward to seeing you return in the near future.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Address: 1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Suites Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.