We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and Accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Suites Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Suites Gateway to your Saves list
Clarion Suites Gateway
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
the patch
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family and I booked to stay at the Clarion Suites Gateway over the weekend just gone. We had booked a One Bedroom Suite. Upon arrival we were advised that we had been upgraded to a Crown View Penthouse Suite which was a wonderful surprise. The Penthouse Suite consisted of three bedrooms, lounge room, separate dining room, kitchen, laundry and three bathrooms The bathroom to the master bedroom had a huge shower and spa for two! The view from the room was magnificent. You look out over Crown Casino and the evening flame show was spectacular and the kids loved it! You could also see all the way to the bay and watch the ships coming in or back towards the MCG, all this could be seen whilst lying in bed. Speaking of which the King bed in the master bedroom had a pillow top mattress and plenty of pillows and was heaven to sleep in. The room was spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. The kitchen was well equipped and had everything you could ask for. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel was almost fully booked however there was never any waiting for lifts or to check in or out. Car parking is on the premises and easy to access. Next morning we had breakfast in the restaurant which was included in the package. The breakfast was a full continental breakfast with plenty of options and was all very fresh. Hot food (e.g bacon and eggs etc) are made fresh when you order them. All in all a fantastic weekend .. the kids did not want to go home!

Room Tip: Riverview is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Clarion Suites Gateway. We really appreciate that you enjoyed our location, views and service and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    260
    59
    22
    11
See reviews for
167
286
54
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have stayed at this Hotel many tims over the past years and not once have I ever been disappointed. The staff are always very friendly and go out of their way to please. I love the River View suites as the view of an evening is wonderful. Its very central to restaurants, shops and public transport. Its definitely my choice of hotel when I stay in Melbourne.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on tripadvisor, your continued patronage is well recognised and most welcome at our Hotel. We really appreciate your comments about location, rooms and service and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed in the 1-bed suite, which faces away from the waterfront, but only cost around $160 per night. View is not unpleasant, facing a courtyard and modern office buildings. It seems that the room has been recently refurbished, and done to a very good standard.
Pros:
- Clean, modern, tasteful and quite spacious
- separate kitchen/lounge area
- dimmable halogen lighting
- 2 lcd tvs with foxtel
- room tidied each day if requested
- blackout curtains
- adjustable aircond
- very central location
- not pokey
- polite and helpful staff
- 24 hour room service (I didn't use it, but it's there)
- w/machine, iron, cooking facilities, sink.
- double glazing in the bedroom so quiet at night
- door in bedroom opens onto a very small balcony, but it means you can get fresh air if you want it (but the noise comes with it!)
- full size fridge
- very little noise from neighbouring apartments.
- price is sensational for the location and quality
- on Wotif.com I got an upgrade to this room, from what I'm not sure. And... a free bottle of house wine. Nice!

Cons:
- Queen bed (king would be better, but wouldn't suit the room size.)
- Bed is clean and not old, but dips a little in the middle. Not enough to worry anyone other than the most sensitive of sleepers (like me!)
- aircond outdoor units are noticeable, but not unpleasant or intrusive.

Overall, you won't find better value for money in Melbourne. It would suit business or pleasure, although for pleasure I think you would want the room with the view over the waterfront. That would be a very nice view.

I can't vouch for the quality of any of the other rooms, but my impression is that this is a hotel that has thought about the important things and isn't trying to be something it's not. No unpleasant surprises were found. Well done to Clarion!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Adam,

Thank you for choosing Clarion Suites Gateway for your vacation in Melbourne, and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. For future reference most of our rooms do feature king beds, when making your next booking please advise our friendly team of your preference and we would be happy to accommodate you. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit our lovely city.

Kind Regards

Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our Second time we have stayed here and we were lucky enough to stay in the one bedroom riverview deluxe suite. Spectacular view at night looking towards Crown and the hourly Crown Flames Show. During the day the view is excellent. Looking down the Yarra to the Bay. Also Looking up the Yarra at Federation Square and Flinders Street Station. In the morning you can see the Hot Air Balloons too. Staff were lovely. Breakfast was generous. Swimming Pool was warm. Bedroom looked over the Yarra to Crown. Suite was comfortable with Tv in lounge area and Tv in bedroom. Good size kitchen with good size kitchen/dining table. Very happy with the Stay last Saturday night.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for Deluxe Corner Suite. VIEWS
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Chris,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Clarion Suites Gateway, your continued patronage and well recognised and most welcome at our Hotel. We really appreciate your positive comments about our location, views and service and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel at least 5 times now and it has never failed me. This time we had a river-view room just beautiful. spacious, clean and a comfy bed.. What I really liked was the hand basin and mirror separate from the shower and toilet, making getting ready to go out a breeze.. From parking, reception and the restaurant you can't go wrong staying at this hotel.. Great stay, Thanks Clarion Suites Gateway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on tripadvisor and most importantly for allowing us to be of service to you, your continued patronage is well recognized and most welcome at our hotel. Thank you for your kind words about our facilities and amenities, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here in a 2 bedroom river-suite for birthday celebrations with a few girl friends. The hotel is close by to everything and has amazing views!
Staff are so friendly and lovely! They treated us with a bottle of wine on the house and also drink vouchers. Shout-out to Tom the luggage boy who gave us plenty of laughs.
Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Clarion Suites Gateway for your recent stay in Melbourne, and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We are delighted our customer service made your stay more enjoyable and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We recently stayed at Clarion Suites for the first time. We were booked into the King suite with river views, but we also faced the Casino, so had the spectacle of the gas jets going off as well. Although we faced the street there was no traffic noise at all. The room was quite a good size and seated four people, The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was a reasonable size. the Clarion is well within walking distance of the C.B.D. the ballet centre, St Paul's cathederal and Flinders Street station is across the road. We ate in the restaurant and as we had a voucher deal for food/wine, the meal was quite inexpensive, but beautifuuly cooked, presented and the service was excellent. Parking is on-site, so it was no hassle with the car.

Room Tip: If available, ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Clarion Suites Gateway, Melbourne. We really appreciate your positive comments about our location, rooms, restaurant, facilities and service and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Address: 1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Suites Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.