We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, friendly helpful staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Suites Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Suites Gateway to your Saves list
Clarion Suites Gateway
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Maryland
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Convenient location, friendly helpful staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We rented a 1 bedroom apartment with fully equipped kitchen in March 2013. I used the www.wotif.com.au site and booked their mystery hotel (it was the Clarion Suites) at a discounted rate. The hotel is well situated near Flinders St Station and across from the restaurants and shops of Southgate. We did not have a view of the Yarra River because of our special rate, but we did enjoy a perfect reflection of the river in the windows of the surrounding office buildings! The kitchen was well equipped, the room was neat and v. clean and the staff were very friendly and very helpful. The only negative was the connection to the internet in the room, which was very slow and on the last day unusable...however to their credit they did not charge us for the time we could not use it. They also have parking in the building for $25 a day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor, your feedback is much appreciated as it makes it possible for our team to assess and monitor our service quality and performance.
We appreciate your comments about our location and service and we would like to assure you that we are very committed in securing a Wi-Fi solution, as a matter of fact we have opted for Cat 6 cabling, which will allow for a speedy connection in all the hotel rooms.
We hope to welcome you back when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    262
    60
    22
    11
See reviews for
168
286
54
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Have stayed here before, but it was even better this time. We got upgraded to a river view room with a balcony, and enjoyed the sunset and fire show at Crown. Excellent location, friendly staff and a great night's sleep.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Helen,

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your positive comments about our location, rooms and service and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Our family, once again, had a wonderful stay at Clarion Suites Gateway. From the warm, friendly staff welcoming us to the amazing room - every part of our stay was special. The Deluxe Riverview Suite is incredible. With the amazing view of the city and across the river it is hard to believe we only paid $279 for the 4 of us. There is so much room for the kids to spead out and it's so lovely to be able to shut off the door to the bedroom when they have gone to sleep and enjoy the spectacular night view with a bottle of wine. Our trip was made especially special when room service delivered my son a surprise tray of cake for his birthday - it was a lovely touch. Every visit I am always surprised about the value for money at this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: The Deluxe Riverview Suite has amazing city and river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, your continued patronage is well recognised and most welcome at our Hotel. It is pleasing to read that our room met your expectations, we are a family friendly Hotel with spacious rooms to accommodate families of all sizes, as well as small groups of friends. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Clarion Suites Gateway in the near future.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yarrawonga
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We have stayed at the Clarion a few times now and we love it. Its easy to get too and it has its own car park whicjh is reasonable and rooms are modern and comfortable.
We always eat at the Restaurant for dinner and its great for families and we think its awesome we have never had a bad meal.
It is a short walk to South Bank,Aquarium Bourke Street Mall and a short tram ride to Rod Laver for Concerts.
Some times the rates are more afforable than some nights but as always it depends on what is going on in Melbourne at the time.
We stay because of its location comfort and Restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to leave a review on Tripadvisor, your patronage is well recognized and most welcome at our Hotel. We really appreciate your positive comments about our location, accommodation facilities and Restaurant and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

After another recent stay at Clarion Sutie Gateway, i thought i would do another review. Once again, the staff were very friendly, professional & helpful. As many reviewers have mentioned, the location is great & I actually think that you would struggle to find a hotel in a better location to so many different parts of Melbourne. My room was tidy & seemed to be well cleaned both nights. The breakfast has had a recent makeover with a even larger selection of food now on offer, with hot food made to order - my preference is scrambled eggs, smoked salmon & spinach. I had dinner at the downstairs restaurant, which was good - but not fantastic. If you have the time, i would suggest walking across to the Southbank, or around the corner to a restaurant - there are so many good plces to eat in Melbourne. Hopefully at the they give the menu here a refresh in the near future & I will only need to leave the building for my meetings!

Room Tip: - Make sure you close the curtains completely when you go to bed, the flares on southbank look great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, we are situated in a great location and with Crown Casino and the shopping precinct within easing walking distance we appreciate that you enjoyed our location and all that Melbourne has to offer. Thank you for your comments concerning our new breakfast buffet and for your information we are also currently in the process of creating a new Dinner menu, and we look forward to receiving your feedback once this menu is in place.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is the second time hubby and I have stayed at The Clarion Suites and again, it did not disappoint. The best feature of the hotel is definitely the location being just over a bridge from Southbank. There is plenty of trams and cabs outside the hotel for travelling further, but really, you can practically walk everywhere from here, eg Queen Victoria Markets (20 mins), Southbank (5 mins), Spencer Street Station (15 mins), DFO Docklands (15 mins). So many great eateries close by too. Did not eat at the restaurant but plenty of people did. Had drinks in the bar a couple of times as they have regular happy hours. We booked a studio riverview room (with king bed) but were upgraded to a one bedroom riverview apartment. Fantastic views and fitted out with all your requirements, full size kitchen, bathroom, bedroom with king bed (very comfy), even a washer/dryer. You could actually live there it was that well equipped. Staff are extremely helpful and pleasant. Will definitely stay here again when visiting beautiful Melbourne.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a one bedroom riverview apartment, well worth it. We were in Room 9051.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Clarion Suites Gateway, Melbourne. We really appreciate your positive comments about our location, rooms, amenities and service.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed here with a friend who was visiting from overseas and i wanted to show her melbourne city. As soon as you walk in the hotel lobby you can tell that the hotel is only 3 star quality compared to other hotels i have stayed in such as crown and sofitel. Our room was a 1 bedroom apartment and the kitchen facilities were very good and the furniture in the apartment was also modern. Generally the rooms need maintenance to the walls and a few other things including the balcony which was plain white tiles and got dirty easily. I was very happy with the view of the yarra and crown flames at night added to my friends experience of melbourne.

The pool was also very average needs renovating.

I would stay here again but would be looking at better hotels which offer accommodation for the same price!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us, we thank you for your comments about our room facilities, location and views. We are in the process of planning for our next fit-out program, hopefully within the next year, and as a first we will update the pool within the next few weeks.

Although we appreciate the comparison to Crown & Sofitel, we do not compare well, as both of these venues are luxurious five star hotels, however, we do like to think that we compete very well in personalized service.

In relation to rates it depends on demand in the city, our rates fluctuate, therefore, dynamic in nature, and at times we do offer very special rates on our website.

Thank you for staying with us and if we can be of further service to you in the future, it will indeed be our pleasure.

Kind Regards

Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Address: 1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Suites Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.