We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Suites Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Suites Gateway to your Saves list
Clarion Suites Gateway
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% OFF Room Rate
Ranked #31 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Level Contributor
89 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

A great place to stay in Melbourne - very friendly helpful staff, clean spacious rooms and a great location next to the Immigration Museum. We were upgraded to a river view room which allowed us enjoy great views of the casino and the activity on the river and we loved the cookies left for us in the room. Our rate included the buffet breakfast which was extensive - this is also available for $22 if it isn't included in your rate which is pretty good value. Parking is available at the hotel for $25 per day. Internet is also available with a 50% discount if you join the One William Club. We had an issue with the tumble drier in the guest laundry and the reception staff quickly sorted out a solution. Check in and out was also handled efficiently. Would highly recommend and will return to this property whenever in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Join the One William Club - its free and gives you extras and freebies
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Clarion Suites Gateway during your recent visit to Melbourne, and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We agree our One William Club is of great benefit to our valued customers who chose to sign up and appreciate that you enjoyed the advantages of being a member. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards

Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    281
    64
    22
    12
See reviews for
178
294
58
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Corowa, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We found all aspects of our stay most rewarding. All staff from the reception area to the restaurant, bar and room service were unfailingly friendly, efficient and professional. The room was spacious and very clean and the bed was exceedingly comfortable. The location was ideal for our needs with a short walk to the shops and close proximity to the casino for a work function that had to be attended. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to all and sundry.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Helen,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Clarion Suites Gateway. We really appreciate your positive comments about our staff & service, location, rooms and amenities. Thank you for your recommendation it is appreciated and most welcome. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The rooms are quite spacious and the bed comfortable. The double sliding doors also kept the room very quiet while also allowing you fresh air when you wanted it. The location was good. The service was excellent - free upgrade to a river view room, very fast check-in/out and very friendly reception staff. If I hadn't read the TripAdvisor reviews (claiming it to be the number 1 place to stay in the CBD) then I probably would have been quite happy. It was good, but not extraordinary. There were nice little touches, such as free home made biscuits delivered just after arriving, but the rooms were fairly nondescript (except for the hand basin being bizarrely located outside the bathroom) and there are other hotels in better locations. Also the view was quite nice but nothing earth shattering. Don't get me wrong, this is a really good place to stay, it just didn't feel as special as the No1 TripAdvisor hotels normally are. A short walk up Flinders St is DeGraves St - a fantastic place for breakfast or dinner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for leaving a review on tripadvisor and most importantly for allowing us to be of service to you, your patronage is well recognized and most welcome at our hotel.
Your feedback is much appreciated as it makes it possible for our team to assess and monitor our service quality and performance.
As a measure of improvement we are already planning for a refurbishment program during 2013-14, generally we like to keep furnishings for up to seven years, and our last program was during the latter part of 2007. The vanity design in some of the standard rooms allow for privacy in a dual occupancy arrangement, so that either guest may in confidence enjoy this separation. Although we had no input in the design of this facility, we do appreciate your comments.
Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff and service, we do pride ourselves on our customer service, here at Clarion Suites Gateway it is of the utmost importance to us.
We hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Kind Regards

Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Upon arrival I was so warmly welcomed at Clarion, I could not fault them.
The directed me as needed and were friendly and approachable.
I entered my room to find a welcome letter and pack and really appreciated the cookies!
We were recommended to visit the Clarion Suites Gateway hotel and we will always be back when in Melbourne!
Keep up the fantastic work.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view if available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Laura,

Thank you for your comments, we take pride in our feedback and appreciate you taking the time to post your review.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Very friendly staff at the Clarion Suites in Melbourne . Clean room with all that is required for a five night stay.
The location is handy to all city events and transport. Great views from the room over looking the river.
Would recommend and will come again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Lynn,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Clarion Suites Gateway and for leaving a review on trip advisor, your comments are much appreciated. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location, views and room amenities and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times over the past couple of years. And will continue to be my choice of accommodation when visiting Melbourne.
The riverview rooms are fantastic with a great view of Crown casino, Flinders Street Station and more. The building and amenities are all kept in wonderful condition. Well laid out, with generous size bathroom. And the welcome cookies made in-house were a wonderful homely touch.
The staff are always friendly, accommodating and helpful. Location is perfect for business or pleasure, with added bonus of secure on-site parking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Tania,

Thank you for your feedback, your continued patronage is well recognised and most welcome at our Hotel. We really appreciate your comments about our rooms, service and amenities. We also have to agree that we’re situated in a great location and with Crown Casino and the shopping prescient all within easing walking distance we appreciate that you enjoyed our location and all that Melbourne has to offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My family of 3 kids aged 10, 5 and 1, and I stayed here for 7 days for our year end trip. We stayed in the one bedroom suite facing some business building as the riverview was all booked.

The suite has everything we need such as fully equip kitchen, a washing machine with dryer, iron, microwave oven, which we do make use of.

Suite was clean whenever we came back from outing, they even do our dishes (thank you very much to the hotel cleaner), bed was good enough, sofa at the living was good.

Location wise, it was 1 min walk to nearest tram stop, 3 min walk to melbourne aquarium, 10 min walk to MYER & Royal Arcade, 15 min walk to Queen Victoria Market.

The staff were good, polite and there are no nonsense charges or such. Really love our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Clarion Suites Gateway and for leaving a review on tripadvisor.
It is pleasing to read that our room met your expectations, we are a family friendly Hotel with spacious rooms to accommodate families of all sizes, as well as small groups of friends. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
0.4 mi away
Quay West Suites Melbourne
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#7 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments
0.6 mi away
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#22 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 799 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Address: 1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Suites Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.