We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, well priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Suites Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Suites Gateway to your Saves list
Clarion Suites Gateway
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 20% OFF Room Rate
Ranked #29 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Well located, well priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

As a business travellers hotel the Clarion is very well appointed, clean and modern. The staff are always friendly and welcoming, welcoming you back regularly with a smile and by name. Rooms have always been clean and well appointed and the the welcome cookies a nice little touch.

I would probably not recommend it as a leisure destination, but for a short business trip that requires CBD meetings then it is all you need it to be

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Matthew,

Thank you for leaving a review on trip advisor. The team appreciates your comments as we pride ourselves on our customer service and do always like to make each and every guest feel welcome and at home when staying with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next return visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards

Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    266
    61
    22
    12
See reviews for
169
288
55
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Loved this hotel. We booked through Wotif and got a great price for overnight stay.

We opted for a riverview room, which had a lovely view across the river to Crown Casino. The room itself was very clean, bed and pillows were very comfortable, the shower was amazing (the only downside being it was over a bath).

We chose not to pay for breakfast there as it was a little pricey, so instead we walked 5 minutes across to the Casino and had breakfast at Margos (much more reasonably priced).

Location of this hotel is perfect. Just a short walk across to Southbank for heaps of bars/restaurants/cafe's. Very close to the aquarium, Shopping is only a stroll away and not far from the weekend nightlife.

Only really had contact with staff at the front desk, but found them to be friendly and efficient.

Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, it is pleasing to read that you enjoyed the view from your room, as well as our location, hotel facilities and service. For future reference we do have rooms with walk in showers, however the rooms types and availability vary, please do advise staff of your preference when making your next booking and we will do our very best to accommodate your request.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We recently stayed at the Clarion Suites and booked through Wotif. We were a little disappointed on entering our room as it felt quite out-dated and dull. We had a 1 bedroom apartment and had the kids on the sofa lounge. The sofa lounge was in very bad condition and the kids simply rolled into the middle on top of each other so after we reported this to reception they brought up two single roll-away, which were better. The apartment was squishy with the sofa or roll-away in it. However, it was clean (pillows were too hard) and the staff were friendly and efficient. We were very happy with the location. Not convinced we'd go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your review.

I do apologies that the sofa bed was not satisfactory, and as a measure of improvement early next year we will replace the sofa beds before we embark on our refurbishment program.
We do appreciate that we need to be in a position of offering more comfortable sofa beds, and during the selection process we will ensure that the bedding is of commercial grading.
Generally our one bedroom apartments range from 55 -72 sq. meters, and the two bedroom suites 102 sq. meters, however, a double sofa bed does take a bit of living space, and our housekeeping team are happy to make-up the sofa-bed when required so that the space is not limited during the day.

Thanks so much for your patronage, we hope to have an opportunity to be of service to you in the future.

Kind Regards

Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Very comfortable suite. Great facitilities, restaurant and bar. Very polite and helpful staff. Great value. Excellent location close to the Yarra. Easy walk to everything. Close to Southern Cross Railway and Trams.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Michael,

It is pleasing to receive positive feedback and I’m glad you enjoyed the location, room features, hotel facilities and service, may we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Clarion Suites Gateway when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toodyay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Had a great stay. The view was breath taking and great location. The only complaint was a few cleaning issues BUT would go back again and intent too on our next stay in Melbourne. The Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Julier,

Thank you for sharing your valuable and constructive comments, it will allow us to focus on areas which require immediate improvements.

I would like assure that our, Executive Housekeeper has been made aware of the need for improved service standards and attention to detail.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Melbourne and may we say thank you for allowing us to have an opportunity to restore your confidence in our hotel and services.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Victoria
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel staff were wonderful, room service meal was amazing and quick, buffet breakfast was sensational with a great range to choose from. Room was excellent. Close to everything we needed, will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Jennifera,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Clarion Suites Gateway, Melbourne! We really appreciate your positive comments about our staff, meals and service. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Clarion Suites Gateway when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards

Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

After a few stays for work at clarion suite gateway, I had stay for fun with a few mates. They were all impressed with the room & view. The location is fantastic for visiting so many things. Only a short stroll to Fed square, casino, aquarium, shops and many restaurants. Like usual the staff were very friendly and helpful. I am sure that both I and my mates will be staying again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Footyguy,

Thank you for your feedback, your patronage is well recognised and most welcome at our Hotel. We agree, we are situated in a great location and with Crown Casino and the shopping prescient within easing walking distance we appreciate that you enjoyed our location and all that Melbourne has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you all back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards

Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Address: 1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Suites Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.