We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Suites Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Suites Gateway to your Saves list
Clarion Suites Gateway
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Splash into Summer
Ranked #31 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Toodyay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Had a great stay. The view was breath taking and great location. The only complaint was a few cleaning issues BUT would go back again and intent too on our next stay in Melbourne. The Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Julier,

Thank you for sharing your valuable and constructive comments, it will allow us to focus on areas which require immediate improvements.

I would like assure that our, Executive Housekeeper has been made aware of the need for improved service standards and attention to detail.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Melbourne and may we say thank you for allowing us to have an opportunity to restore your confidence in our hotel and services.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    238
    55
    22
    10
See reviews for
154
254
52
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Victoria
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel staff were wonderful, room service meal was amazing and quick, buffet breakfast was sensational with a great range to choose from. Room was excellent. Close to everything we needed, will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Jennifera,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Clarion Suites Gateway, Melbourne! We really appreciate your positive comments about our staff, meals and service. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Clarion Suites Gateway when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards

Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

After a few stays for work at clarion suite gateway, I had stay for fun with a few mates. They were all impressed with the room & view. The location is fantastic for visiting so many things. Only a short stroll to Fed square, casino, aquarium, shops and many restaurants. Like usual the staff were very friendly and helpful. I am sure that both I and my mates will be staying again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Footyguy,

Thank you for your feedback, your patronage is well recognised and most welcome at our Hotel. We agree, we are situated in a great location and with Crown Casino and the shopping prescient within easing walking distance we appreciate that you enjoyed our location and all that Melbourne has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you all back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards

Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Our overnight stay to celebrate our 31st wedding anniversary was made very special due to an unexpected upgrade to a corner suite overlooking the river & Southbank. Also they delivered to our room a complimentary bottle of wine & two homemade biscuits.The position was ideal as we visited the Aquarium & Conservatory at the Casino for our celebratory Dinner( all within a few minutes walking distance). I would highly recommend the Clarion Gateway due to friendly staff at check in , cleanliness of rooms & great location. Also slept well due to comfortable bedding. We have stayed previously & will return again.

Room Tip: corner suites are very large, sunny with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Tripadvisor, your continued patronage is well recognised and most welcome at our Hotel.
We really appreciate your positive comments about our rooms, amenities and service, the team at Clarion Suites Gateway prides ourselves on our customer service and we are delighted to have helped you celebrate your Anniversary in Melbourne.
We look forward to having the pleasure of your company when you next visit our lovely city.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Quiet family getaway weekend. Very clean comfortable spacious partment and comfortable bed and lovely meal in restaurant. Money well spent.!!! Our appartment had a table, chairs, as well as a desk. Ideal for business traveller wanting a littel more space then a standards hotel room. Great a s hort family getaway. Will definatetly return!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Tina,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Tripadvisor, It is pleasing to read that our room met your expectations, we are a family friendly Hotel with spacious rooms to accommodate families of all sizes, as well as small groups of friends. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Clarion Suites Gateway in the future.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel remains consistent and pleasant to stay at. One bedroom apartment was clean tidy and had everything that I required. Easy access to the City Circle Tram makes getting around Melbourne easy. I would recommend this hotel and stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

The team at Clarions Suites Gateway are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to seeing you return in the future.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

After reading all of the reviews we expected a great experience, how disappointed we were!! Our room on level 8 was dated, small for a suite. Strange place for a vanity unit outside of the bathroom, noisy fan in bathroom. No wireless in any of the rooms which is very strange. Had wi if in foyer which you had to pay for. Front desk manager was not at all friendly bordering on rude, we were going to be over charged on parking until we complained.

We travel a lot and have stayed in clarion suites all over the world but this hotel has been the worst experience ever. Apart from location that is it, we would never stay there again and would never recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

As a starting point, I first would like to thank you for allowing us to be of service to you and your party, your patronage is well appreciated.

In recognition of our primary focus and that is to strive to achieve what is most important to you, as our valued guest, we offer you our profound apologies for any inconvenience and disappointment that you experienced during your recent stay with us. This is most regrettable, please do feel confident that we are very much dedicated to continuous service improvement as an ongoing practice, therefore your feedback is most welcome.

We are very much open to your suggestions and criticism, our hotel team share a common goal, and that is to exceed your expectations.

The vanity design in some of the standard rooms allow for privacy in a dual occupancy arrangement, so that either guest may in confidence enjoy this separation. Although we had no input in the design of this facility, we do appreciate your comments.
The exhaust system in the bathroom automatically shuts down when the light in this area is turned-off. We are currently printing in-room information which outlines this functionality, so that noise intrusion is limited.

At this time, most Melbourne hotels do not offer complimentary internet due to cost of delivery, however, this may change in the future. For guests who do not wish to buy an internet package, we have a provision of an hourly internet connection in the hotel foyer at a nominal cost, or the opportunity to purchase a coffee/drink in the restaurant with free internet. Based on the ongoing in-room Wi-Fi demand, we envisage that we will be in a position to offer this service during 2013.

On the matter of hotel car parking charges as well as daily room charges, it is based on hotel check-in at 2pm and check-out at 11am, I do not think that we were too successful in communicating this on the day. If I may please outline this respectfully, in that, the car bay is available for your use from: 2pm on check-in, until 11am on check-out the next day. Even though you arrived at 2am, the charge for one night’s car parking is legitimate and is congruent with universal hotel pre-registration practices.

We do recognize that hotel policies at times are somewhat peculiar; in saying this, our information should have been clearer.
Our Front Office Manager waived one night’s car parking fee, as a measure of demonstrating to you a gesture of courtesy, I would also like to outline that we failed to deliver our apologies in such a manner whereby you would have been satisfied with the outcome, I assure you that we will improve on this.

As a demonstration of our commitment to you and in the interest of quality service, please be assured that we will indeed do our very best to exceed you expectations based on any future opportunities which allows us to be of service to you and your party.

I remain cordially,

Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Address: 1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#42 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Suites Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.