We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and quite a reasonable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Suites Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Suites Gateway to your Saves list
Clarion Suites Gateway
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Splash into Summer
Ranked #30 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Albury, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good location and quite a reasonable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel remains consistent and pleasant to stay at. One bedroom apartment was clean tidy and had everything that I required. Easy access to the City Circle Tram makes getting around Melbourne easy. I would recommend this hotel and stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

The team at Clarions Suites Gateway are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to seeing you return in the future.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    240
    55
    22
    10
See reviews for
156
254
52
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

After reading all of the reviews we expected a great experience, how disappointed we were!! Our room on level 8 was dated, small for a suite. Strange place for a vanity unit outside of the bathroom, noisy fan in bathroom. No wireless in any of the rooms which is very strange. Had wi if in foyer which you had to pay for. Front desk manager was not at all friendly bordering on rude, we were going to be over charged on parking until we complained.

We travel a lot and have stayed in clarion suites all over the world but this hotel has been the worst experience ever. Apart from location that is it, we would never stay there again and would never recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

As a starting point, I first would like to thank you for allowing us to be of service to you and your party, your patronage is well appreciated.

In recognition of our primary focus and that is to strive to achieve what is most important to you, as our valued guest, we offer you our profound apologies for any inconvenience and disappointment that you experienced during your recent stay with us. This is most regrettable, please do feel confident that we are very much dedicated to continuous service improvement as an ongoing practice, therefore your feedback is most welcome.

We are very much open to your suggestions and criticism, our hotel team share a common goal, and that is to exceed your expectations.

The vanity design in some of the standard rooms allow for privacy in a dual occupancy arrangement, so that either guest may in confidence enjoy this separation. Although we had no input in the design of this facility, we do appreciate your comments.
The exhaust system in the bathroom automatically shuts down when the light in this area is turned-off. We are currently printing in-room information which outlines this functionality, so that noise intrusion is limited.

At this time, most Melbourne hotels do not offer complimentary internet due to cost of delivery, however, this may change in the future. For guests who do not wish to buy an internet package, we have a provision of an hourly internet connection in the hotel foyer at a nominal cost, or the opportunity to purchase a coffee/drink in the restaurant with free internet. Based on the ongoing in-room Wi-Fi demand, we envisage that we will be in a position to offer this service during 2013.

On the matter of hotel car parking charges as well as daily room charges, it is based on hotel check-in at 2pm and check-out at 11am, I do not think that we were too successful in communicating this on the day. If I may please outline this respectfully, in that, the car bay is available for your use from: 2pm on check-in, until 11am on check-out the next day. Even though you arrived at 2am, the charge for one night’s car parking is legitimate and is congruent with universal hotel pre-registration practices.

We do recognize that hotel policies at times are somewhat peculiar; in saying this, our information should have been clearer.
Our Front Office Manager waived one night’s car parking fee, as a measure of demonstrating to you a gesture of courtesy, I would also like to outline that we failed to deliver our apologies in such a manner whereby you would have been satisfied with the outcome, I assure you that we will improve on this.

As a demonstration of our commitment to you and in the interest of quality service, please be assured that we will indeed do our very best to exceed you expectations based on any future opportunities which allows us to be of service to you and your party.

I remain cordially,

Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchbonnie, null, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Booked this hotel via Wotif "mystery hotel". Fantastic location, within easy walking distance to all major CBD attractions including Casino, Southbank, Federation Square, Flinders Street Station, DFO, Myers etc. Communicated via email directly with the hotel (Nathalie, Res Manager) prior to our stay and it was refreshing to get such prompt, friendly and helpful responses. We booked a one bedroom suite which was very spacious and had an outside seating area (not a balcony) so was nice to stretch out and enjoy the warm Melbourne sun. We were incredibly suprised to receive a complimentary bottle of Champagne courtesy of Clarion Suites in honour of our 40th birthday celebrations - thank you Nathalie. We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant which was delicious with a great selection of fare. The overall service we received was excellent, room was clean and well presented, the king size bed was very comfortable and the sofa-bed was fairly good! Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others. Thank you Clarion Suites for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Renee,

Thank you choosing to leave a review on tripadvisor. We are situated in a great location and with Crown Casino and the shopping prescient within easing walking distance we appreciate that you enjoyed our location and all that Melbourne has to offer. The team prides themselves on their customer service and Nathalie is delighted she was able to make your booking process seamless. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We found the Clarion to be in an excellent location for Melbourne shopping and central city. The staff were helpful and friendly and the rooms were clean and tidy. Would definitively stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, we are situated in a great location and with Crown Casino and the shopping prescient within easing walking distance we appreciate that you enjoyed our location and all that Melbourne has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Found the location perfect for those wanting to explore the CBD attractions (Federation Square, Chinatown, St. Paul's Cathedral) and attending expos/ conferences at the Convention Centre by foot, as both areas are around the same distance from this place.

Pros:
1. The noises from the train / traffic not as bad as thought earlier (from the 6th floor)
2. Perfect location for those wanting to cover the MCEC and the CBD attractions by foot (vs taking the trams)
3. Above average service
4. Better than expected room size (studio)

Cons:
1. Breakfast selection rather limited (may be subjective)
2. The central air-con was rather noisy with its humming sound when switched on (as described by earlier reviews) - i switched it off anyway as the room temperature was pleasant enough for me to sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, our location does allow for a short walk to either the CBD or the MCEC which is very convenient for many of our guests, we do find the double glazing to be very effective in ensuring a peaceful nights sleep.

We appreciate your feedback about our service; our staff are always striving to exceed our guests expectations. We have only this week updated our breakfast buffet to include a more extensive variety of sweet and savoury options along with an a la carte menu cooked to order.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we look forward to hopefully being of service to you again.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the patch
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I have reviewed Clarion Gateway before but,i have to say that you just can't beat a quality hotel to relax and be comfortable in.My wife and i had tickets to See Icehouse at Hamer Hall to celebrate our 21st wedding anniversary.We booked at Gateway without hesitation as i know how great Tony and his staff are.I was not let down when we arrived as our suite was stunning with great views of the city and yarra river and the welcome bottle of champagne and cheese platter along with delicious cookies made for the perfect start to our stay.The rooms are always clean and presented perfectly and the staff are always friendly and accomodating and for that reason we choose to stay here.I know that when i contact Clarion Gateway they will always respond quickly and meet all our expectations!!Could'nt speak more highly of this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Try and always ask for a corner suite on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to once again leave a review on Tripadvisor, your continued patronage is well recognised and most welcome at our Hotel.
We really appreciate your positive comments about our rooms, amenities and service.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Clarion Suites Gateway when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I have stayed at the Clarion Suites Gateway a few times before as it always accommodates for my needs; prime location, stunning views and good service. This time I had booked in for a girl’s night out. As we were checking in we were greeted by a gentleman at the front desk who was very friendly, welcoming and had a great sense of humour which made us laugh! Great start….

Then he announced to us that our room had been upgraded to the penthouse!

We couldn’t believe it, we were over the moon!!!

We had such a great time and enjoyed the suite very much. It was such an exciting experience and the staff were wonderful, polite and professional making our stay very warming.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Rebecca,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Clarion Suites Gateway, you patronage is well recognized and most welcome at our hotel. Thank you for your review, it is pleasing to read that you enjoyed our rooms, amenities and service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Address: 1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Suites Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.