We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, views, excellent service and food, very clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Suites Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Suites Gateway to your Saves list
Clarion Suites Gateway
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Splash into Summer
Ranked #31 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location, views, excellent service and food, very clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic hotel that ticks all the right boxes - very clean, great staff, excellent food (super fast room service and sooo tasty). Priced well for location. Large LCD tv with free in house current movies. Pleasantly surprised to be upgraded (free) to a river view room with balcony - awesome view of Yarra, Southbank, Crown etc, near top on 17th floor. Free bottle wine and complimentary (x2) drinks at bar. Quick walk to all major attractions or free tram out front. Great stay would recommend to others. Looking forward to next stay - M. Anthony.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear M. Anthony

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us at Clarion Suites Gateway, Melbourne! We really appreciate your positive comments about our location, rooms and service. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Melbourne.

Best Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    239
    55
    22
    10
See reviews for
156
254
52
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Some work colleagues and I recently had the pleasure of staying in a 2 bedroom interconnecting suite (1441 & 1442) over the weekend of Oct 12th. We were extremely impressed by the customer service experience and every aspect of this hotel! I arrived a little prior to check in which was no problem whatsoever for the staff as I was offered a complimentary drink at the hotel bar while my luggage was taken to my room.

We would like to sincerely thank all staff for the highly positive experience and we cannot fault this hotel in any way. Looking forward to staying again soon.

Jason W

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Jason,

Thank you for your positive comments, we pride ourselves on our customer service and the team are very happy to hear they made your recent stay with us even more enjoyable,
Thank you for posting your review and we do look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Best Regards
Kelly Matthews - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I spent a short "getaway from it all" in Melbourne for dinner and late night Jazz and stayed at the Clarion Gateway. The hotel was superb, the staff are very professional from the Front Desk to Room Service (which was awesome by the way). We were upgraded to a one bedroom suite overlooking the city lights, the Yarra River and Southbank, soft lighting and champagne... very nice indeed. Transport if you need it is right outside, including free sightseeing trams, Flinders Street Train Station a short walk. Crown Casino across the Yarra.....A perfect location. Didn't have a spa so cannot say anything on that. We highly recommend staying at this Hotel, and we will definitely be back very soon, our favourite Jazz club is close nearby. It's very rare that I give top points but this Hotel has it together.

Room Tip: Corner suites are panoramic, great city views. Very quiet, no outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Neil,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Clarion Suites Gateway and for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor, it is always a delight to receive such positive feedback. We really appreciate your comments about our location, rooms and service and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My Partner and I stayed here in September to celebrate our anniversary. We were advised upon check-in that we had been upgraded from a studio room to a 1 bedroom suite. What a warm welcoming to receive a personalised letter in our room congratulating us of our anniversary and advising us there was a chilled bottle of wine in the fridge!
The view of Southbank was was the outstanding feature of our room, with tall, large windows allowing us to see the glistening lights of the Eureka tower, Crown Casino, and the Yarra River.
We decided to have breakfast at the hotel and were impressed with the selection of sweet and savory goods and fresh made eggs. Commands to the friendly staff for a pleasant and enjoyable stay. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review on Tripadvisor and thank you for your lovely comments this is much appreciated.
The team at Clarion Suites Gateway prides ourselves on our customer service and we are delighted to have helped you celebrate your Anniversary in Melbourne. We look forward to having the pleasure of your company when you next visit our lovely city.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD USA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice and both times, it was a wonderful stay. The hotel overlooks the Yarro River and at night you get a great view of the torches at the casino across the river. It is just a couple blocks from downtown shopping and is along major tram lines. It is easy to get anywhere from this hotel. You can walk to the train station, shopping, restaurants, etc. You can take the tram to St. Kilda, the harbor area (where there are some nice restaurants). The staff are delightful, as is the general manager. I would highly recommend a stay at this hotel if you are planning to be in Melbourne. I should also note that on both occassions I had a one bedroom with a kitchen. This was convenient for me as I don't always like to eat all my meals out.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the river is very nice and some have balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Pat & Jim,

Thank you for your comments and most importantly for allowing us to be of service to you, your continued patronage is well recognized and most welcome at our hotel.

We are situated in a great location and with Crown Casino and the shopping prescient within easing walking distance we appreciate that you enjoyed our location, amenities and the service provided.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next return visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We recently spent 2 nights at this hotel. We were quite disappointed with the tired, dated look of our room and we were equally disappointed with the indoor heated pool which also looked dated and a little shabby. We have had much better value for money at other Melbourne CBD hotels. On the first day we ate lunch with a friend in the hotel's restaurant and not one of us could finish the meal. What was meant to be a Thai chicken salad was full of brean sprouts and tomato and really had no hint of Thai flavours at all. To top off a rather poor experience, some weeks later we received a bill for car parking when we didn't even have a car. The staff were very friendly and amenable but unfortunately this did not make up for an overall negative exp0erience

Room Tip: If you are prepared to pay loads extra for a view of the Yarra River then presumably the outlook wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We are disappointed to hear that your visit did not reach full expectations, and we offer you our sincere apologies for the inconvenience or disappointment that you experienced.

Your feedback is much appreciated as it makes it possible for our team to assess and monitor our service quality and performance.

Our primary focus is to strive to achieve what is most important to you, so that we have an opportunity in offering to you our very best service quality. We are open to your suggestions and criticism, as we share a common goal and that is to exceed your expectations.

Thank you for sharing your valuable and constructive comments, it will allow us to focus on the areas which require immediate improvements.

As a measure of improvement we are already planning for a refurbishment program during 2013-14, generally we like to keep furnishings for up to seven years, and our last program was during the latter part of 2007. We are also in the process of looking into having the pool repainted/tiled later this year. Thank you for your input.

I would like assure you that our, Executive Chef has been notified, with the view of improving service standards and general attention to detail in relation to the preparation of meals and menu items.

The quality of service provided at Clarion Suites Gateway is of the utmost importance to us, and I would like to affirm to you that we will ensure your feedback is addressed diligently.

Kind Regards

Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Was here twice for an very important exam and interview and couldnt have asked for more. It was my first time in Melbourne and the staff were very helpful and friendly with directions. Rooms were clean and very quite at night. Room service food was excellent and arrived almost immediately. I would recommend this hotel for any important business trips!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and the lovely comments about our facilities, rooms, food and service, your feedback is much appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit Melboune.

Best Regards
Kelly Matthews - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Address: 1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#42 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Suites Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.