We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prime location, great service, beautiful view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Suites Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Suites Gateway to your Saves list
Clarion Suites Gateway
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% OFF Room Rate
Ranked #26 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Prime location, great service, beautiful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My Partner and I stayed here in September to celebrate our anniversary. We were advised upon check-in that we had been upgraded from a studio room to a 1 bedroom suite. What a warm welcoming to receive a personalised letter in our room congratulating us of our anniversary and advising us there was a chilled bottle of wine in the fridge!
The view of Southbank was was the outstanding feature of our room, with tall, large windows allowing us to see the glistening lights of the Eureka tower, Crown Casino, and the Yarra River.
We decided to have breakfast at the hotel and were impressed with the selection of sweet and savory goods and fresh made eggs. Commands to the friendly staff for a pleasant and enjoyable stay. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review on Tripadvisor and thank you for your lovely comments this is much appreciated.
The team at Clarion Suites Gateway prides ourselves on our customer service and we are delighted to have helped you celebrate your Anniversary in Melbourne. We look forward to having the pleasure of your company when you next visit our lovely city.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    259
    59
    22
    11
See reviews for
166
281
54
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MD USA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice and both times, it was a wonderful stay. The hotel overlooks the Yarro River and at night you get a great view of the torches at the casino across the river. It is just a couple blocks from downtown shopping and is along major tram lines. It is easy to get anywhere from this hotel. You can walk to the train station, shopping, restaurants, etc. You can take the tram to St. Kilda, the harbor area (where there are some nice restaurants). The staff are delightful, as is the general manager. I would highly recommend a stay at this hotel if you are planning to be in Melbourne. I should also note that on both occassions I had a one bedroom with a kitchen. This was convenient for me as I don't always like to eat all my meals out.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the river is very nice and some have balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Pat & Jim,

Thank you for your comments and most importantly for allowing us to be of service to you, your continued patronage is well recognized and most welcome at our hotel.

We are situated in a great location and with Crown Casino and the shopping prescient within easing walking distance we appreciate that you enjoyed our location, amenities and the service provided.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next return visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We recently spent 2 nights at this hotel. We were quite disappointed with the tired, dated look of our room and we were equally disappointed with the indoor heated pool which also looked dated and a little shabby. We have had much better value for money at other Melbourne CBD hotels. On the first day we ate lunch with a friend in the hotel's restaurant and not one of us could finish the meal. What was meant to be a Thai chicken salad was full of brean sprouts and tomato and really had no hint of Thai flavours at all. To top off a rather poor experience, some weeks later we received a bill for car parking when we didn't even have a car. The staff were very friendly and amenable but unfortunately this did not make up for an overall negative exp0erience

Room Tip: If you are prepared to pay loads extra for a view of the Yarra River then presumably the outlook wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We are disappointed to hear that your visit did not reach full expectations, and we offer you our sincere apologies for the inconvenience or disappointment that you experienced.

Your feedback is much appreciated as it makes it possible for our team to assess and monitor our service quality and performance.

Our primary focus is to strive to achieve what is most important to you, so that we have an opportunity in offering to you our very best service quality. We are open to your suggestions and criticism, as we share a common goal and that is to exceed your expectations.

Thank you for sharing your valuable and constructive comments, it will allow us to focus on the areas which require immediate improvements.

As a measure of improvement we are already planning for a refurbishment program during 2013-14, generally we like to keep furnishings for up to seven years, and our last program was during the latter part of 2007. We are also in the process of looking into having the pool repainted/tiled later this year. Thank you for your input.

I would like assure you that our, Executive Chef has been notified, with the view of improving service standards and general attention to detail in relation to the preparation of meals and menu items.

The quality of service provided at Clarion Suites Gateway is of the utmost importance to us, and I would like to affirm to you that we will ensure your feedback is addressed diligently.

Kind Regards

Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Was here twice for an very important exam and interview and couldnt have asked for more. It was my first time in Melbourne and the staff were very helpful and friendly with directions. Rooms were clean and very quite at night. Room service food was excellent and arrived almost immediately. I would recommend this hotel for any important business trips!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and the lovely comments about our facilities, rooms, food and service, your feedback is much appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit Melboune.

Best Regards
Kelly Matthews - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Top class apartments, with all mod cons. Even a washer/dryer for the laundry in the modern kitchen. And what a great location. We walked everywhere, even to the MCG to watch a footy game. But if you didn't want to walk, the free tram was very close, and the train station down the road. The hotel restaurant was great with good food and very cheap, good lunches, too. I'd definitely go there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Jan,

Thank you for your comments, we take pride in our feedback and appreciate you taking the time to post your review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I went to Melbourne for our honeymoon and our first holiday together we didn't book our flights or accom until after the wedding so we could see how much we got in our wishing well, we were told to stay at Clarion suites by a friend of mine so we checked it out and got a few prices from a few other places but Clarion was by far the best value for money we have a king bed, 14th floor and views of the river and crown casino. Both my husband and I felt like we wanted to spend all day in the bed because it was by far the most comfortable bed we have both slept in, but we needed to get up and have breakfast at the resturant where we enjoyed buffet breakfast the food was just perfect. The location of the hotel was so convenient for what we were after with the tram stops write out the front and a nice stroll to DFO for some shopping.

The staff were amazing and very helpfully with giving direction. The room was beyond perfect every time we got home from a long day. My husband and I will definitely be visiting Melb again and without a doubt we will be staying at Clarion Suites Gateway!

The staff were all just great from the guy that was cleaning the elevator to the lady's at reception to the girl picking up the dirty room service trays they were such a pleasure to deal with.

Thanks so much Clarion Suites and all the staff for making our honeymoon a holiday to remember :)

Room Tip: Great flame show from crown with views on the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Jaci,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review on Tripadvisor and thank you for your lovely comments this is much appreciated.
The team at Clarion Suites Gateway prides ourselves on our customer service and we are delighted to have helped you celebrate your Honeymoon in Melbourne. We look forward to having the pleasure of your company when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Booked a surprise weekend away for my wifes birthday and had a great time here. The accomodation was first rate,not to mention the free champange on arrival. Very clean, modern and excellent location for tourist and locals. Fabulous facilities and the staff were so helpful. Well done!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Paul,

The team at Clarions Suites Gateway are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that our rooms, facilities and service met your expectations.
We look forward to seeing you return in the future.

Best Regards
Cindy Colliver - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Address: 1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Suites Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.