We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Melbourne hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Suites Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Suites Gateway to your Saves list
Clarion Suites Gateway
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Blossom into Spring
Ranked #30 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very nice Melbourne hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Stayed at the Clarion Suites with my husband for 5 nights early in March. The location is very good and within walking distance to everything. The rooms are very nicely fitted out and the king-size bed is very comfortable. We were in a 1 bedroom riverview suite and the extra space was really good when staying for a few days. The room we had was on the 11th floor and had its own balcony which was nice - good to be able to let fresh air into the room. The only thing I found was that the hotel doesn't really get much sun so on cooler days it tends to feel quite cold there whereas when you walk across the bridge to the Crowne Casino it faces into the sun and its really warm over that side. The only other thing I would say that lets the hotel down is its restaurant. The staff are awsome and the service is brilliant but the food is a little average we thought and after a couple of meals there we chose to dine elsewhere for the rest of our stay. But I would definitely recommend this hotel as being excellent accommodation

Room Tip: Higher floors are great as the view is brilliant and if budget permits the 1bedroom riverview suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

It is most appreciated that you have taken the time to post your review; this truly allows us to monitor our service levels, with the view of dedicating resources in areas where we do not achieve guest satisfaction.

I am glad to hear that overall your experience at our hotel was enjoyable, this is our main focus, and as a follow on I will make your comments available to our team, they will indeed be delighted to experience your welcomed praise. Furthermore the team will be duly recognized under our Star Rewards recognition program.

It would also be a great help to allow our, Executive Chef, to assess food consumed so that it is practical to review items ordered.

Therefore, if at all possible your contact stay details will be most helpful in our follow-up.

Thank you so much for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming back one day soon.

Kind regards,
Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    235
    55
    22
    10
See reviews for
152
250
52
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Had a stay last week in Melbourne as I had to do some Training until late.Bed was comforatable and the room was spotless. We also got a free bottle of wine as part of a package which was chilled. I have stayed here before as our son used to be a chef at this Hotel. Good size flat screen Television with Austar.
I thought it was well located as close to train station, trams and restaurants. Good value for money for a Capital city,

Room Tip: Ask about a view as the rooms with a view are stunning, Melbourne is always beautiful at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear valued guest,
The team at Clarions Suites Gateway are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to seeing you return in the future.

Kind regards,
Kelly Matthews - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stayed for five nights and stay was faultless. Hotel is opposite the Crowne Casino and also nearby Melbourne Aquarium. Free City tram picks up nearby as well and walking distance to main central shops in Melbourne.
Indoor swimming pool was handy.
Breakfast was very good and in particular the attention from friendly waiting staff. Very good stay and recommended.

Room Tip: River facing rooms enable you to see the Casino and the "flames show" each evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your great comments about the hotel location, facilities and the breakfast buffet; it is always a delight to read such positive feedback. We will certainly share this with our kitchen team as we put a lot of effort in ensure we provide fresh and quality products. We look forward to welcoming you back!


Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

Just got home from my stay at Clarion Gateway and I'm really pleased with my stay. I was looking for a centrally located 1br apartment but with full-service features (bar, restaurant) and Clarion delivered. The 1br apartment had everything (except a bath) - it was cosy but elegant and comfortable. Gas cooking, 2 TVs, a tiny balcony for fresh air, a washing machine etc etc. The service was great too. Cafe menu/bar menu was pretty standard, but the service was efficient. Definitely the best combination of value, service and features I've found in Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Dear valued guest,

It has been a great pleasure for us to host you during your last stay in Melbourne. Thank you very much for sharing your experience and for the nice words about our hotel and services. We'll be delighted to serve you again for your future stays in Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

What a lovely, friendly, clean, lace this is.... Could not found a bad word to say about the place.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear Joyce,
Thank you for your feedback; it is always a delight to read such positive feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to post your review and hope that we may see you again in Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Kelly Matthews - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turriff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

The Clarion is in an excellent location for exploring Melbourne. There are fantastic views from front facing rooms of the city and the river. Staff were very helpful, friendly and courteous. Room was spotless and comfortable with handy tea making facilities etc. We thought the washing/drying room was such a practical addition, especially for travellers coming from as far afield as Scotland! Next time we visit Oz we'll pack less and take home more! Hotel Manager took seriously a suggestion on my feedback form and I have had really pleasant contact with hotel personnel since! I would certainly stay at the Clarion again if back in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Higher floors and front facing rooms with a river view are worth asking for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Grace,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Clarion Suites Gateway! We really appreciate your positive comments about our location, room, and staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne with a lighter luggage!

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Hills Estates, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I recently visited from the US with my wife and 2 small children...We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Clarion Suites Gateway...the staff was always friendly and helpful. The room (1 bedroom suite) had an incredible river view, and was very clean and modern. We especially appreciated having the washer/dryer in the unit...when we got home after 2 weeks in Australia, we had bags of clean clothes. Instead of buying the detergent at the front desk for $2/load, we walked to the grocery store and bought a box for $4. The location is excellent...easy to catch public transit and very near the activities. The pool was also great. I can't speak highly enough about our stay, and I would not hesitate to return. The only suggestion that I have for them is to upgrade wireless internet to include the rooms and not just the lobby.

Room Tip: Get one with a washer/dryer if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear ClayKaz,

The team at Clarions Suites Gateway are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. As a measure of improvement we hope to be rolling-out a wi-fi solution this year and we look forward to seeing you return in the future.

Kind regards,
Kelly Matthews - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Address: 1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#42 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Suites Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.