We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Housekeeping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Suites Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Suites Gateway to your Saves list
Clarion Suites Gateway
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% OFF Room Rate
Ranked #26 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Housekeeping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Stayed there last night and found the the room was lovely. We booked this through "Wotif" mystery accommodation. My only let down was the room could have had some more attention. A dirty mug. A dirty and very sticky guest directory book that I looked through. Found a kit kat wrapper on the floor beside the couch. The net curtains did not close completely for privacy even though we were on the 12th floor. Then when we went to bed, found a childs pair of socks on the floor beside the curtains. Most of those you could not miss as we did not.
Over all, it was still a nice place and close to crown. Was just a bit disapointed for $185 for a night. Would I stay there again? Perhaps if I was going to an event at Crown then I would as it is very close.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Clarion Suites Gateway, we appreciate that you have taken the time to write this review. We are disappointed to hear that your visit did not reach full expectations on this occasion.

The quality of service provided at the Clarion Suites Gateway is the utmost importance to us and I would like to assure you that we will ensure your feedback is addressed earnestly with our housekeeping team.

In the event that your travel schedule does bring you back to Melbourne, I would be delighted if you would contact us at info@clarionsuitesgateway.com.au, so that we may have an opportunity in restoring your confidence in our hotel and services.

Regrettably we do not have your contact details as we would like to extend to you a return welcome.

Kind regards,
Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    259
    59
    22
    11
See reviews for
166
281
54
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
2,802 reviews 2,802 reviews
234 hotel reviews
Reviews in 361 cities Reviews in 361 cities
1,337 helpful votes 1,337 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

i had never previously thought of staying in this part of town.
Normally I stay in what is called the "Paris" end o Melbourne within say 1 or 2 blocks of the centre and my favourite shops, laneways and restaurants.
The Clarion was perhaps 5 blocks away but as I had arrived a day early for my committed stay at the Westin and arrived late at night, I took what was available on Wotif.

What a surprise - for perhaps half the price, I had a suite with a view over the Yarra river - a very comfortable room plus separate living and dining room - exceptional value and high quality.

Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade - perhaps a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Dear Ron,

Thank you for your recommendation; it is always a delight to read such positive feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to post your review and looking forward to see you again on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Close to nice parts of the city and easy to get to from the airport. Nice sized room, microwave and mini bar, plus the all important comfy bed :-)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you return in the near future.


Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Each year we travel to Melbourne for either work or pleasure and stay at the Clarion Suites Gateway. Each time for the past 8 years we have had the pleasure of staying at the Clarion Suites Gateway. The accommodation and friendly service is outstanding. The location is close to all attractions and transport is at the door step. The venue is always clean and the staff go out of their way to provide for a very relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Once again thank you to Tony Cakmar and his staff for a wonderful stay in a venue which is a credit to you.

Well done and see you again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Mr Worshott,

Thank you so much for staying with us once again, it is very much appreciated.

You are very kind with your comments, it gives us utmost pleasure that you continue to enjoy your time with us, as this is our very purpose. Your feedback allows us to create a level of engagement so that we are in a position to enhance your stay; we are very much focused in being of service to you and your family.

My very best wishes and remain cordially,

Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Location wise - this hotel is strategically located as it is directly opposite crown casino and abt 5 mins walk from flinders station. The service you get from this hotel is good - no complain. The room is very clean and of a good size with a great view of the southbank and the river. The bed is soft and the pillow is comfortable enough. The bathroom is a bit small but that is about the only compain about the bathroom. Breakfast selection and quality is average only as there are not many things to choose from. 2 minor complaints - the room does not come with a safe and there is no free wifi. Overall, i would say this hotel provide a very good value for the price you are paying - a very clean and efficient business hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our strategic location, comfortable bed and we must agree that our view from the rooms is one of the best in Melbourne. We regret to hear that the breakfast options were not to the standards you’d expect and we are already planning a concept of design of our next refurbishment program that will address some of the concerns raised in your review. Hope to see you in Melbourne again!


Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

This was our third stay and the least impressive. That’s not to say we didn’t enjoy the stay but there were several things that were irritating. Let’s start with the good things.

The staff – the “normal” staff are what makes this hotel stand out. By “normal” I mean the staff who are not front desk managers. With the exception of Viviana, who is just a gem, the managers are unimpressive and not friendly. At times they gave me the impression that I was imposing on them when asking for directions etc. Oliver, on the front desk, is very polite and professional, and the girls in the restaurant, Isabel, Maria and Dinah, are wonderfully friendly. So was Miao who brought us room service one night.

Location – great, only five minutes from Flinders Street Station, 10 from Southern Cross/Spencer St, five minutes from the Coles in Elizabeth Street, 10 minutes from the Bourke St mall and right outside are several tram lines and the aquarium. There are several restaurants nearby if you want takeaway. Depending on your room you can see Southbank and the fire display every hour at night.

Breakfast – included in our rate but reasonably priced if it’s not. Full range of hot and cold foods, eggs cooked how you like, pancakes made fresh to order, yoghurt, fruit, pastries etc. The coffee is pretty average though.

Mid-week drinks – this is the first time we have been at the hotel when they have had their weekly drinks. Held on a Wednesday or Thursday night, management invite all guests to come to the bar for drinks and savouries for about an hour. Tony, the General Manager, is there and is quite friendly. (He also mans the front desk at times and always has a smile on his face.) At the end a lucky door prize is given – a hotel polo shirt!

Join the One William Club (free) before you go as there are some advantages.

The annoying things this time:

This was our third stay and we were given the same room as last time – 7011, a one-bedroom suite on one of the lower floors. We stayed for a week and spent over $1500, and as repeat customers I think we should have been given a higher floor. The hotel was far from busy. As it was winter the huge tree outside the window was leafless so we could at least see out. The room itself is a bit tired – peeling paint in the kitchen, missing light switches and dimmers that don’t work properly.

The most annoying thing this time was the pillows. They no longer have any feather pillows, due to “health regulations”, so there is just the one type of pillow. It’s rather bulky and hard, even when you take the cover off. A hotel of this standing should have at least two types of pillows. It took two days and three managers to tell me they didn’t have any other pillows. The bed is great though.

The morning paper wasn’t delivered the first two days, despite a reminder after the first day. They made up for it though but giving us two papers for the rest of our stay.

We got room service one night, using the $50 voucher from our previous stay, and my wife’s steak came well done after being ordered medium. They promptly came and got it, gave us a cheese plate for our troubles, and cooked a new steak. They then checked on how this steak was cooked. Again, good service.

We filled in a feedback form and put it in the box upon checkout. That was July and it’s now nearly February and we haven’t heard from the Tony, the General Manager. After our two previous stays he would address our comments in a letter and include a $50 food and beverage voucher for next time, but we are still waiting this time. Perhaps he didn’t want to write to us anymore.

Would we stay here again? For what we are after, a one-bedroom suite with kitchen, laundry etc, you can’t really go past the Clarion. Check ubid4rooms and sometimes their prices are cheaper even though the hotel actually controls the ubid4rooms prices. There are just some things that the hotel could improve on.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

How wonderful to know that you are still thinking of us, thank you also for your feedback again, via Tripadvisor.

I do apologies that our follow-up communication after your latest stay did not reach you.

We are all particularly impressed that you have recalled by name a few of our team; this is delightful I will ensure that the team members are recognized under our Star Rewards program.

Your comments do indeed help us to improve the services and facilities which we offer; I would like to assure you that our focus is to enhance the guest experience, and this is only possible through dialog, we do sincerely appreciate that you have taken the time in letting us know.

As a measure of improvement we hope to be rolling-out a wi-fi solution this year, and improved breakfast selections, based on a slightly different presentation service method & system, you will also be pleased to know that we have changed our coffee brand, and to date the feedback in this regard has been positive.

At times it is a challenge to facilitate a higher floor, due to demand, and during this period, the city was experiencing volume convention business and inspired AFL games, however I would like to assure you that we have noted your preference for a higher floor for future stays.

Regrettably due to potential guest allergic reaction concerns we have opted to select a new 900gram micro fill non allergic pillow, and have had good comments in relation to this selection.

We will also be updating our in-room information, and we are exploring digital solution, which may be viewed through the TV, however, I believe that you may have some concerns in relation to the content, and we would again appreciate your comments concerning this matter.

Thank you so much for the follow-up, I do look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.

Kind Regards

Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We recently stayed in a one bedroom riverview suite at the Clarion. The suite had fantastic views across to the southbank and up towards Flinders St station. The room had everything that we needed for our stay and the bed was so comfortable. We have stayed at the Clarion several times before and have always found it to be consistent in regards to cleanliness and service. It is in a very convenient location with the southbank and the city centre only short walks away.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Dear valued guest,

We’re so pleased to hear that our location and room meet all your business travel needs. Comfort is of the utmost importance, especially while traveling, and we’re happy to hear you found our bed so comfortable. We’d like to thank you for your patronage and we hope to welcome you back for another stay very soon!

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Address: 1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Suites Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.