We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great rooms, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Suites Gateway

Save Saved
You added Clarion Suites Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Suites Gateway
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Warm Up For Winter
Ranked #25 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great staff, great rooms, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here for the Boxing Day Test at the MCG. Booking over the phone was easy and staff were so friendly and helpful. Very easy to drive to and parking was great. Room was a lovely corner suite (room 1321).... Took our 9 mnthbaby and was plenty of space and AMAZING views of the Yarra. Breakfast was lovely, hotel very clean...nothing negative to say...thank you to Florian and Chloe for making the stay extra special.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Dear Bobby,
Thank you for your feedback; it is always a delight to read such positive feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to post your review and looking forward to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Cindy Colliver - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    372
    219
    52
    20
    10
See reviews for
151
242
51
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

The Clarion is probably a mid-tier business hotel. The lobby is not great, the carpets are tired and the hotel needs an update. The room I had was nice, good size and quite liveable. What made the room special was the excellent views to Southbank and the Crown Complex.

I would recommend the hotel for business travellers not interested in paying Hilton/Hyatt prices or even for couples for a weekend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Dear valued guest,
Thank you so much for your feedback, it has now been 4 years since we completed refurbishment and we are already planning a concept of design of our next refurbishment program. Therefore in due course, we will seek recommendations from our guest so that we taken to account guest preferences. It is very important to us that our guests are comfortable and enjoy their time during their stay with us.

Thank you for choosing your stay with Clarion Suites Gateway and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Recently stayed 3 nights in a 1 bedroom apartment with my wife and 2 small children. The room was very clean and well appointed. Having 2 small children, the excellent kitchen enabled us to cook and prepare meals as required. The location was perfect near the Southbank precinct and a short stroll to the City. With Southern Cross Station and Flinders Street Station within 15 minutes walking distance, trains/buses were easily accessible and useful. William Street Cafe near reception was fabulous and provided excellent food. Kids eat free and 15% discount coupons to guests was well received and extremely useful. The buffet breakfast included in our deal for 1 morning was enjoyed. The pool was oustanding and well used. Gym vouchers up the street at an external location was of some interest. I recommend a river view room although our view was ok. We have stayed in a number of apartments in the area and this location was well received by our family.

Room Tip: River view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Dear Rob Danielle,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel, it is always lovely to receive positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Clarions Suites Gateway in the near future.

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Family event for which we booked 3 Riverview rooms. Reservation, check-in and checkout processes were simple and painless. (They made us feel welcome at all stages) We honestly had no negatives with any aspect of our stay, the room, location, restaurant, and especially the friendly staff were all excellent. It is located within walking distance of Melbourne proper and the railway station, Southbank is a short walk across the bridge (our function was in the Crowne Ballroom so we were able to walk to and from the event no taxis). View was nice especially in the evening, rooms were well appointed and clean.
A good place to stay, we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Get a Riverview room, great night time views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Dear Guest,

It is pleasing to receive positive feedback and I’m glad you enjoyed the location and hospitality, may we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Clarion Suites Gateway onyour next visit to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights booked by travel agent. Hotel is very close to Melbourne Aquarium and Crown Casino. Rooms are tired and in need of an upgrade. It was overpriced for what was offered even taking "Melbourne" into account. Daily housekeeping service of the room was poor at best. Mattress was lumpy and had seen better days - with a mountain in the middle!

The breakfast restaurant was very poor. Seems to be run and operated by Chinese staff with little understanding of the English language. I watched one client ask for a tax invoice, told to wait and then ushered outside the door to her waiting taxi! It was actually hilarious! But the service was poor and the food standard (buffet) very rough.

Will avoid in future and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Clarion Suites Gateway, we appreciate that you have taken the time to post this review.
We are disappointed to hear that your visit did not reach full expectations, and we offer you our sincere apologies for the inconvenience or disappointment that you experienced.

Thank you for sharing your valuable and mostly constructive comments, it will allow us to focus on the areas which require immediate improvements.

Unfortunately, since we introduced for added guest comfort, a lofty mattress topper, it appears according to some guest commentary that a small percentage of guests do not enjoy this loft feel, therefore, we will continue to monitor this situation and make an informed decision of removal if it proves necessary. The beds are designed and manufactured by Sealy, and relatively new, we are conscious of the importance of a good nights rest. As a matter of interest we completed full refurbishment during 2007.

Our hotel and I would suggest most all hotels enjoy and are proud of their multi-cultural team; we are an equal opportunity employer and welcome all new comers to our shores. Although, we only have one Chinese team member during our breakfast period, it is with regret to hear this characterization of this nationality and the other team members. The richness that a multi-cultural society has brought to our country is immense, and the fluency of the English language is only a matter of time and practice.

Due to the nature of food buffets, and the exposure of food for prolonged periods of heat, there may be occasions when the buffet items are not as moist as we would like it to be; therefore as an option we offer a-la-minute prepared dishes, so that your breakfast may be freshly prepared.

In closing we take this opportunity in thanking you for your patronage, and in the event that your travels bring you back to Melbourne, we would welcome the opportunity in endeavouring greatly to restore your confidence in our hotel.
My office is at your disposal.

Kind regards

Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Firstly let me state that the luck that befell us probably won't happen to everyone, but the fact that it happened to us left me with a great impression of the hotel.
I had a booked a 1BR Riverview suite for a night out on the town. When checking in I was told that we were being given a special room, the penthouse on the top floor!!!!! 3BR 2.5 bathroom, huge lounge, dining, kitchen, spa bath, amazing views - too bad it was just the 2 of us!
We just chilled and enjoyed everything. We have never stayed in a penthouse before and unless this happens again, probably won't again, so I can't comment on whether the penthouse is truly luxurious or not. For us it was more than fine, the bed was super comfy and it was all nice and clean.
We had breakfast downstairs at the buffet - that was nothing special, but otherwise our night out was fantastic.
Thanks to Thomas on the desk and all whoever chose us for the upgrade.

Room Tip: Get a riverview room - the night view of the river and flame throwers at Crown Casino are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Dear hrundi,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and please know that your feedback will be given to our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

i have stayed at the Clarion Gateway in Melbourne over 20 times and have received excellent service on every occassion. The location is great and the services even better.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Dear Grant G,
We are thrilled to hear that you have stayed with us for 20 over times and thank you for your compliment on our location and services. We'll be delighted to serve you again for your future stays in Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Kelly Matthews - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Address: 1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Suites Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.