We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Suites Gateway

Save Saved
You added Clarion Suites Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Suites Gateway
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Warm Up For Winter
Ranked #25 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Family event for which we booked 3 Riverview rooms. Reservation, check-in and checkout processes were simple and painless. (They made us feel welcome at all stages) We honestly had no negatives with any aspect of our stay, the room, location, restaurant, and especially the friendly staff were all excellent. It is located within walking distance of Melbourne proper and the railway station, Southbank is a short walk across the bridge (our function was in the Crowne Ballroom so we were able to walk to and from the event no taxis). View was nice especially in the evening, rooms were well appointed and clean.
A good place to stay, we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Get a Riverview room, great night time views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Dear Guest,

It is pleasing to receive positive feedback and I’m glad you enjoyed the location and hospitality, may we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Clarion Suites Gateway onyour next visit to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    371
    217
    52
    20
    10
See reviews for
150
242
51
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buderim, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights booked by travel agent. Hotel is very close to Melbourne Aquarium and Crown Casino. Rooms are tired and in need of an upgrade. It was overpriced for what was offered even taking "Melbourne" into account. Daily housekeeping service of the room was poor at best. Mattress was lumpy and had seen better days - with a mountain in the middle!

The breakfast restaurant was very poor. Seems to be run and operated by Chinese staff with little understanding of the English language. I watched one client ask for a tax invoice, told to wait and then ushered outside the door to her waiting taxi! It was actually hilarious! But the service was poor and the food standard (buffet) very rough.

Will avoid in future and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Clarion Suites Gateway, we appreciate that you have taken the time to post this review.
We are disappointed to hear that your visit did not reach full expectations, and we offer you our sincere apologies for the inconvenience or disappointment that you experienced.

Thank you for sharing your valuable and mostly constructive comments, it will allow us to focus on the areas which require immediate improvements.

Unfortunately, since we introduced for added guest comfort, a lofty mattress topper, it appears according to some guest commentary that a small percentage of guests do not enjoy this loft feel, therefore, we will continue to monitor this situation and make an informed decision of removal if it proves necessary. The beds are designed and manufactured by Sealy, and relatively new, we are conscious of the importance of a good nights rest. As a matter of interest we completed full refurbishment during 2007.

Our hotel and I would suggest most all hotels enjoy and are proud of their multi-cultural team; we are an equal opportunity employer and welcome all new comers to our shores. Although, we only have one Chinese team member during our breakfast period, it is with regret to hear this characterization of this nationality and the other team members. The richness that a multi-cultural society has brought to our country is immense, and the fluency of the English language is only a matter of time and practice.

Due to the nature of food buffets, and the exposure of food for prolonged periods of heat, there may be occasions when the buffet items are not as moist as we would like it to be; therefore as an option we offer a-la-minute prepared dishes, so that your breakfast may be freshly prepared.

In closing we take this opportunity in thanking you for your patronage, and in the event that your travels bring you back to Melbourne, we would welcome the opportunity in endeavouring greatly to restore your confidence in our hotel.
My office is at your disposal.

Kind regards

Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Firstly let me state that the luck that befell us probably won't happen to everyone, but the fact that it happened to us left me with a great impression of the hotel.
I had a booked a 1BR Riverview suite for a night out on the town. When checking in I was told that we were being given a special room, the penthouse on the top floor!!!!! 3BR 2.5 bathroom, huge lounge, dining, kitchen, spa bath, amazing views - too bad it was just the 2 of us!
We just chilled and enjoyed everything. We have never stayed in a penthouse before and unless this happens again, probably won't again, so I can't comment on whether the penthouse is truly luxurious or not. For us it was more than fine, the bed was super comfy and it was all nice and clean.
We had breakfast downstairs at the buffet - that was nothing special, but otherwise our night out was fantastic.
Thanks to Thomas on the desk and all whoever chose us for the upgrade.

Room Tip: Get a riverview room - the night view of the river and flame throwers at Crown Casino are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Dear hrundi,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and please know that your feedback will be given to our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

i have stayed at the Clarion Gateway in Melbourne over 20 times and have received excellent service on every occassion. The location is great and the services even better.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Dear Grant G,
We are thrilled to hear that you have stayed with us for 20 over times and thank you for your compliment on our location and services. We'll be delighted to serve you again for your future stays in Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Kelly Matthews - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

For $200 a night i was disappointed with bath towels changed evry two days. On one ocassion one of the towels was badly torn. Cleaning was very late in the afternoon. Lifts needed cleaning.Good location.Had to complain about early check in as the couple we went with where checked in immediately and we where told we would have to wait about an hour. After a few comments from me this was resolved but we did not get thwe room we expected.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Thank you so much for your feedback.

We do sincerely apologise that on this occasion your expectations were not fulfilled, this is indeed regrettable.

For clarity purposes, if I may kindly respond to your comments so that any potential misunderstanding will be addressed to your satisfaction.

All linen & towelling services are provided by an external service, and I would like to assure you that we will monitor the quality of the towels more effectively; generally in our experience the current provider is very conscious of delivering quality product items to our hotel.

In line with our hotel environmental sustainability program, and as per the notice in the room, towels are replaced if the towel is discarded on shower/bath floor, however, we do understand that some guests prefer replacement during every service, therefore, it would assist to demonstrate this to our team, which will be greatly appreciated.

Although, I understand your sentiments in relation to early check-in before 2pm, it is at times very challenging to facilitate this process, as there would be multiple reasons why another guest is given access sooner.

This is very much dependant on the specific room type booked, and we have 6 room types, therefore, the perception of jumping the queue, so to speak, is not quite valid, more so, if the room type which was booked has been vacated, it allows access to our housekeeping team.

At times guests who do not wish to wait, forgo the room type booked, therefore, another room option is offered, although, I am unaware of what transpired in this particular instance.

In closing we take this opportunity in thanking you for your patronage, and in the event that your travels bring you back to Melbourne, we would welcome the opportunity in endeavouring greatly to restore your confidence in our hotel.
My office is at your disposal.

Kind regards

Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deniliquin, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Stayed twice recently. Once with family for a shopping weekend. Close to shops and husband and kids went swimming in the hotel pool. We all loved the buffet breakfast.
Then a perfect location for business conference with a short work to the Casino were the conference was held.
Very quiet rooms.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear Leanne,
It is pleasing to read that our hotel met your expectations, we are a family friendly Hotel with spacious rooms to accommodate families of all sizes. Our location is indeed very convenient and close to various conferences venues like Crown and MCEC. It is kind of you to highlight our breakfast. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us I look forward to welcoming you back to Clarion Suites Gateway in the future.

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights for work reasons. Hotel well located as able to walk to City, Casino, Docklands, DFO and restaurants. City Tram very close by for free travel around city. Room spacious and clean, kitchen well equipped. Had Buffet breakfast one day, good variety of choice and wait attendants kept food well stocked. Discount coupons given on arrival for restaurant and breakfast. Room service from restaurant one night, food hot, delivered quite fast and just about too much for us to eat. Bed very comfortable and bedroom was double glazed which helped the traffic/train noise. Extra TV in bedroom of 0ne bedroom suite. Overall pleasant stay as front of house staff helpful on check in and checkout.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
It is pleasing to receive positive feedback and I’m glad you enjoyed the location, room features and service, may we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Clarion Suites Gateway when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Address: 1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Suites Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.