We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Suites Gateway

Save Saved
You added Clarion Suites Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clarion Suites Gateway
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Warm Up For Winter
Ranked #26 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here for a romantic weekend in the city - clean rooms, good service & great location! Worth the stay for close to city!!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear springcleaner,
The team at Clarions Suites Gateway are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to seeing you return in the future.

Kind regards,
Cindy Colliver - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    375
    223
    52
    20
    10
See reviews for
152
243
51
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Have stayed here previously about 2 years ago. It was as good this time as it was last time. Rooms are modern and clean. The Reception desk can get busy sometimes so you need to remember that if you are checking out and you are in a hurry. Cost to use the Internet is OK. The hotel is in a very good location with central Melbourne on one side and the Casino and Southbank on the other side. This is my hotel of choice when I stay in Melbourne.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Dear Ricky_T,
Thank you for staying with Clarion Suites Gateway a second time, and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I appreciate your patience with the front desk at peak hours and I assure you that our front office is at their utmost performance to provide a smooth check in/out for all guests. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you return in the future.

Kind regards,
Kelly Matthews - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

My family of 5 (3 little kids 6 years-old and under) stay in Melbourne city about 2-3 times per year. Ordinarily, we spend our time together going shopping, eating out and seeing what Melbourne has to offer. Consequently, this usually sees my wife and I spending our night in our apartment after the kids have gone to bed and we usually choose an apartment where we can feel at home. Quay West Suites in Southbank is normally our first choice.

However, in June 2011 we were unable to secure a two-bedroom suite at Quay West and so we booked the Clarion Suites. The purpose of this stay was a little different and we didn’t spend much time in the actual apartment. The first impression for Clarion Suites is not great. The whole place could do with a facelift and the carpark (as stated by other reviewers) is not user friendly. However, the location suited us perfectly and our view across the river was very good.

Our first impression of the room was much better. Although a little tired and basic, the rooms were clean and suitable for a family of five on the move. The two-bedroom configuration is similar to many two-bedroom apartments with two rooms being joined by an interconnecting entrance and the second room has enough room for 3 kids (although our youngest stayed in a port-a-cot in our room and that was a little tight). The kitchen area is fine for one night although the dining area is very small.

By comparison, Quay West offers a bigger suite and is definitely better overall due to is décor, car parking facilities and other guest services but it is also approx. $AU200 more expensive per night. I concluded that, Clarion Suites is probably best suited to families that are on the move and trying to take in as much as of Melbourne as possible. It is cheaper than others, clean, has a relatively good location (particularly if you’re spending your time around Southbank and the Aquarium) and, if you’re not spending a great deal of time in the apartment, it is comparatively quite good value.

Room Tip: It may be worth asking for rooms that are higher to avoid being too close to the rail bridge situate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Dear Derm21,
It is pleasing to read that our room met your expectations, we are a family friendly Hotel with spacious rooms to accommodate families of all sizes, as well as small groups of friends. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us I look forward to welcoming you back to Clarion Suites Gateway in the future.

Kind regards,
Kelly Matthews - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We sayed here for our honeymoon in one of the suites. It was in need of a refurb and the staff were not very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for the opportunity in being of service to you during your stay in Melbourne, this is well appreciated.

Foremost, I do extend my apologies for not being able to satisfy all your expectations, particularly on this special occasion which was your honeymoon, this is truly regrettable we are troubled by this very fact. Although, our team did endeavour to offer you our very best accommodation our efforts were not duly recognized, which is a great pity, as we would have enjoyed so much to keep you & your wife happy on this momentous occasion.

The information which has been made available to me in relation to this matter, I hope allows me to have a say, so that incremental aspects are considered and that the undertaking is open & transparent. As a matter of interest & for clarity purposes, I would like to talk about hotel rates based on a platform which is very much dynamic in today’s environment, and subject to demand, in particular during this period of your stay, as result of the” Melbourne Cup Racing Carnival” rates achieve up to 50-80% appreciation on standard base rates, therefore, it is a costly experience. A Deluxe standard hotel rate would have been upward from $550 per night in Melbourne during this period. We do indeed appreciate that discerning travellers have a preference to stay in a Deluxe standard hotel, as you have alluded to our team on check in, we recognize and appreciate that we would not be able to compete with this category, nor have we attempted to do so.

According to your last four review contributions, only one hotel received praise, which was a Deluxe category, the other 3 contributions of a lesser standard including our hotel received a negative review. I construe and hope that that this is accurate, in that, you are a discerning traveller and appreciate the very best.

Therefore, I feel that we have been harshly and unfairly reviewed, based on the endeavour that we attempted to offer you our very best, however, albeit not a Deluxe standard.

We are confident in our value proposition and we encourage our future guests to visit our website and take the opportunity to do a Virtual Tour of the Hotel and view all our rooms & suites.

Thank you once again for your patronage; it is with regret that we were not in a position make your stay a memorable experience.

In closing my I offer you both our best wishes in a life of joy, love & happiness.

Remain cordially,

Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We chose the Clarion from those listed by the Pharmaceutical Society and couldn't be more satisfied.It is close to all that we needed and from the moment we registered all the staff were helpful and courteous.When housekeeping was requested the member of staff was at our suite within 5 minutes.We will certainly stay again next year.

Room Tip: ask for room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Dear jeanette s,

Thank you for your feedback; it is always a delight to read such positive feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to post your review and looking forward to see you again next year.

Kind regards,
Cindy Colliver - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I have stayed at Clarion Suites Gateway on more that one occasino and the standard only improves. The suites are excellently located, always clean and beautifully presented with all amenities. Staff are courteous, professional and friendly simultaneously. I intend to say at Clarion Suites Gateway, every time I travel to Melbourne.

Room Tip: Rooms facing William Street and Flinders Street have good views over Southbank and the Arts Centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Dear Paul,

The team at Clarions Suites Gateway are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to seeing you return in the future.

Kind regards,
Cindy Colliver - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

My partner and I had an amazing stay at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The location is very handy and we were able to walk 2 minutes down the road to access the station or walk to shops and restarants and a then take a short walk to the casino and dfo department store. Why wouldnt you stay here? Our room was clean and modern and we could even put on a quick wash, thank you for a lovely stay, we will be back.

Room Tip: We booked on wotif and it came with a bottle of wine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Address: 1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Otel, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Suites Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.