We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Suites Gateway

Save Saved
You added Clarion Suites Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clarion Suites Gateway
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Warm Up For Winter
Ranked #25 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Service was excellent. Front desk staff were very polite and courteous. The room we chose was the suite with balcony over looking the yarra river and circular quay. The room had a small kitchen which was fully equipped, bathroom was resonably spacious, dont expect marble bathroom, but was still nice with clean towels and amenities. Washing machine in a small laundrette inside bathroom which is excellent for ppl staying longer. Room service was fantastic, very quick, and very delicious! I would definitely stay there again, just walking distance to everything. I joined their membership club soon after checking out. I filled out their hotel stay survey and received a gift voucher to their downstairs restaurant!

Room Tip: We had room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    372
    219
    52
    20
    10
See reviews for
151
242
51
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

We have stayed in many hotels but find the Clarion Suites Gateway to be a good moderately priced hotel with modern and clean rooms and excellent amenities.

The service is friendly and courteous and the location is convenient to many attractions. The heated swimming pool is excellent for young children as it is not very deep.

We would happily recommend this hotel to others and would choose this hotel if staying in the city again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011 via mobile

Great view of river and casino. Good hotel and great staff Can get some noise from trains as they pass. Close to cbd and easy parking. Prices have jumped up this year. Sadly better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lakes, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed here for the second time (one week last year and 8 nights this year) and on both occasions we booked a 1 bedroom riverview deluxe suite which was ideal for our requirements. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the room was always clean and we appreciated finding the teas and coffees and bathroom toiletries etc. topped up every day. We liked the location, an easy short walk into the heart of the city and just across the river from South Bank and the Casino complex. We were very comfortable here and will be staying here again. We would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

try for upper floors as view is great over the yarra river and casino.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

Only stayed one night, while attending a conference at the Melbourne Convention Centre. Centrally located, a short walk to the convention centre, and close to the city centre for having a nice look around in my spare time. Staff were very lovely and welcoming. The room was very clean and spacious, and had lovely view of the river. My only comment was the vanity for the bathroom could have been bigger. A very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooroopna, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

I found Clarion Suites Apartments staff to be so welcoming and friendly making us all feel welcomed and invited. My children were greeted kindly and my husband and I felt very comfortable talking to the staff ranging from room service, front desk and restaurant. I didn't realise how close it was to Crown Casino and at a fraction of the price of other hotels nearby. I will definitely be staying there again! Thanks again Clarion Suites and especially Thomas he was awesome!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Address: 1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Otel, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Suites Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.