We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views on river side” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Suites Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Suites Gateway to your Saves list
Clarion Suites Gateway
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% OFF Room Rate
Ranked #30 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne
Level Contributor
229 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great views on river side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

Great view of river and casino. Good hotel and great staff Can get some noise from trains as they pass. Close to cbd and easy parking. Prices have jumped up this year. Sadly better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    277
    64
    22
    12
See reviews for
177
292
57
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Lakes, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed here for the second time (one week last year and 8 nights this year) and on both occasions we booked a 1 bedroom riverview deluxe suite which was ideal for our requirements. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the room was always clean and we appreciated finding the teas and coffees and bathroom toiletries etc. topped up every day. We liked the location, an easy short walk into the heart of the city and just across the river from South Bank and the Casino complex. We were very comfortable here and will be staying here again. We would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

try for upper floors as view is great over the yarra river and casino.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

Only stayed one night, while attending a conference at the Melbourne Convention Centre. Centrally located, a short walk to the convention centre, and close to the city centre for having a nice look around in my spare time. Staff were very lovely and welcoming. The room was very clean and spacious, and had lovely view of the river. My only comment was the vanity for the bathroom could have been bigger. A very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooroopna, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

I found Clarion Suites Apartments staff to be so welcoming and friendly making us all feel welcomed and invited. My children were greeted kindly and my husband and I felt very comfortable talking to the staff ranging from room service, front desk and restaurant. I didn't realise how close it was to Crown Casino and at a fraction of the price of other hotels nearby. I will definitely be staying there again! Thanks again Clarion Suites and especially Thomas he was awesome!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnie, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

I found this hotel to be in the perfect location for both entertainment and shopping in Melbourne. The staff could not do enough and even though we arrived way before book in time in Melbourne they took care of our luggage while we went shopping and upon our return it was in our room. If you stay pay a few extra dollars and get a river view room as the view of the southbank fire colums was spectacular.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangaratta, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

The staff at Clarion Suites Gateway, once again surprised us by upgrading our stay to the Penthouse! We were absolutely flabbergasted by the service, standard and sleep quality at the hotel! The hotel is situated across the road from the Aquarium, near the Crown casino and within walking distanc eof Meblounre Central. What a pleasure to stay there when one has to go to Melbourne for business OR pleasure. Thanks again to the staff at Clarion Suites Gateway!

Erika Lombard

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quay West Suites Melbourne
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#7 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 758 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#22 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Address: 1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Suites Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.