We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ovolo Laneways

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ovolo Laneways to your Saves list
Ovolo Laneways
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Deal - 25% OFF
Ranked #35 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“An interesting find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This hotel was quite a find. The location in Melbourne is terrific, close to everything and transport on the doorstep for ventures a little further afield than the CBD. The staff were really helpful and friendly with recommendations on places to eat and how to get around.
It is trying to be very trendy and “young” – we were certainly the oldest guests there the weekend we visited (in our 40s) and we found it to be a bit “over designed with “features” for features sake. A very young vibe, at adult prices
The upsides:
- They have some really lovely touches. Even though the mini bar is basic – it is free and restocked daily
- They provide a “loot bag” with some snacks
- They have free wifi – great for posting my photos taken during the day
- Breakfast works well in what is a rather confined lobby and is a good solution to what might otherwise be an issue.
- Location is wonderful - however, our view was of the brick wall behind over the bin alley – made it feel very closed in when in the room – guess that’s part of being on the 1st floor in the city
-
On the downside:
- The furniture seems cheap and the basics were not there….the walls were very scuffed and it needed a paint job in the room.
- The rug under the bed was of no use, and in fact was a trip hazard – we flattened it out on the first night, came back from our day out to find it has been put back with ridges in it as it didn’t fit the room or situation.
- The bathroom was on the small side – the bathroom sink was ridiculous – you couldn’t even lean over it to clean your teeth properly
- The lifts were cranky – and the key cards very temperamental
- Noise – from plumbing and AC units outside

Room Tip: Try and be high and try not to be at the back of the buillding
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Nice2Know2,

Greetings from the Ovolo Hotel Melbourne!

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the hotel and liked the small offerings of mini bar, loot bag and breakfast. The Internet is always a plus and we are happy include this on the room as we are all about effortless living here at the hotel.

Regarding the furnishings and wear and tear. I have taken this on board and I am happy to disclose that the Ovolo is going through a small soft refurbishment in the coming months which will include repainting of halls and in rooms. We are very much looking forward to the freshen up and hope you can return later in the year to check out all the new and fresh rooms.

Safe Travels,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    153
    45
    17
    11
See reviews for
86
193
36
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Love that everything is very no frills here. Free minibar (which is fairly limited - water, juice, beer and white wine), breakfast pastries available in the lobby, free wifi and local calls. No surprise charges when you check out.

Great location for close proximity to the central business district of Melbourne. We visited to attend the Australian Open and this was a very easy walk to Melbourne Park (20 minutes at most).

One of the few options we found that had rooms that would sleep more than 2 adults. Offered 2 bedroom suites for a reasonable price.

Front desk staff was mostly very helpful. Sven was great and willing to help with any questions or needs. We bookended our trip to Australia at this hotel and were able to leave some of our bags at the hotel while we traveled around which was great. When we returned, they had already put them in our room.

Little Bourke street is a quiet street, so not much worry about noise, but there was one night where there were several teenagers hanging out in the alley outside of our room, so a higher floor is preferable. As far as I could tell, no rooms in this hotel would have much of a view.

The bathroom was definitely the drawback of this hotel. Very small sink/vanity and a shower with no door which did cause the bathroom to get fairly wet. You could not have more than one person in this bathroom at a time.

I would definitely stay here again on another trip to Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly O, Guest Services Supervisor at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear ndesplat,

Greetings from the Ovolo Hotel Melbourne.

It was a pleasure having you at our hotel and I myself and my colleagues are happy to hear that we were of assistance with all your queries and needs.

Also, I am glad you loved our free Ovolo 'goodies' as we much as we do.

I am sorry to hear that you were woken up by some external noise in the alley one night. I am sure however that you understand being a CBD property, we do not have any influence about what sometimes happens around us.

I do hope that you come back and visit us again sometime. This year will be very exciting for us with upgrades to the property happening from head to toe. This enables us to offer guests an even more pleasurable stay.

Feel free to contact me directly for a great offer on your next stay.

I hope you had a good return to the states.

Regards,

Sven Thiele
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Great location near plenty of restaurants, free downtown shuttle and Chinatown. You can walk to practically all sites of interest. Cool decoration. It's more an appartment than a hotel, there's a mini fridge and micro-wave. It feels very cozy. They provide free water, juices, tea, coffee in lobby & in your room. In the morning they provide free & excellent pastries. Free Wi-Fi in your room. They also have a laundry room for guests (they provide detergent). Staff is very helpful. Exceptional little hotel.

We stayed a week and were awakened twice early in the morning by the sound of garbage trucks but really that's the only negative point.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear kevandcatt,

Greetings from the Ovolo Hotel Melbourne!

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to see that you felt the property was original and catered to your needs whilst at the hotel.

There are some small areas of change that we are looking at here at the hotel, noise and functionality so hopefully once they are amended you should return and give a true thumbs up!

All the best and thank you again for such a great review.

Regards,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed in the Ovolo Melbourne for 6 nights in January. Check in was fast and efficient. Room was spacious, clean and tidy. Walk in shower was great but as other peole have mentioned the wash basin is rediculously small. The free mini bar and happy hour is a great little touch and the grab and go breakfast was great for our busy agenda whilst we were in Melbourne. Also the free coffee machine in the foyer was great for a good quality coffee with breakfast and when returning to the hotel. The staff were always helpful and courtious helping us with directions and booking our return bus to the airport for us. Next time we are in Melbourne we will definately return to the Ovolo. As metioned by other people the sound proofing is not the best and you can hear outher people moving around sometimes but this was not a problem for us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear kevandcatt,

Greetings from the Ovolo Hotel Melbourne!

Thank you for taking the time to share your Ovolo experience with Trip Advisor.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Ovolo. It sounds like you had a busy time in Melbourne so I hope you got to see everything that our fabulous city has to offer. We were after all voted "best city in the world"

We are looking forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

What a fabulous hotel and such lovely lovely staff and such great attention to little details- loot bag, grab and go breakfast, free mini bar, awesome furniture and decor- fabulous!

Great location- restaurants, cafes, nail salons nearby!! :)

All our friends in other rooms absolutely loved it too. It was such a great place to get ready for a wedding! We ladies loved it!

I would highly recommend the ovolo to everyone!

Thank you!!

Julia

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Julzandspanks,

Greetings from the Ovolo Hotel Melbourne!

Thank you for taking the time to share your Ovolo experience with Trip Advisor.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that the staff were fantastic. I must say, feedback from Tuesday morning was that you were a wonderful bunch.

We would love to have you all back at the hotel and hope to see you soon.

Congrats on the wedding also I heard it was a beautiful day!

Regards,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valla beach
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

The Ovolo is a good location to access Transport and China Town, the complimentary bar fridge is ok but in room 406 the fridge only cooled to 11 degrees so the beer wasn't cold. The free grab and go breakfast is ok if you are not GF as it is all pastry and muffins.
Generally the staff are good however one was less than helpful and didn't seem to want to leave whatever he was doing on the laptop? Sven on the other hand was excellent!!
The vanity basin in the bathroom is a head butter and poorly designed. Overall though a good hotel reasonably priced. Others complained of noise but in room 406 this was not an issue.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Greg M,

Greetings from the Ovolo Hotel Melbourne!

Thank you for taking the time to share your Ovolo experience with Trip Advisor.

I am glad to hear that you liked the location of the hotel. We love this end of the city and enjoy hearing that guests are getting out and about and discovering all the hidden gems close by.

I will also pass on praises to Sven, he is pretty wonderful so I am glad to hear you thought so also. I will however speak with his colleague regarding the dismissal of good customer service. I am hoping it was simply the Melbourne heat that got to some of the team as this is not their usual behavior.

Also, regarding the Grab N Go breakfast. If you are returning to the hotel in the near future please advise staff of any dietary requirements as we can arrange Gluten Free options for guests. Still, I am sorry you experienced this.

I hope to see you return to the hotel and experience a few little extras that on this last stay may have been lacking.

Regards,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Very disappointed . Unbelievably noisy and the hotel had run out of earplugs! It depends on which night of the week you stay, so you could be lucky but sadly some form of dance party ( Wednesday night) was on in the building next door and the Lane way our room looked onto was filled with people coming and going until early hours of the morning.
Reception area very small and congested.
I would not choose to stay again

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear petalee,

Greetings from the Ovolo Hotel Melbourne!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your most recent stay here at the hotel. Unfortunately being located in the hub in the city, surrounded by restaurants and bars means that at times external noise can be issue for our property.
We understand the effects of external noise for our guests and are currently looking at ways to minimise this issue along with working with local businesses in helping them understand our position as a hotel.

I plan to have this issue sorted fairly soon and would hope that you could return to the hotel for a second chance and for a more peaceful night sleep.

Warmest Regards,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ovolo Laneways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Laneways

Address: 19 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Laneways 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ovolo's first international hotel in Australia is designed and inspired by the hidden streets and gems that Melbourne is known for. Located within the CBD and steps away from Parliament house and the treasury gardens, Ovolo Laneways offers effortless living without being away from the action of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ovolo Laneways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ovolo Laneways, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.