We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location - But.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ovolo Laneways

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ovolo Laneways to your Saves list
Ovolo Laneways
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 169 Hotels in Melbourne
Valla beach
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Location - But.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

The Ovolo is a good location to access Transport and China Town, the complimentary bar fridge is ok but in room 406 the fridge only cooled to 11 degrees so the beer wasn't cold. The free grab and go breakfast is ok if you are not GF as it is all pastry and muffins.
Generally the staff are good however one was less than helpful and didn't seem to want to leave whatever he was doing on the laptop? Sven on the other hand was excellent!!
The vanity basin in the bathroom is a head butter and poorly designed. Overall though a good hotel reasonably priced. Others complained of noise but in room 406 this was not an issue.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Greg M,

Greetings from the Ovolo Hotel Melbourne!

Thank you for taking the time to share your Ovolo experience with Trip Advisor.

I am glad to hear that you liked the location of the hotel. We love this end of the city and enjoy hearing that guests are getting out and about and discovering all the hidden gems close by.

I will also pass on praises to Sven, he is pretty wonderful so I am glad to hear you thought so also. I will however speak with his colleague regarding the dismissal of good customer service. I am hoping it was simply the Melbourne heat that got to some of the team as this is not their usual behavior.

Also, regarding the Grab N Go breakfast. If you are returning to the hotel in the near future please advise staff of any dietary requirements as we can arrange Gluten Free options for guests. Still, I am sorry you experienced this.

I hope to see you return to the hotel and experience a few little extras that on this last stay may have been lacking.

Regards,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    126
    41
    11
    11
See reviews for
68
150
26
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Very disappointed . Unbelievably noisy and the hotel had run out of earplugs! It depends on which night of the week you stay, so you could be lucky but sadly some form of dance party ( Wednesday night) was on in the building next door and the Lane way our room looked onto was filled with people coming and going until early hours of the morning.
Reception area very small and congested.
I would not choose to stay again

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear petalee,

Greetings from the Ovolo Hotel Melbourne!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your most recent stay here at the hotel. Unfortunately being located in the hub in the city, surrounded by restaurants and bars means that at times external noise can be issue for our property.
We understand the effects of external noise for our guests and are currently looking at ways to minimise this issue along with working with local businesses in helping them understand our position as a hotel.

I plan to have this issue sorted fairly soon and would hope that you could return to the hotel for a second chance and for a more peaceful night sleep.

Warmest Regards,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed in the 2 bedroom penthouse for 3 nights. There were lots of great things about the Ovolo. Central location, the rooms are spacious, the complimentary drinks, coffee and pastries in the morning & we absolutely loved the pinball machine...BUT the rooms were dirty!
The rug & lounge were dirty & stained. The bathroom was only surface clean, the sheets had hair on them plus they weren't nice sheets. We travel to Melbourne frequently & won't book the Ovolo again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Dacqaroo,

Greetings from the Ovolo Hotel Melbourne!

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences from your stay at our hotel.

I am glad to hear that you liked the hotel and it's inclusions along with the location. I am however saddened to hear that you felt the room was not cleaned to perfection. I will be taking this up with my housekeeping department immediately as this is not something we pride ourselves on as a boutique hotel.

Regarding certain aspects to the Penthouse, we are looking to upgrade this in the coming months which will include a soft refurbishment and new furnishings.

I understand that your most recent stay was tarnished but I would very much hope that you could give the hotel a second chance, especially after the soft refurbishments take place. I would hope that this could restore your faith in the hotel and in Ovolo as a brand.

Please come direct if you do wish to book. I would be more than happy to assist with any future bookings.

Regards,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The hotel backs on to a very busy lane servicing some late opening bars. You need to be able to tolerate the racket of glass being dumped into huge rubbish hampers, which are then trundled loudly down the lane . . . for something up to an hour at around 2am. consecutive nights. Midweek. (Might be even worse on weekends.) Space is very tight in the bedroom, and you need to bring your own hangers if you want to use the open parcel shelf that serves as the only wardrobe in the room. No water supply in the kitchenette, which limits its usefulness, given the teensy bathroom sink. But if you plan to eat out, live out of a suit case, and party till 4am, it is fine.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear jo m,

Greetings from the Ovolo Hotel Melbourne!

Thank you for your recent review on the hotel.

I am sorry to hear that the external noise from the hotel ruined what should have been a great stay. Unfortunately being a CBD based hotel we do face issues with local restaurants and bars operating at later hours into the evening.
I have taken this review on board and others comments on noise and we are looking into options of how to eliminate this issue. A big part is also meeting with local restaurant owners and sharing our guests experiences with them for understanding.

I am hoping to have solutions to this issue in the coming months and would hope that you could return to the hotel so that we can hopefully restore your faith in the property and provide you with a better night sleep.

Regards,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel last month and found it to be great - friendly staff, spacious room, convenient location, free drinks etc. However, the big let down is the bathroom.

The bathroom sink is incredibly tiny (see photo) - difficult to use without splashing water on the floor. The door-less shower, quite roomy but is so poorly designed that the bathroom floor would get soaking wet despite our effort to block the flow of water (using a rolled up bathmat) from the shower to the floor. Whoever designed the bathroom here?

It's a real pity about the bathroom facility. For a night or two, one could probably put up with the ridiculous bathroom. Not for a several day stay.

Room Tip: Room with a better shower and bigger sink, if they have any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear travelmaker4,

Greeting from the Ovolo Hotel Melbourne.

Thank you for taking the time to share your Ovolo experiences from your recent stay. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the freebies and the general feel of the property.

I also thank you for the review on the bathroom. We take reviews seriously and are always looking into ways we can work with our design team on improving and upgrading certain areas of the hotel.

In the meantime, if you are looking to return to the hotel, may I suggest a 1 bedroom suite as the rooms are larger, creating more space for the bathrooms. These might be a more suitable option for a longer stay period.

If you are looking to book this room on another occasion please contact the hotel direct and one of our friendly staff can assist you.

Warmest Regards,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Staff we're very helpful and friendly as soon as you enter the hotel for check in. The hotel is quite small, but fairly new new modern decor. The bathroom is a little small but you can tell that they have out some effort into making the hotel room and amenities less "commercial" for a pleasant stay.
Best thing is free mini bar, free internet (something you rarely get in Australia hotels), free pack and go break fast.
Location is great, close to everything but not in the middle of it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear eLasticbarbie,

Greetings from the Ovolo Hotel Melbourne!

Thanks for reviewing the hotel from your last stay with us. So glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at the property and loved the freebies. The Wi-Fi is something we are passionate about pushing in the Australian market so I am glad you enjoyed it's use.

We hope to have you return to the hotel soon.

Regards,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Centre of Melbourne activities, we stayed here for 2 nights to watch Roger Federer and Friends at the Rod Laver Arena. In the Hub of Melbourne. Really impressed with the Ovolo Hotel, its decor is amazing, very bright, boutique style, friendly and high-quality service at reception and throughout! they called up a taxi right to the door for us! and loaded our luggage.
Free wifi, complimentary loot bag of snacks, complimentary fridge refilled every day with water, juices, drinks, complimentary breakfast of croissants, delicious chocolate muffins and all, unlimited tea/coffee at reception. All good! the Hotel's 2 bedroom apartment was very spacious, good sized kitchen sink and bench, clean, tv, dvd player, apple tv all good.
The bathroom size and access, sink/shower, and toilet fan could be improved to keep the rest of the apartment nice and clean. Its true reading previous reviews that the elevator cards a bit funny but do work. Would've liked a bit more of a city view but who needs it when you can just walk outside and be astounded!
Loved Ovolo Hotel, should have a sky high one in Sydney!

Room Tip: Our room on level 3 was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear patty w,

Greetings from Ovolo Hotel Melbourne!

I hope you enjoyed the tennis and the heat did not overwhelm your travels.

Thanks for such a fabulous review on the hotel, I am glad to hear that we ticked all the right boxes, customer service, quality and inclusions.
Regarding the lifts, we do see the issues with key access and are looking into upgrading the current system we are using.

We are also very much looking to extend the Ovolo brand in Australia so I will be giving this review to our owners. I too would love the see a sky scraper Ovolo hotel in Sydney.

Thank you again, we look forward to hopefully seeing you in Melbourne soon.

Regards,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ovolo Laneways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Laneways

Address: 19 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 169 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Laneways 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ovolo's first international hotel in Australia is designed and inspired by the hidden streets and gems that Melbourne is known for. Located within the CBD and steps away from Parliament house and the treasury gardens, Ovolo Laneways offers effortless living without being away from the action of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, MrandMrsSmith, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ovolo Laneways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ovolo Laneways, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;