We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Windowless” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ovolo Laneways

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ovolo Laneways to your Saves list
Ovolo Laneways
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE WI-FI
Ranked #37 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Windowless”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My partner and i booked a one bedroom suite which was tucked away at the back of the hotel and didn't have a window. After 2 nights cooped up, we were ready to tear each other's hair out. They were obliging and moved us to another room facing the street after we complained. It was a nice touch to have drinks and snacks available for free.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Lisa H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts from your recent stay with us.

Unfortunately due to our CBD location, we do have some rooms at the back of the hotel that are adjacent to our neighboring buildings and as such we have glass bricks in lieu of windows. Whilst they are a little darker than the rooms at the front of the hotel, they do allow for a very quiet and restful nights sleep.

I am glad you were able to be moved into one of our street facing suite's and enjoyed our free minibar and lootbag.

Please ensure you contact us directly when planning your next trip to Melbourne so we can allocate you into one of our street facing rooms.

Kind regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    140
    42
    14
    11
See reviews for
71
171
31
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We came over from Perth and stayed at the Ovolo for my husband's 60th birthday and chose it because of the great reviews on Trip Advisor. I had rung the week before to arrange a surprise of champagne, chocolates and balloons to be put in the room. Upon opening the door the first thing we noticed were the lack of windows, they were replaced with frosted glass breeze blocks. It felt very claustrophobic! Then having looked through the entire 1 bedroom apartment, it was obvious there were no surprise items. How disappointing. However staff were quick to remedy our concerns by moving us to a room on the 4th floor with great windows and view of the city. They also organized the surprise to be in our room when we returned from dinner. My husband loved it. Although we were initially disappointed with the hotel, the staff turned a negative into a very positive experience. We hope to return one day.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear RayJude S,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts from your recent stay with us.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the missing surprise items upon your arrival. Though I am glad we were able to rectify the issue and still create the surprise for your husband's birthday whilst you were at dinner, it should not have been missed initially.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Ovolo Hotel Melbourne next time you are in Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We loved this hotel! We recently stayed here for our anniversary! Upon arrival we were offered an upgrade which really made our anniversary even more special. We stayed at the suite with lounge room. It was really really nice! We stayed in many hotels but this one is so nicely decorated and big space!
We were also told we get to use FREE washing machine, FREE loot bag, FREE nespresso coffee at the front, FREE bottle water and orange juice both at reception and in our fridge and did I hear FREE alcohol? Yes they had free wine and beer unlimited at the reception! We stayed in many big hotels but never one even offered free coffee. This place is really economical and modern at the same time. We saved so much money on small stuff such as water,juice and beer. We had a free shopping bag which came really handy when we went to the zoo or day out!

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. We did not have much trouble with the noise, the place is located in a little side street. You will hear some odd conversation at night but by no means it disturbed out sleep at night

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Chen W,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne!

Thank you for posting such a great review from your recent stay with us.

Anniversary's are a special time and we are glad that we were able to make your experience a memorable one.

I am glad you took full advantage of our freebies and I want to thank you for your recommendation. We look forward to being able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

One of my favorite hotels that I stayed in during my recent trip to Australia. It is a small hotel, and very quirky, but in a very fun way. I was upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite, and it was awesome! Beautiful contemporary decor, with a really comfortable shower and bed. The location is ideal, right on the edge of Chinatown and adjacent to the Parliament. You are about a 15 minute walk away from the Flinders St. station and the Yara river. Concierges were extremely helpful, confirming two of my tours and booking a Skybus transfer back to the airport. Lots of free perks--the minibar, local phone calls, and high speed wifi are all free!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear DoctorWHK,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne!

Thank you for positing such positive comments from your recent stay with us.

It is great to know that you were able to take full advantage of our freebies, were able to enjoy your upgrade and that our staff were able to add to your experience in Melbourne.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryvale, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I recently stayed with my sister in this lovely little hotel and was really impressed. In a fantastic quiet location, central to all amenties including Parliament Station - great if you are travelling via public transport. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a One Bedroom Apartment which was gorgeous, well equipped with a bar fridge, glasses, bowls and a microwave. We really appreciated the FREE Loot Bag and Mini Bar - amazing and with the free drinks happy hour - it was a perfect start to our night out. It is the little extras WIFI, Coffee, Grab and Go breakfast etc that really make this place stand out from competitors. The customer service was exceptional at all times and not at all pretentious as can often be the case with Boutique hotels. My only complaint is in relation to your housekeeping service, I dropped my glasses on the floor and was confronted with an awful mess under the couch upon picking them up, other than this the cleanliness of the hotel room could not be faulted. This however has not stopped me from wanting to return and I look forward to bringing my family to stay in the near future.

Room Tip: A room facing little Bourke street is just lovely, loads of natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear cherryred55,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne!

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive thoughts from your recent stay with us.

It is great to know that you and your sister enjoyed time with us and that you were able to make the most of our freebies!

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the surprise under the couch and be assured that the issue has been raised with our housekeeping team to ensure it remains an isolated event. I am glad the issue did not deter you from wanting to return.

Please be sure to contact us directly when planning your next trip to Melbourne so our team can personally assist you.

Kind regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

When visit Melbourne recently I was looking for somewhere interesting to stay and wow did this fit the bill.

Pros: the freebies! free wifi, free coffee, free minibar, free goodie bag, the free breakfast is great- take some pastries on the way. the malin and goetz toiletries were a huge advantage. The room is wonderfully decorated and they make great use of the space. Located in Chinatown and within walking distance to a lot of places. The friendly staff

Cons: The room and bathroom could use a little more room, however they have utilized the limited space very well! Due to the tight space it doesn't always feel very private.

Overall this is a fantastic hotel. So much thought has been put into every little detail and the quirky features shine through. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear wishwellingtons,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne!

Thank you for sharing your fantastic review on TripAdvisor. It is great to read that we now rank as your "new favourite hotel".

We look forward to being able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Great Melbourne CBD option for those who value:

Free (actually fast) Wi-Fi
Free booze, free snacks
A few creative touches
Huge "creative" table with space to actually work (not one of those old-fashioned hotel desks)
Apple TV & Foxtel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear ktownluv7,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne!

Thank you for posting your comments from your recent stay with us.

It is great to know that you were able to enjoy our unique offering. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ovolo Laneways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Laneways

Address: 19 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Laneways 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ovolo's first international hotel in Australia is designed and inspired by the hidden streets and gems that Melbourne is known for. Located within the CBD and steps away from Parliament house and the treasury gardens, Ovolo Laneways offers effortless living without being away from the action of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith and Tingo so you can book your Ovolo Laneways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ovolo Laneways, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.