We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT SERVICE ! Excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ovolo Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ovolo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ovolo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“GREAT SERVICE ! Excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed at the Ovolo Hotel with the girls during the weekend in a 2 bedroom suite. We were greeted very warmly upon check - in. Was offered coffee / drinks on arrival.
The room was clean and spacious, apple TV inclusive was great ! comfortable bed and great interior.
To make our stay even better; the location was GREAT - it was very close to everything ie. restaurants, bars, pubs, clubs - we received x2 FREE loot bags (with amazing goodies), FREE use of the wi-fii, FREE mini bar, FREE on the go breakfast and was offered a late check in as the staff knew that we had a late night.
You really get the value for your money at Ovolo ! Would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to explore Melbourne and don't want to pay a fortune for a decent accommodation.

Room Tip: if you're going with a group of friends choose the x2 bedroom suite. Very spacious with it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Belle S,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne!

Thank you for posting your thoughts from your recent stay with us. It was great to read that you and your friends enjoyed the hotel, especially all our freebies! Thank you also for your recommendation and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again some time soon.

Kind regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    200
    102
    38
    11
    10
See reviews for
59
129
22
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Five us stayed for 3 nights. The apartment was awesome, clean, spacious with large outdoor terrace, great rooms, super comfy sofa which served as the extra bed. The rooms were really well set up, with one having an en-suite.

The bathrooms were clean and had everything you could need - dental kit, razers, body wash, shampoo and conditioner and if it wasn't there they would supply it for you.

The complementary drinks (both alcoholic and non-alcoholic) was an unexpected bonus as was the endless supply of yummy pastries and coffee in the foyer each morning! The staff were friendly and helpful.

Great location. I would definitely stay again and heartily recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Kelly W

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed your time in residence and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I loved the location of this hotel right at the top of Chinatown which meant all the best and cheapest Asian cuisine was at our doorstep whilst being within walking distance of the main city shopping areas, Lygon st, and other attractions. The parliament tram stop with the free city circle line is just 2 minutes away and is a handy way to get around the city if you don't feel like shelling out for a myki card.

I also loved the free nespresso coffees and sweet breakfast treats in the lobby. And unlimited softdrinks, bottled water, sol beer and lupe white wine in the mini fridge and the lovely harneys teas and herbal infusions was a super convenient feature and one less thing to worry about.

The free wifi had decent bandwidth and never had issues connecting, though I did need to re login if the connection was left unused for a few hours or when I returned to the room after an outing. I was able to browse the web and upload thousands of pics to Flickr at the same time without problems.

The rooms were clean, bathroom spotless and house keeping was always done without a hitch.

Other features I enjoyed were the Apple TV, 42 inch LCD tv, DVD player (surprisingly i did get to use it) and the high quality Malin and goetz toiletries.

There were three things i did not like. The first is the bed.
The king bed was actually two single mattresses joined together. Consequently there was a hard ridge down the middle of the bed. The issue is compounded by the fact that the matresses were of different densities, meaning there was a hard side and a harder side. Aside from being hard you could also feel the springs through the mattress. It was a rather uncomfortable bed but I was able to put up with it.

The second was the plumbing and the noise associated with it when guests in other rooms were utilizing their toilets, showers and basins. Each time the basins and the showers were used a very loud hissing noise of water straining through the pipes was heard. And when someone flushed the toilet on the level above it sounded like a waterfall was cascading through the wall. The noise is of course dependant on the guests above so you could be unlucky and get a flush happy clean freak with the runs. Luckily the guests upstairs did not stay most of the week as after the first night the noises stopped for a few days and then started again towards the last night of our stay.

The third issue was the wash basin. Whilst I could put up with it being small, the ledge above it was placed too low making it difficult to rinse and spit after brushing your teeth.

If Ovolo got these three issues sorted out it would be perfect place to stay in all respects.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Wazofoz,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such candid feedback .I am pleased that for the most part you enjoyed your stay with us.
You will be happy to note we are currently investigating purchasing mattress toppers for those of our rooms with a king/split bed, which should alleviate any discomfort. I would also like to discuss with you in more detail which room you were staying in so I may investigate the plumbing noise. I hope you will also be pleased to note that we do have room types with larger bathroom sinks and increased storage. Should you wish to stay with us again in the future our front desk team would be delighted to assign you one of these rooms.

I sincerely hope we will see again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently with our 17 year old daughter and the 2 bedroom apartment gave us ample space. The room is New York style, very cool and has good amentities. The room was very clean and beds extremely comfy. It is in a great location, a minutes walk to lovely restaurants and cafes. Just around the corner is an excellent deli focusing on organic foods. We got fresh juices there each morning. Breakfast is included in the room rate, it consists of wonderfully tasty pastries and muffins. For our family this is not substantial and we don't eat sweet stuff at breakfast so we ate elsewhere. Would highly recommend this hotel, the only thing it misses is a fitness centre onsite. They could team up with a nearby gym to offer such a facility.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear peterandsue,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your time in residence and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Looks like the Ovolo people have thought through things and figured out what people need in a downtown hotel (clean rooms, comfortable beds and linen, drinking water, plenty of bathroom supplies, good tea and coffee, quick breakfast) and what they don't really need (room service, large lobbies, coffee shops and restaurants, and overbearing furniture). We stayed in a nice two bedroom that works well for families (the two wall sliding door to the second bedroom may not work as well if you're staying with a business partner). The location is central (a block from Chinatown) with plenty of fine Melbourne food options a minute or two away. The mattresses, sheets, pillows, were all of "good sleep quality". The bathroom was small but well appointed with mirrors, good shower, plenty of towels, and no niggling on bath supplies in either quantity or quality and, at least in our room, there was a shelf for toiletries above the sink and enough room to spit while brushing :) The guest laundry was a great plus as was the "grab and go" breakfast and the pod coffee machine in the lobby (it would be nice to have one in the room as well!). Throw in the free drinks and I wish all downtown hotels would follow the Ovolo's excellent example.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear WanderingLama,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a glowing review of your stay with us. Next time you find yourself in Melbourne please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you wish to return.

Kind Regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Read nothing but good reviews about the Ovolo so had to book! I think they have a great concept and would say its based on the Virgin philosophy. Hotel is in a great location, service is superb, and the little freebies are a very nice touch. Minor points are the impossibly tiny sink in the bathroom (trying to brush your teeth is an event - better off doing this in the shower!), and having to have one hand on the sliding door to the bathroom as it wouldn't stay shut. A bigger issue is sound proofing. We stayed in a studio and conversations next door were clearly audible and a bit of a nuisance, especially when they came back late at night and were then extra loud! For this reason, I would not stay again. Shame, as its otherwise a pretty good all rounder.

Room Tip: Would not recommend a studio as if there are people staying next door, you WILL hear them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Jossers,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed our unique approach and found our service “superb”.

Rest assured the less than perfect aspects of your stay will be investigated as a matter of urgency. I do hope we will have a chance to redeem ourselves in the future.

Kind Regards,


Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the penthouse apartment with a few friends. It was everything and more that I could ask for! Nicely decorated, very modern, so clean, nice showers, high quality bathroom amenities and devine hot tub! The hotel is walking distance to some of Melbournes best restaurants and clubs. Thank u to Matt and the rest of the staff for their friendly and exceptional service. As a local I have stayed at many hotels here and I couldn't recommend any other than Ovolo.. Looking forward to spending another weekend here again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Vayia,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a glowing review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass your feedback on to Matt and the team.

Next time you wish to book please feel free to contact me directly.

Kind Regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ovolo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Hotel

Address: 19 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ovolo Hotel is Melbourne's newest luxury boutique Hotel. In the heart of Melbourne's theatre and restaurant district, it is the perfect place to immerse yourself in everything Melbourne has to offer. Just a short walk to the MCG, Bourke Street Mall, Melbourne’s best Theatres and Tourist Attractions, everything is at your doorstep! All guests are offered FREE Wi-Fi, 'Grab n Go' breakfast, Minibar and Local Phone Calls! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ovolo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ovolo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.