We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky Style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ovolo Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ovolo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ovolo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Funky Style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

As soon as you walk in your greeted by very helpful staff. we happened to arrive in the afternnon and was greeted by Happy Hour. The room was spacious and had a huge TV screen and was hooked up to Apple TV so we also got to enjoy a movie of our choice. The mini bar was stocked with juice, water, beer and wine and was all complimentary. If you managed to get through it all, all you had to do was go to the front desk and help yourself to more. There was also a very nice treat sitting waiting in the room of a goody bag filled with nuts, chocolates, mints, chips, tim tam, all of which was also compliementary. Breakfast was a selection of the freshest pastries I have ever had. You could also help yourself to coffee from their nespresso machine all day long. Love the concept of all the complimentary drinks and foods. Hotel was very close to the Mall and a street away from the tram. Cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: any room includes complimentary nibbles and mini bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Marylou66,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your time in residence and cannot wait to return.

When you wish to stay next please do not hesitate to contact me directly, it would be my pleasure to assist you.

Kind Regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    108
    41
    11
    10
See reviews for
63
137
23
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had a 1-bedroom suite and it was so cosy and comfy, we wanted to extend our stay!

The lobby had the lovely coffee machine, great selection of teas, juice and milk. We helped ourselves and it saved the staff a lot of work. THe grab-and-go breakfast was simple but tasty.

In the room, the sofa was modern and posh, great for watching TV and eating the snacks that were provided! The bathroom was ok, except the water did not seem to stay in the shower area. The floor mat was soaked after 1 person had showered! The saving grace was the toiletries - they are to die-for (malin+goetz).

The bedroom was great. Firm bed, iPod dock/alarm clock, open wardrobe. Just lovely.

The little kitchen was great for those days when we just wanted a simple meal.

Free wifi!!! What more can I say? :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear CHKL,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed and positive review of your stay with us. I am delighted you found our approach and inclusions favourable. I am particularly glad you enjoyed our Malin + Goetz bathroom amenities; they are a boutique New York based company – certainly a rare find in Australia.

Next time you wish to book do not hesitate to contact me directly, it would be my pleasure to personally assist you.

Kind Regards

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsw
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

my husband and i had a very pleasant stay in a studio suite for 4 nights. they had a winning combination of modern decor, spacious room, comfortable bed, clean, friendly staff, complimentary food, drinks and wifi plus close proximity to the city and transport. will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear georgia101,

Thank you for sharing your brief yet wonderful feedback.

Next time you wish to book it would be my pleasure to assist with your accommodation requirements.

Kind Regards,


Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benalla, Victoria, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay ! Being a country bumpkin the staff were very friendly, helping us with directions around the city and suggesting wonderful places to eat! Loved the modern look of the rooms and wonderful comfy bed ! Recommending to my friends for sure !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Shennae N,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and found our staff helpful and friendly.

Please feel free to contact me directly next time you wish to book as it would be my pleasure to personally assist you.

Kind Regards,



Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay at Ovolo - they truly have a sense of fun with a great service attitude. I was looking for something away from the highly-predictable branded hotels and very happy with my choice of hotel. The location is buzzy, fabulous little restaurants and eateries within walking distance, coffee, drinks, pastries in the lobby in the morning, guest cocktails in the evening. My only negative would be the amount of noise that carries between rooms and from the industrial bins being emptied during the middle of the night at the back of the hotel - if you are a sound sleeper, this should not be a problem.

Room Tip: Away from the back laneway for light sleepers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear BeijingTrix,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am truly delighted you enjoyed Ovolo Melbourne’s unique approach and service attitude. I hope you made the most of our location whilst you were here!

Should you wish to stay with us again, our front desk team would be pleased to assign you a room on a higher floor away from any street noise.


Kind Regards,


Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom suite in May 2013 for 3 nights and its hard to fault the hotel or staff at all. The room was spacious and ultra modern, packed with facilities including a kitchenette and a free mini bar which is stocked daily. The bathroom was huge and kitted out with everything you would need plus the bed was very comfortable. The staff (particularly Gemma - thanks!) were amazing and went out of their way to help, way above and beyond the call of duty. The location is great for any CBD activities or exploring the centre. Will be staying here again next time we're in Melbourne....

Room Tip: upgrade to a one bed suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Eddseven,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a glowing review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you found our location favourable and wish to thank you again for mentioning Gemma our Guest Services Agent; I will certainly pass this feedback on.

Please contact me directly next time you wish to book, it would be my pleasure to personally assist you.

Kind Regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

What can i say! My friends and i frequently stay at this hotel for special occasions or a weekend in the city and we all love it, i cant fault a single thing, we love the free mini bar, happy hour drinks, great location and amazing prices for a great stay in the city. i highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Joecas20,

Thank you for sharing such a positive review of Ovolo Melbourne.

Next time you wish to book, please contact me directly so I may personally assist you.

Kind Regards,


Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ovolo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Hotel

Address: 19 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ovolo Hotel is Melbourne's newest luxury boutique Hotel. In the heart of Melbourne's theatre and restaurant district, it is the perfect place to immerse yourself in everything Melbourne has to offer. Just a short walk to the MCG, Bourke Street Mall, Melbourne’s best Theatres and Tourist Attractions, everything is at your doorstep! All guests are offered FREE Wi-Fi, 'Grab n Go' breakfast, Minibar and Local Phone Calls! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Ovolo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ovolo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.