We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ovolo Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 10 more sites!
Ovolo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 10% off
Ranked #30 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Simply stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've stayed in many hotels in Melbourne, but this is one of the best. The staff on front desk were fantastic, even running out on to the street to flag down a taxi for me in the rain. If you can, upgrade to one of the penthouse suites (actually around the same price as some other average hotels in Melbourne). Quirky touches such as the pinball machine in my room made this a fun stay. Great location if you're going to the theatre, or for wandering around Chinatown. Everything is within walking distance.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a penthouse suite if you can, they are enormous and each has its own character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear krismadden,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne.

I am delighted you found Ovolo Melbourne “Simply Stunning”. I will be sure to pass your feedback on to the front desk team and hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    79
    32
    10
    8
See reviews for
47
104
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I was extremely that this hotel was recommended to me - fantastic location (you can do everything on foot, have great restaurants in the immediate vicinity, tram stop near by and the airport shuttle hotel transfer stops there....), very modern look & design, but still very functional, exceptional staff, free wi-fi, free minibar, and free "grab as you go" breakfast every day - I felt very much at home at this hotel and would go back any day, for business or private stay in the city!

Room Tip: I am sure all rooms will be great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Eva S,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for sharing your glowing feedback on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you found our location favourable and hope you made the most of the nearby restaurants.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly next time you wish to book.

Kind Regards,


Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

As a first time visitor Melbourne the Ovolo was the perfect place to stay. A two minute walk to China town, near the Parliament building & Queen Victoria exhibition building.
The hotel also sums up Melbourne, small, friendly & tastefully appointed. We had a problem with our original enquiry, & were given an upgrade to a one bedroom suite.
We need to mention Matt the guest service team leader. We have stayed in a lot of hotels around the world, but we have never had such a warm welcome. We didn't arrive until nearly 11:00pm but Matt had waited for us so he could personally welcome us to the hotel. We got us checked in & up to our room in no time. When we got to our room he had left a personal message for us in a card & on the room's blackboard, giving lots of information on what to do in Melbourne, very special.
The Ovolo provides lots of freebies, from a welcome pack full of goodies, mini bar, Wi-Fi (which wasn't so easy to get else where), free tea & coffee & a lovely breakfast buffet.
There is some noise from outside, especially first thing in the morning from dustcart's, but this to be expected in any city centre.
We would recommend this hotel to anybody who is coming to Melbourne, when we come back we will book back in here again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a one bed suite if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear AndrewPurser,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for posting such a glowing review of the hotel. I am delighted to see that you found our location favourable and enjoyed the all-inclusive approach we take. Thank you for mentioning Matt our Guest Services Team Leader, I will be sure to share this information with him.

Please feel free to contact myself or Matt directly next time you wish to book, it would be a pleasure to welcome you both back.

Kind Regards


Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Last week we stayed in this hotel for three nights in a two bedroom suite. We were there with a lot of other travellers all flying in for a Melbourne wedding. Being on five floors it was quick and easy to get between floors to meet up with family and friends.

The staff on reception were all fantastic and friendly throughout our time with the exception of the two boys on shift when we checked out who barely looked up from the computer as we signed over $1000.

The room was great and we enjoyed the multiple TVs and especially the free wireless internet! The welcome pack and free mini bar was lovely and greatly appreciated. The sink in the bathroom was small but nowhere near as bad as many of the negative reviews I had read.

For $350 per night in a two bedroom accommodation facility I would like to have had a mini kitchen with at least a toaster to provide quick food options for kids.

The location was great too because the the church and reception was very close by for our purposes but it was also extremely close to the free city circle tram to get us around to Melbourne Central.

My only gripe was the air con. It never seemed to go below 22 degrees in our room and compared to other rooms we went in ours was very stuffy. The girls on reception lent us a fan upon request which was nice and showed us how to adjust it lower but it never seemed to get below 22 which was a bit annoying.

We would stay again. Thank you :)

Room Tip: Don't expect a room with a view, it's a low hotel. The one or two bedroom suites were a gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Tammy_Riley,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted we were able to provide a convenient base throughout the wedding celebrations. I have investigated the air-conditioning issue experienced in your room and it is currently being rectified. On another note I am glad to see for the most part our reception team were friendly, having said that I do apologise for your less than perfect farewell and will be addressing this with the staff members involved.
It would be my pleasure to welcome you back to Ovolo Melbourne so please contact me directly next time you wish to book.

Kind Regards

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed at the Ovolo Melbourne for business.
The room was quite large with great design and good feature.
Good bed and bathroom, although space would allow for an extra counter to put toiletries.
Breakfast counter was great and convenient when you are on the go.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear PE V,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for your short yet positive review.

Next time you are travelling to Melbourne please contact me directly so I may personally assist with your accommodation requirements.

Kind Regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywhere
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I booked Ovolo last minute through Mr and Mrs Smith - very happy with the result. Great location and unlike prior reviews I found my room very quiet (it faced Little Bourke Street) even on a Friday night. The blackout curtains ensured I didn't wake too early - brilliant. Agree on the small sinks but I just brushed my teeth and washed my face in the shower, no worries.

The hotel was very clean, modern, and all the little extras have been thought of - unlimited coffee, bottled water, and Charlies OJ complimentary downstairs all day were much appreciated. The complimentary mini bar in the room was well stocked and well used by me! One thing - one of my waters had clearly been opened and refilled (possibly by a previous guest!?) and the skittles in my loot bag were opened and half eaten. Worth the cleaning staff checking these things.

I only have ONE gripe - through Mr and Mrs Smith I had a guaranteed 1pm checkout. Knowing this, I went out on the town on Friday night with a big sleep in expected on the Saturday morning. The cleaning guy rang the very loud doorbell at 10:30am to wake me up and ask what time I was checking out - I said 1pm. He again rang the bell at 12:55pm (I know, 5 min early, but still) as I was getting ready to get out of the room. For a "guaranteed 1pm checkout" perk from a premium booking website, I found this annoying to say the least. Again worth training the cleaning guys (or keeping them informed) re check out times.

Other than that - it was a brilliant stay - fab location, lovely sleep, fantastic front desk staff - and I would happily stay again next time I'm in Melbourne.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Travelforages,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay and found Ovolo good value. I will of course be sharing your feedback with our housekeeping manager to ensure they are inspecting the “Loot Bags” and understand the 1300 check-out for all Mr & Mrs Smith guests. It is only through honest feedback such as yours we are able to improve on our shortcomings.

On behalf of the entire team we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quevara
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay. Location is near Spring St, great for meals at The European or Supper Club. It was pretty noisy because I had a room facing Little Bourke St so sleep wasnt great. Shower took ages to warm up and wasnt hot like I am used to at home. Also very poor quality showers considering there was both a rainforest overhead shower and a normal handheld, which was disappointing.

Having said that, staff were very friendly and this is a good value accommodation in a top location.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear quevara

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for sharing your candid feedback regarding your stay with us. I am delighted you found our location favourable and staff friendly. In regards to our showers I will certainly have our hot water system inspected. I am under the impression the fixtures and fittings fell short of your expectations and for that I do apologise.

I hope we will have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ovolo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Hotel

Address: 19 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ovolo Hotel is Melbourne's newest luxury boutique Hotel. In the heart of Melbourne's theatre and restaurant district, it is the perfect place to immerse yourself in everything Melbourne has to offer. Just a short walk to the MCG, Bourke Street Mall, Melbourne’s best Theatres and Tourist Attractions, everything is at your doorstep! All guests are offered FREE Wi-Fi, 'Grab n Go' breakfast, Minibar and Local Phone Calls! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, HotelsClick, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Ovolo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ovolo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ovolo Hotel to your Saves list