We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, location, room and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ovolo Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ovolo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ovolo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent value, location, room and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a night at the Ovolo on Little Bourke. I was incredibly impressed with the inclusions, given the very reasonable room rate. Other reviewers have detailed what those inclusions are - all I'll add is that the breakfast pastries were clearly from a top-notch patisserie, and there was no scrimping on the free drinks. It's the sort of thing which makes you question why you'd pay more to stay at a big-name 5-star hotel. Well done Ovolo for being so generous.

As for our room, my request for a quiet one was met (it meant no view, but that wasn't an issue) and it was 'small but perfectly formed'. Great interior design and great use of a compact space (we stayed in a studio, the smallest option - perfectly fine for a short-term stay). Comfortable bed, amazing shower and quality toiletries.

The guys at Reception were welcoming and helpful, and of course the location is fantastic for eating/drinking/shopping/entertainment in town (a multitude of options within walking distance) and for public transport to go further afield. I will definitely stay at Ovolo on Little Bourke again and will highly recommend their hotels to friends.

Room Tip: The small studios are extremely compact - if you need space, you wil need the next room rate up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear marley_newcastle,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am glad to see you were impressed with our all-inclusive approach. I will certainly pass your feedback on to our reception staff as they pride themselves on their customer service.

Next time you are in Melbourne it would be my pleasure to personally assist you with your accommodation requirements.

Kind Regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    108
    41
    11
    10
See reviews for
62
137
23
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The staff were very nice and it is a nice place. However, be warned that there is a very noisy music venue by this hotel with young people partying in the alleyway into the small hours of the night. If you value your sleep, you could have problems.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear luckie74,
Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for sharing your candid feedback on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you found our staff and hotel both “very nice”. I am concerned however that your sleep was disrupted due to outside noise. The venue you are referring to is an event space and not always open, having said that we do have rooms on high floors away from street noise. The front desk team would be delighted to assign you one of these rooms should you wish to stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The location of the hotel in the CBD is uber central and practical (at the top of China Town near tube station and near bus stops). The hotel is modern, quirky and very clean The room we had on the first floor was great and well decorated with: living room with kitchen area, seperate bedroom with very comfy firm beds and practical wardrobe and very nice shower room. There is free Wifi and a free mini bar, as well as a welcome loot bag with a few lovely snacks.The bathroom goodies are by Malin + Goetz (brownie points Ovolo thank you!) We also adored the comfy flip flops that we happily kept for the rest of our trip in Oz. Breakfast is free but on the go (i.e. take away from the lobby with viennoiseries & nespresso coffee) but we thought that was great. the staff was very friendly and we have NOTHING bad to say about this place. If I went back to Melbourne I would definitely return to the Ovolo. Well done guys, and thanks again, it was a pleasure!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear L_Dana,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

It was a pleasure reading your positive feedback regarding your stay with us in March. I am delighted you have “nothing bad to say” about the hotel and found our all-inclusive approach favourable. I am particularly glad you enjoyed our Malin + Goetz bathroom products, they are a fantastic New York based company.

L_Dana next time you are visiting Melbourne It would be my pleasure to personally assist you with your accommodation requirements.

Kind Regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

What a great experience, a funky hotel in a great Melb location. Whilst the standard room is on the small side, it was perfect for a 1 night business trip. Next time, I'd book a bigger room to suit a small family. Loved the funky fit-out & the concept of free minibar, grab & go breakfast & coffee/drinks in the small but functional lobby. Staff were very friendly & efficient. Looking forward to heading back again soon.

Room Tip: For longer stays or for leisure stays I'd recommend a larger room than the studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Katieb1980

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted you loved our all-inclusive approach and found the staff friendly and efficient.

Next time you wish to book please do not hesitate to contact me directly so I may personally see to your reservation.

Kind Regards,


Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Can't say enough good things about this hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are large, the bed is comfy and the stocked, and free, minibar is an absolute treat. Combine that with unlimited espresso from the lobby, as well as other goodies (free self-service laundry -- detergent supplied and free wifi), the hotel has literally thought of everything.

Two extremely minor comments, more as an FYI than criticisms. The sink in the bathroom, as has been mentioned, is tiny. I have never actually seen anything that tiny my whole life, but given its position in the bathroom, it's understandable. The view from our room of someone else's apartment was also less than spectacular, but we didn't travel from NYC to look out the window of our hotel -- we came to see Melbourne.

Very central and very recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear wdrefan,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for sharing such positive feedback on Trip Advisor. It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us.

Next time you are in Melbourne and wish to book please contact me directly so I may personally assist you.

Kind Regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great location. Easy to get everywhere in Melbourne from here. Right at the top of China town. Free mini bar topped up every day - lovely loot bag with goodies on arrival - take home shopping bag - roomy, funky, very clean, free internet,Long Grain restaurant opposite - yummy.....Staff went out of their way to assist - Matt & the team gave us tram passes, numerous directons, restaurant recomendations,late checkout, quiet room,

Room Tip: Choose a quite room as council bins are emptied early in the morning - not the fault of the hotel, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear MillieWellington,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for sharing your candid feedback on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our inclusions and found Ovolo’s location favourable. I am pleased that Matt and our reception team were able to assist you whilst you were here and I will certainly pass this feedback on.
When next in Melbourne please do not hesitate to contact me directly, it would be my pleasure to organise your accommodation requirements.

Kind Regards,


Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Saw this in a travel section of a newspaper and tried it out on weekend visit to Melbourne. Up the Spring Street end of Bourke Street. Funky and fun. Very friendly reception. Room and wifi were fine, like an apartment. Bathroom was huge but I thought a bit spartan in fittings. Nespresso machine downstairs. No breakfast other than pastries and muffins at reception (fine but calories guys!). Need your Myki card to take tram from Skybus terminal if you have luggage.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Tim S,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you found our reception staff friendly and the hotel “funky and fun”. Should you wish to stay with us again in the future our reception team would be delighted to organise a Skybus shuttle to take you from Ovolo to Southern Cross Station.

Kind Regards

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ovolo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Hotel

Address: 19 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ovolo Hotel is Melbourne's newest luxury boutique Hotel. In the heart of Melbourne's theatre and restaurant district, it is the perfect place to immerse yourself in everything Melbourne has to offer. Just a short walk to the MCG, Bourke Street Mall, Melbourne’s best Theatres and Tourist Attractions, everything is at your doorstep! All guests are offered FREE Wi-Fi, 'Grab n Go' breakfast, Minibar and Local Phone Calls! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Ovolo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ovolo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.