We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ovolo Laneways

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ovolo Laneways to your Saves list
Ovolo Laneways
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Wellington, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice but noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The staff were very nice and it is a nice place. However, be warned that there is a very noisy music venue by this hotel with young people partying in the alleyway into the small hours of the night. If you value your sleep, you could have problems.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear luckie74,
Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for sharing your candid feedback on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you found our staff and hotel both “very nice”. I am concerned however that your sleep was disrupted due to outside noise. The venue you are referring to is an event space and not always open, having said that we do have rooms on high floors away from street noise. The front desk team would be delighted to assign you one of these rooms should you wish to stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    130
    42
    11
    11
See reviews for
69
156
26
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The location of the hotel in the CBD is uber central and practical (at the top of China Town near tube station and near bus stops). The hotel is modern, quirky and very clean The room we had on the first floor was great and well decorated with: living room with kitchen area, seperate bedroom with very comfy firm beds and practical wardrobe and very nice shower room. There is free Wifi and a free mini bar, as well as a welcome loot bag with a few lovely snacks.The bathroom goodies are by Malin + Goetz (brownie points Ovolo thank you!) We also adored the comfy flip flops that we happily kept for the rest of our trip in Oz. Breakfast is free but on the go (i.e. take away from the lobby with viennoiseries & nespresso coffee) but we thought that was great. the staff was very friendly and we have NOTHING bad to say about this place. If I went back to Melbourne I would definitely return to the Ovolo. Well done guys, and thanks again, it was a pleasure!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear L_Dana,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

It was a pleasure reading your positive feedback regarding your stay with us in March. I am delighted you have “nothing bad to say” about the hotel and found our all-inclusive approach favourable. I am particularly glad you enjoyed our Malin + Goetz bathroom products, they are a fantastic New York based company.

L_Dana next time you are visiting Melbourne It would be my pleasure to personally assist you with your accommodation requirements.

Kind Regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

What a great experience, a funky hotel in a great Melb location. Whilst the standard room is on the small side, it was perfect for a 1 night business trip. Next time, I'd book a bigger room to suit a small family. Loved the funky fit-out & the concept of free minibar, grab & go breakfast & coffee/drinks in the small but functional lobby. Staff were very friendly & efficient. Looking forward to heading back again soon.

Room Tip: For longer stays or for leisure stays I'd recommend a larger room than the studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Katieb1980

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted you loved our all-inclusive approach and found the staff friendly and efficient.

Next time you wish to book please do not hesitate to contact me directly so I may personally see to your reservation.

Kind Regards,


Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Can't say enough good things about this hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are large, the bed is comfy and the stocked, and free, minibar is an absolute treat. Combine that with unlimited espresso from the lobby, as well as other goodies (free self-service laundry -- detergent supplied and free wifi), the hotel has literally thought of everything.

Two extremely minor comments, more as an FYI than criticisms. The sink in the bathroom, as has been mentioned, is tiny. I have never actually seen anything that tiny my whole life, but given its position in the bathroom, it's understandable. The view from our room of someone else's apartment was also less than spectacular, but we didn't travel from NYC to look out the window of our hotel -- we came to see Melbourne.

Very central and very recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear wdrefan,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for sharing such positive feedback on Trip Advisor. It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us.

Next time you are in Melbourne and wish to book please contact me directly so I may personally assist you.

Kind Regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great location. Easy to get everywhere in Melbourne from here. Right at the top of China town. Free mini bar topped up every day - lovely loot bag with goodies on arrival - take home shopping bag - roomy, funky, very clean, free internet,Long Grain restaurant opposite - yummy.....Staff went out of their way to assist - Matt & the team gave us tram passes, numerous directons, restaurant recomendations,late checkout, quiet room,

Room Tip: Choose a quite room as council bins are emptied early in the morning - not the fault of the hotel, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear MillieWellington,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for sharing your candid feedback on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our inclusions and found Ovolo’s location favourable. I am pleased that Matt and our reception team were able to assist you whilst you were here and I will certainly pass this feedback on.
When next in Melbourne please do not hesitate to contact me directly, it would be my pleasure to organise your accommodation requirements.

Kind Regards,


Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Saw this in a travel section of a newspaper and tried it out on weekend visit to Melbourne. Up the Spring Street end of Bourke Street. Funky and fun. Very friendly reception. Room and wifi were fine, like an apartment. Bathroom was huge but I thought a bit spartan in fittings. Nespresso machine downstairs. No breakfast other than pastries and muffins at reception (fine but calories guys!). Need your Myki card to take tram from Skybus terminal if you have luggage.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Tim S,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you found our reception staff friendly and the hotel “funky and fun”. Should you wish to stay with us again in the future our reception team would be delighted to organise a Skybus shuttle to take you from Ovolo to Southern Cross Station.

Kind Regards

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manukau, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 nights here for our 5th wedding anniversary, absolutely loved every thing about it from the ultra modern rooms to the awesome service from the super friendly staff and self serve breakfasts of pastries and coffee! Also the all inclusive mini bar with beer, wine, juices and water. Nothing was too much trouble with the team happily arranging extras for me beforehand to surprise my husband. The location is also ideal with China Town, restaurants, bars, shops and teams all on your doorstep. We willl definitely be back and can't recommend it highly enough. Thanks team for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Powell61,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a glowing review. I am delighted we were able to make your fifth wedding anniversary a memorable one.

Kind Regards,


Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ovolo Laneways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Laneways

Address: 19 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Laneways 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ovolo's first international hotel in Australia is designed and inspired by the hidden streets and gems that Melbourne is known for. Located within the CBD and steps away from Parliament house and the treasury gardens, Ovolo Laneways offers effortless living without being away from the action of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ovolo Laneways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ovolo Laneways, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.