We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ovolo Laneways

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Ovolo Laneways to your Saves list
Ovolo Laneways
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Newcastle
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My family of four loved this hotel. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment that had a dble room and 2 singles and best of all 3 large televisions. On check out we had to pay for nothing extra. The free mini bar included bottles of water, mineral water both plain and flavored, thai beer and white wine. This was re-stocked daily. If that wasnt enough there is happy hour between 5 and 7 where you can go and chat and have a drink in the lobby. On arrival we recieved 2 goody bags with tim tams, lollies, mints and chips. Breakfast was fine with a help yourself policy to Nespresso coffee, orange juice, apples and huge trays of pastries from the lobby area. Our room was on the fourth floor and had plenty of natural light to the point of being quite warm after returning from a day out. Yes the bathroom shower with its modern design of no door leaks everywhere and yes they are aware of the design fault. But really that was our only problem. The staff were handy with tips on where to eat and drink nearby and a particular thank you to Matt who is amazing. They organised an earlier check in for us and organised a taxi to the airport. This hotel is a less than 5 minutes to the tram stop that offers the free city tram and the 86 that takes you to Bourke St, Spencer St Station, the Casino, the stop for the restaurant tram and to Docklands. The position is fabulous. You are at the end of China Town with heaps of great restaurants and the theatres are in walking distance. We had a fabulous stay and would recommend. Only comment and it didnt effect us is that the bedrooms are smallish and would struggle to hold two large suitcases in each. Not an issue for us though. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: The higher rooms are sunny and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    133
    42
    12
    11
See reviews for
69
162
27
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

The stay at Ovolo hotel in Melbourne really exceeded lur expections. Great Location with a well furnished and spacious two-bedroom apartment. Wifi, drinks, snacks etc all for free! Also we could stay in the room over the full following day without any extra costs! The reception was really friendly and helpful, and helped with dinner booking and other arrangements.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Overall, I am quite impressed with Ovolo and the experience is consistent with most of the reviewers to-date. There are a lot of good things going for it, but at the same time there are some issues.

The "good": (i) great location, (ii) good size rooms, (iii) new modern furnishing, (iv) free wifi, (v) all inclusive rate (drinks and light breakfast), (vi) friendly staff

The "not so good" - (i) many reviewers have written about the sink and I concur (one bedroom apartments have the same tiny sink; not only was it small 1/3 of it was covered by the shelf above and it was also placed so low I cannot wash my hands without bending my knees; (ii) housekeeping - on the day we check in we found plenty of hair (of all kinds) over the pillows and blanket which made us doubt if the housekeeping staff actually replaced the linen between stays (the front desk was helpful and simply moved us to another room with clean linen); (iii) there was a lot of cigarette smell in the hall and also coming from the aircon and we think front desk should be more strict in making sure their guests do not smoke in their rooms; (iv) windows - for those facing the back there are no windows per se, just glass blocks that let in natural light.

While I provided plenty of feedback on the "not so good", overall we had a good stay. There are minor issues that can easily be resolved over time and most problems were rectified quickly by the friendly staff.

Room Tip: For those struggling with the small sink in the toilet, don't forget you also have the kitchen s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed at the Ovolo for 3 nights in November. It is a very nice modern hotel with clean and spacious rooms. A little noisy due to location in the city, but it didn't worry us. Staff were very helpful. Check in was easy

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandy beach
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I would like to post this without even staying there yet .If TA approves .
The phone service has been amazing .
I really wanted to stay here as a surprise for my husband and son ,after flights etc budget was tight .I rang and told them there was a good price nine with wot if. they offered to price match it .i asked how much extra for my 15 year old son ,they said that's ok "no extra " he can sleep on the lounge !
All other hotels were charging $50 extra .i confirmed this with an email and I had accidentally chose the studio with no lounge they sad no problem ,we will upgrade you to the studio suite at no charge .WOW , talk about service .I am not going until May but can't wait ,with the free mini bar and breakfast they really are in a league of there own

Room Tip: Email or phone the lovely staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I recently stayed at the Ovolo Hotel with a group of friends for Derby Day weekend. We had a 2 bedroom apartment on the second floor and had a great time!

The location is one of the main winning points. I typically have never stayed up this end of town and was worried it would be far removed from the action in the real central CBD. Caught a taxi from the train station and was an easy $10 fare. The hotel itself is actually really only a 10minute walk to the main mall shopping areas (so not far at all!) and its own location is fantastic. There are an amazing group of restaurants and bars in the immediate area to try (Siglo, a great rooftop bar is just around the corner) and the theatre round the corner also means there is plenty of activity and things going on.

The hotel was clean and modern with quality amenities. The complimentary mini bar was great for the basics like juice, water and beer and the free muffins/pastry breakfast is a nice little way to start the day. You can grab them on the run on your way out, or take some back up to your room as you get ready.

The only downside would have been the noise form the other rooms, just felt it was a bit louder than the hotels I have stayed at in the past (particularly because we were by the lift as well) but it wasn't nothing too bothersome to really complain about.

I think the thing that makes this hotel stand out is its attention to detail and the little 'extra' things (like the free minibar and breakfast) that really help. You really feel like a valued guest in the hotel when they take care of those little things other hotels don't.

All in all, a fab place to stay on your trip to Melbourne!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I didn't know what to expect as this was the first time I had stayed in a boutique hotel in Melbourne and the first time in this chain. The room I had was a one bedroom suite, it was a good size and the bathroom was large. Free drinks in the fridge, nice touch. The room had not much of a view, basically a brick wall and a couple of windows of the next building, but not unexpected in a low rise building. As we were out all day, this was not a major downside. The good stuff: wi fi, free drinks and pastries at the reception, comfortable bed, two tvs, one each in the living room and bedroom, very friendly staff who were extremely helpful with restaurant bookings, etc. The not so good stuff: sink in the bathroom too small, no choice of pillows, doors are a little thin, we could hear other guests in the corridor.
The price for the room was very reasonable, I'll be back, as Arnie might say.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ovolo Laneways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Laneways

Address: 19 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Laneways 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ovolo's first international hotel in Australia is designed and inspired by the hidden streets and gems that Melbourne is known for. Located within the CBD and steps away from Parliament house and the treasury gardens, Ovolo Laneways offers effortless living without being away from the action of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith and Tingo so you can book your Ovolo Laneways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ovolo Laneways, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.