We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay at Ovolo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ovolo Laneways

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ovolo Laneways to your Saves list
Ovolo Laneways
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Suite Deal - 25% OFF
Ranked #30 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay at Ovolo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

The stay at Ovolo hotel in Melbourne really exceeded lur expections. Great Location with a well furnished and spacious two-bedroom apartment. Wifi, drinks, snacks etc all for free! Also we could stay in the room over the full following day without any extra costs! The reception was really friendly and helpful, and helped with dinner booking and other arrangements.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    164
    46
    17
    11
See reviews for
87
208
39
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Overall, I am quite impressed with Ovolo and the experience is consistent with most of the reviewers to-date. There are a lot of good things going for it, but at the same time there are some issues.

The "good": (i) great location, (ii) good size rooms, (iii) new modern furnishing, (iv) free wifi, (v) all inclusive rate (drinks and light breakfast), (vi) friendly staff

The "not so good" - (i) many reviewers have written about the sink and I concur (one bedroom apartments have the same tiny sink; not only was it small 1/3 of it was covered by the shelf above and it was also placed so low I cannot wash my hands without bending my knees; (ii) housekeeping - on the day we check in we found plenty of hair (of all kinds) over the pillows and blanket which made us doubt if the housekeeping staff actually replaced the linen between stays (the front desk was helpful and simply moved us to another room with clean linen); (iii) there was a lot of cigarette smell in the hall and also coming from the aircon and we think front desk should be more strict in making sure their guests do not smoke in their rooms; (iv) windows - for those facing the back there are no windows per se, just glass blocks that let in natural light.

While I provided plenty of feedback on the "not so good", overall we had a good stay. There are minor issues that can easily be resolved over time and most problems were rectified quickly by the friendly staff.

Room Tip: For those struggling with the small sink in the toilet, don't forget you also have the kitchen s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed at the Ovolo for 3 nights in November. It is a very nice modern hotel with clean and spacious rooms. A little noisy due to location in the city, but it didn't worry us. Staff were very helpful. Check in was easy

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandy beach
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I would like to post this without even staying there yet .If TA approves .
The phone service has been amazing .
I really wanted to stay here as a surprise for my husband and son ,after flights etc budget was tight .I rang and told them there was a good price nine with wot if. they offered to price match it .i asked how much extra for my 15 year old son ,they said that's ok "no extra " he can sleep on the lounge !
All other hotels were charging $50 extra .i confirmed this with an email and I had accidentally chose the studio with no lounge they sad no problem ,we will upgrade you to the studio suite at no charge .WOW , talk about service .I am not going until May but can't wait ,with the free mini bar and breakfast they really are in a league of there own

Room Tip: Email or phone the lovely staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I recently stayed at the Ovolo Hotel with a group of friends for Derby Day weekend. We had a 2 bedroom apartment on the second floor and had a great time!

The location is one of the main winning points. I typically have never stayed up this end of town and was worried it would be far removed from the action in the real central CBD. Caught a taxi from the train station and was an easy $10 fare. The hotel itself is actually really only a 10minute walk to the main mall shopping areas (so not far at all!) and its own location is fantastic. There are an amazing group of restaurants and bars in the immediate area to try (Siglo, a great rooftop bar is just around the corner) and the theatre round the corner also means there is plenty of activity and things going on.

The hotel was clean and modern with quality amenities. The complimentary mini bar was great for the basics like juice, water and beer and the free muffins/pastry breakfast is a nice little way to start the day. You can grab them on the run on your way out, or take some back up to your room as you get ready.

The only downside would have been the noise form the other rooms, just felt it was a bit louder than the hotels I have stayed at in the past (particularly because we were by the lift as well) but it wasn't nothing too bothersome to really complain about.

I think the thing that makes this hotel stand out is its attention to detail and the little 'extra' things (like the free minibar and breakfast) that really help. You really feel like a valued guest in the hotel when they take care of those little things other hotels don't.

All in all, a fab place to stay on your trip to Melbourne!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I didn't know what to expect as this was the first time I had stayed in a boutique hotel in Melbourne and the first time in this chain. The room I had was a one bedroom suite, it was a good size and the bathroom was large. Free drinks in the fridge, nice touch. The room had not much of a view, basically a brick wall and a couple of windows of the next building, but not unexpected in a low rise building. As we were out all day, this was not a major downside. The good stuff: wi fi, free drinks and pastries at the reception, comfortable bed, two tvs, one each in the living room and bedroom, very friendly staff who were extremely helpful with restaurant bookings, etc. The not so good stuff: sink in the bathroom too small, no choice of pillows, doors are a little thin, we could hear other guests in the corridor.
The price for the room was very reasonable, I'll be back, as Arnie might say.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
179 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
334 helpful votes 334 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

RECOMMENDED: This is a new hotel located near Melbourne's China town and centrally located to theaters and restaurants. This is the first int'l location for this well known Hong Kong management company where they normally operate high quality serviced apartments.

This hotel opened in late August 2012 and their rates are relatively low as they establish themselves, thus the value:price ratio is very good. I anticipate rates will increase so now is a good time to book.

I'm a big downer on Australian hotels, the quality in general is not up to int'l standard based upon my travels. I'm happy to say this hotel ranks a 4* on my worldwide scale.

The hotel is small and the reception is tiny but the staff during my stay were excellent and accommodating. Rooms are studio, large 1 bedroom, 1 bedroom separate, 2 bedrooms and Penthouse. In short, they adjusted the rooms to fit the existing building.

The rooms are "warm & inviting" full of cute little things that will make your visit all the more fun. There is an open mini-bar, free snacks and a complete entertainment system (awesome). Lighting was good with LED low energy but bright white lights. Flooring is a composite wood that is nice on your feet. Bedding was comfortable. Overall I was quite comfy here.

Internet is FREE. This is a my biggest peeve as Australian hotels charge upwards of $25 a day for Internet, bordering on criminal.

As to negatives, I can't recommend the studio room (which I had) sadly the sink in the bathroom was literally the size of a toaster and it was impossible to use without getting the entire floor wet. There is also nearly no storage in the bathroom. Amongst all the positives, this would have driven me crazy for a longer visit. As well, taking a shower (beautiful rain shower head BTW) got the entire room wet as well. Luckily, they provide a large supply of nice towels. Studios are perhaps better for a single traveler.

This is an active area and it was a colder night and I heard no people noise from the street, but at 6 a.m. the trash trucks could be heard. The building is literally surrounded by noise opportunities and together with relatively close rooms, I wonder what the noise level may be like when operating full on a drunken Friday night.

I got a peek at the 1-bedroom and the bath sink was much bigger (& acceptable) so your mileage will vary.

Overall, this is an excellent and welcome addition to the Melbourne scene and I hope it forces other hotels to improve their game.

TIP: Skip the pub next door, awful food

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ovolo Laneways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Laneways

Address: 19 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Laneways 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ovolo's first international hotel in Australia is designed and inspired by the hidden streets and gems that Melbourne is known for. Located within the CBD and steps away from Parliament house and the treasury gardens, Ovolo Laneways offers effortless living without being away from the action of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Ovolo Laneways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ovolo Laneways, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.