We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Steak!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Seafood Bar Grill

Waterfront Seafood Bar Grill
Southgate Avenue | A ground floor, shop 20/3, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
+61 39686 9766
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 4,055 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, Bar, Grill
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Steak!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We both opted for the steak. This came perfectly cooked just as we ordered. The wine list was extensive, ith many great Oz wines so we opted for a great red wine which complimented the steak. Very good service, pudding was a little disappointing, but a great spot!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    122
    37
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great steak, service and wine menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stopped here quite late, approx 11pm and they sat us and served us without hurrying us along. We both had a steak which was perfectly cooked and the vast wine list was a nice surprise. It was a particularly cold night but we both had to remove some layers as the radiant heaters were working really well that night!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great food and beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

First night in Melbourne; no plans for dinner; and just walking along the side of the river looking at menus. Waterfront looked like a good bet and eating there turned out to be an excellent decision. The restaurant is well laid out which meant that we had good views of the river and Melbourne's CBD even though we were seated inside and there were tables between us and the river. The restaurant also has attractive and interesting decor which contributes to its lovely atmosphere. The service could have been faster but the staff were friendly and helpful. The food was fantastic. I had a delicious barramundi and my wife chose one of the mussel pots (which I'd never seen presented so well). Waterfront isn't cheap but given the location and food the prices are more than reasonable. It would be perfect for a special occasion.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing service spoils great food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I cannot remember the last time we decided not to tip at a table service restaurant, but this was one. We had not made a booking so fully understood that a table outside was unlikely, but when we ask if there is a nice table for two available, being taken to the worst table in the place next to the noisy kitchen was not a great start. They reluctantly sorted that out but then one of our pet hates happened! Having been asked if we would like a pre-dinner drink and then ordering our meals when asked, our entrees arrived within about 5 minutes. We asked them to slow our main so that we were not done within 26 minutes which they did but again frustrated when the waiter simply plonked our meals and then turned away before the plate had hit the table. It was sad that when we asked for the bill, it took 3 times longer to get to us than the entree took took!! Having said all that, the food was delicious. The chowder (although not a thick or generous serve) is full of succulent seafood. Grilled snapper and tempura prawns were delicious too. The wine was reasonably well priced for Melbourne but yes, waitress, we DO need fresh glasses when moving from white to red!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very nice spot with good service and quality food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I really enjoyed this spot. Quality fit-out with nice booths for larger groups. Good heating for outside area during cooler months. The location is great. I enjoyed both the seafood and the steak. Good wine list.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront Seafood Bar Grill also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Waterfront Seafood Bar Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Seafood Bar Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.