We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly priced and perfectly positioned” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abacus Apartments

Abacus Apartments
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abacus Apartments
Save
You added Abacus Apartments to your Saves list
23 Avoca Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria VIC, 3141, Australia (South Yarra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Adelaide
1 review
“Perfectly priced and perfectly positioned”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Great property close to the more interesting and cultural side of Melbourne. Your five mins from everything, with great access to public transport and major roads. Perfect for restaurants and shopping in a very cool and trendy side of Melbourne.

Nice quiet side street off Toorak road, never heard any traffic or other guests. Great size one bedroom apartment all to myself. With all mod cons stylish decor and soft furnishings. Kitchen was clean with a large fridge and separate freezer.The room was light and airy with great views of the area.The electric blanket was a nice touch on a very cold and foggy weekend. And I slept like a baby in a very spacious cozy bed.

Price very reasonable and even better that car parking was free and secure. A little gem in the middle of Melbourne. I will defiantly stay at The Abacus apartments again.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
4
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

set in trendy south yarra only 5 min walk to chapel st, this place is a real winner for the price. the apartments are furnished with modern trendy furniture and a large lounge room to laze about in. a block of only 20 or so apartments in a quiet street so you wont be bothered by any noise. if youre heading to melbourne this is the area and this is the place to stay..... will be back forsure

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011 via mobile

What a fantastic place. Tucked away in Avoca St South Yarra. I can't speak highly enough about my stay. Was extremely clean. Great location and all the staff were so friendly and helpful. Its only 23 apartments so it felt more like a private hotel to us.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

My husband booked 2 bedrooms Abacus Apartments for our trip in July 2010. We travelled with our 5 years old son. The morning we checked in, we were just informed that the apartment we stayed was 4 blocks away. No prior information was given about this situation. And we had lots of big luggage. When we entered the apartment, the carpet was very dirty. No phone could be found even though they said the phone was available. And in front of the apartment, there was house construction even though we requested for quiet neighborhood and the reservation confirmed to us we would get quiet apartment. We were so disappointed when we saw the apartment and we wanted to check out and got our money back straight away. But we had to wait for 3 hours because the reception hadn't come. It was a very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Abacus Apartments are definitely not as advertised on their website.
The walls were badly marked.....and a bad patchy paint job had been attempted to tidy the room at some stage.
The TV was years old and the advertised Foxtel was Sports1, Sports2, Sports3 and National Geographic,.....fine if you are really into sport which I am not.
There was a horrendous smell coming from underneath the sink which my partner had to spray with his cologne to try to settle. In the end we decided to avoid opening that cupboard even though it contained the bin as it was too offensive to bare.
The bathroom was a whole new world of bad. Mould was all through the shower and even the glass was filthy. The kitchen basin still had ring marks from previous guests' glasses and tiles had fallen/been removed from the wall and not replaced.
Reception also demanded a $400 bond upon check-in which had not been advised at the time of the booking. 10 days later this bond still has not been returned.
Would not recommend to anyone......the only massive plus is the location.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

We had a 2 br apartment booked for a Fri & Sat night and were informed that we would be sent the access code. We hadn't received it on Friday afternoon so called to find out why. We were rudely informed that our booking had been incorrectly entered for the wrong dates and that there were no 2 br apartments available today.

We enquired about other apartments and discovered that there were a couple of 1 brs that we could have for the first night and then change to a 2br for the second night... BUT the woman on the phone wouldn't let us have them at the same price as a 2br apartment even though it was their mistake.

She was defensive and rude and even went so far as to suggest that we had got our own dates wrong. She did not take any responsibility for their error and made no attempt to keep us happy or resolve the situation.

We ended up finding a fantastic deal with Manor House - a 4.5 star place in South Yarra which I would HIGHLY recommend. When we informed Abacus that we wanted to cancel our reservation which they had book for the wrong dates and were unwilling to rectify and the woman then attempted to charge us a cancellation fee. OUTRAGEOUS! After battling with her she finally let up and we were able to cancel without a fee.

Very disappointing experience but glad we stayed at Manor House instead.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

We stayed at abacus apartmetn with our 3 young children, who were more than pleased with the outdoor courtyard, and space to run around. The staff were very pleasent and overly helpfull.

The apartment itself, although not the most modern was clean and tidy, and the facilities were just what we needed.

Would definitely recommend this to anyone with young family or couples looking for somewhere to stay on holidays. The location is perfect so close to the cbd, and everything else!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abacus Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abacus Apartments

Address: 23 Avoca Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria VIC, 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > South Yarra
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's innovative serviced apartment operation. 4+ star townhouses, 3BR, 2BR & 1 BR apartments. Locations - the premium parts of South Yarra. Price - modest tariffs. Abacus wants you to return. Service - Abacus is committed to excellence. All apartments have a fully-equipped kitchen with leading brand appliances - oven, cooking range, microwave, dishwasher, granite benchtops, etc. Imported leather furniture, flat screen TV, DVD, direct dial telephone, heating & air conditioning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abacus Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abacus Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.