We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really enjoyed this authentic French food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Dorsay

Bistro Dorsay
184 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
03 9654 6498
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 3,914 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“I really enjoyed this authentic French food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We had found this restaurant as we were walking on Collins Street, and despite being near the tourist centres (and therefore more at risk of having only passable food), we were genuinely surprised by the quality and authenticity of the food. It was a very good representation of what we now consider "traditional" French food, with each course being very good. It could have rated a 5 quite easily, but we had recently eaten in an outstanding restaurant (which was 3 times the price!), and so it suffered by comparison. However, would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    53
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great Pre Theatre Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Positioned opposite the Regent Theatre in Collins St. We have often gone by but never ventured in to this little gem. It is small, quaint and very French. We can't wait to go back when we have more time. We started with the shared charcuterie plate, followed by gnocchi with eye fillet ragout and an eye fillet steak. The gnocchi were home made and the steak cooked to perfection. To drink we choose glasses of Chablis and Bordeaux. This was great value at $170. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

A little French style restaurant with great food, wine and good service. Plenty of choice on menu.
I would definitely return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyneton, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“New Years Eve Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My husband and I had a beautiful New Years Eve dinner here. The food was delicious, the wait staff excellent. It was great to be able to order a meal off the menu for this special night. ( as apposed to a lot of places having 3 & 4 course dinners ) We have eaten here a few times in the past and it is always terrific. It's great to sit outside on a nice evening as the inside is a little crowded with the tables small and very close together. As the evening progressed it became a little chilly sitting outside and we asked for the heater to be turned on. We had 2 people stop to ask for money as they were passing by, they were both friendly and didn't really cause a problem. We will definitely go back here when we are in the city for another weekend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, New Zealand
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We were unable to dine the first evening we tried to book, due to there being no vacancies. However, we tried for a second time and were lucky enough to make a reservation. It was well worth the wait. Our waiter was informative and charming. We thoroughly enjoyed our three courses, bottle of wine and glass of port at a total cost of $203.50. Not an everyday price and certainly not an everyday meal. Lovely for a special occasion.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Dorsay also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Bistro Dorsay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Dorsay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.