We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breaky by the Yarra” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boatbuilders Yard

The Boatbuilders Yard
23 South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #503 of 3,915 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: The Boatbuilders Yard is an award winning Bar and Kitchen that brings an informal European-style eating and drinking to Melbourne. Conveniently located next to Polly Woodside and the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre on the banks of the Yarra River, The Boatbuilders Yard is a quick 10 minute walk from Southern Cross Station. Designed by Six Degrees Architects, the venue retains the cultural heritage and charm of Melbourne's famous Maritime precinct, with a modern design twist on the original shed. Bookings can only be made up for up to 4pm, Monday through Fridays.
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Breaky by the Yarra”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Really nice place for breakfast by the fire . Really generous portions and lots of lovely , friendly touches like the hot milo , blankets for cold knees and outdoor deck chairs . Only problem the coffee wasn't hot just warm for everyone at the table .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    61
    17
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Ordered a selection of food both from the kitchen and from the display cabinet. The gentleman serving me removed the item I ordered from the display cabinet to toast (a roll) and mentioned he would bring it to me. 30 mins later after the kitchen food had come and been eaten I questioned as to where my food was only to be told they had run out. When I ordered there were 4 left. The response recieved by staff was far from apologetic. Being a docklands local I will never be coming back and will be letting everyone know how poor the servicr was. There are plenty of better places to go along the yarra.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury , Western Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fine for a quick bite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We sat by the fire on a freezing night for our meal. It is very cosy inside and you order your food and then you go outside to collect it, which sort of spoiled the experience for us. The servings were quite small and the food was basic pub food. The whole experience was just OK.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A good find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Lovely warm spot on a chilly morning, good wholesome food and a great coffee, very relaxing and quiet so close to the city centre. Will be back tomorrow.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great breakfast on a sunny winter day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great spot for a no fussy breakfast just eggs with choice of sides on sourdough, but the atmosphere is good and spacious. Great price and service also.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boatbuilders Yard also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to The Boatbuilders Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boatbuilders Yard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.