We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - it has everything you need” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Space Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Space Hotel to your Saves list
Space Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   380 Russell Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent - it has everything you need”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Finding a reasonably priced and nice hostel in Melbourne was challenging. Space hotel was a great option and I'm glad I stayed here (even though it takes some getting used to the cost of travelling in Australia). This was one of the cleanest hostels I have stayed in and if there were ensuite bathrooms I would probably say it is closer to a hotel.

We stayed in a double room, yes it was small but it has everything you need a a flatscreen TV for comfort! The only thing is that the windows don't open so you don't have any fresh air getting in, just AC. The room itself, and the hostel in general, is immaculately clean. Room included AC, TV, storage and towels. There are a number of bathrooms and showers on each floor as well.

As mentioned by many other reviewers, SPACE has a lot of facilities. There is a bar downstairs that usually have some drink/dinner offer on. There are lots of computers and wifi, although I have to agree with others that these are incredibly overpriced. We did not bother using internet here at all. They have laundry facilities, storage facilities, viewing deck, a modern kitchen, tea making facilities on each floor - I really think they provide a great service for travelers. I also found the staff to be very helpful in suggesting what to do in Melbourne and providing me with information on the area. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    190
    69
    23
    26
See reviews for
30
89
159
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I was looking for a last minute option for a hotel in North Melbourne and this was by far the cheapest per night. It wasn't super cheap at $150 per night for a room with a shared bathroom but nothing in CBDs ever is in Australia. Having said that the staff were really friendly, the room was very clean and the bed really comfortable.

I would recommend it and the location is great - really near Chinatown and Carlton as well as the CBD.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed there for 1 week, and it felt just like home. Corner budget twin room, feels spacious and comfortable. Several individual shared bathroom accessed with key card is located conveniently at each floors.
Large shared kitchenette makes it easier for us to store and cook our meals. Laundry room fully equipped with coin-operated washers, dryers and laundry powder vending machine was available to travelers as well.
Other bonuses also included a movie room, common room, and welcome drinks from the Blue Moon bar. The employees were extremely friendly to us too

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here in 3 different rooms over 3 different nights (last minute bookings), staff were accommodating and helpful. I stayed in a 4 person dorm one night, a 6 person dorm and a twin private room another night. Overall the stays were enjoyable, and reasonable prices for the nights. Was a little upset that the roof space was unaccessable due to the time I arrived but I could have used it in the morning if I wanted to. The first 2 nights the bathrooms were good, the last night, I thought they may have been better due to more expensive room, but in fact slightly worse due to no door on shower area.The twin private room was rather cool/cold, and a single blanket was hard to combat the coolness of the room. Pillows were excellent, beds were great, comfortable and a good sleep, towels provided were a a good size and very absorbent. Overall a good very good experience, and would stay again, (maybe with a second blanket in the twin room!!)

Room Tip: Dorm style rooms had manageable air con. Arrive earlier than around 9 pm if you want to use some of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

my wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in an en suite room, which we found to perfectly fine for a base to see the city. The CBD is all within walking distance as long as you are reasonably fit, parking the car during the day can be dear but not unreasonable for a big city. The room was comfortable, with tvand ensuite facilities. Internet access was available for a charge in the cafe, which I found to be very useful. All in all I would recommend for a base for a city break.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

so, the place is overall clean, even if you find a lot of forgotten stuff in the bathrooms, and they get so full of water when people showers.
it does have a good kitchen and there is always cleaning staff around. the safety is pretty good, but, SERIOUSLY, 10 dollars a day for an internet connection? 40 dollars for a week? that's unbelievable. that's a big no-no.
the staff was not the most friendly, too. it's good to have the chance to use hairdryers and kitchen kit (bowl, plate, glass, mug and cutlery) though.

Room Tip: i was on floor 3, in a double room, so you could sleep with no problems. the only thing i would sugg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Although the Space Hotel dresses itself up as an upmarket backpackers they have space for everything else but cyclists.

I was made to feel like an intruder when I rolled up with by bicycle. "You can't bring that in here!"
she said. " You will just have to lock it out there on the street".

I informed them that I had had a bicycle stolen within a kilometre of the hotel previously, where they had simply picked up the no-standing pole and extracted my bicycle. On the edge of the CBD, the Space Hotel was no place to leave an expensive touring bicycle outside.

"We have no room for cars either" she retorted. "I am not a driver and a bike is not a car and just needs a very small SPACE to have it secure. Finally she conceded after I said I would tell the world that there was no Space for cyclists. So I was allowed to put my bike in the baggage room but I was told that I would have to get up a 6 am to remove it and put it back on the street.

The desk staff member later informed that she got "in trouble" for doing this so in the end I manager's desire to make sure no positive review was going to come from any cyclist

Sorry Space Hotel, as a cyclists and consumer of low cost accommodation, you have lost me!

Room Tip: Any cyclists do yourself a favour do not go the it is a BLACK HOLE for your bike
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Space Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Space Hotel

Address: 380 Russell Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Space Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Space Hotel is where luxury meets budget. Being a traveler doesn’t mean you have to choose between a great experience and a good night’s sleep. At Space Hotel, you can have both. Enjoy modern, comfortable accommodation right between the vibrant Melbourne CBD and Lygon St, the city’s most famous restaurant & bars district. Relax, have fun and explore, it’s your space to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Space Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Space Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.