We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent place to stay at.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Space Hotel

Save Saved
You added Space Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Space Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   380 Russell Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A decent place to stay at.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed in the triple bed ensure room for a week. The facilities are good, from the never-ending supply of hot water at the corridors to the gym and the kitchen on the fifth floor. The rooms don't get cleaned everyday though, which is fine. My only complaint is that some of the tenants can get especially loud late at night and the fact that there's no free wifi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    153
    56
    22
    22
See reviews for
27
77
118
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I was in the triple sharing room with en suite bathroom. The room was just nice in size, clean and neat. Bathroom was big! The staff was very friendly and helpful even through my communication with them before stepping into the hotel.

The beds were not made up but that didn't bother me. I like the fact that clean towels were given everyday. I will definitely come back here to stay. I am only sorry that we left the room is a messy state. I am really truly sorry for that!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Came for the week to visit friends and see Melbourne. Location was great but getting there was extremely confusing and directions were horrible. Paid the same price for a hotel but rooms were not made up each day. Also bathrooms didn't seem to be cleaned. Went to the bar/restaurant to eat and it was extremely loud as the DJ speakers are right on the dance floor. Kitchen and rooftop view is amazing as well as the laundry and gym facilities (did not use cinema room).

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is a review of a twin room taken on a Friday and Saturday night costing $150. As things worked out I travelled alone.

Social
I am around 50 yrs old and most hotel clients were in their early twenties though on the second night I saw a few clients that appeared to be in their thirties and even 60's. When venturing into their pub it was mainly young guys and girls in their twenties who largely kept to their own groups but seemed friendly enough. Bar staff were pleasant. Some events are run to encourage mixing but I cannot comment on how popular or successful these are.

Facilities
Firstly you should know that alcohol is not allowed in the rooms. Strangely enough there is plenty of encouragement to drink at their bar which has a lot of discount drink offers which may account for some of the noise heard in the early hours of the morning when revellers carry on in the corridors as the rooms are not that sound proof.
In your tiny single room ir about 3m x 3m there is a good panel TV, two beds and a central air conditioner which you need to fiddle with along with the vents to be comfortable. There is a desk and a wardrobe. There is no fridge or toilet. There is some tea and coffee facilities. Hot water is available on each floor outside the room. Most facilities in the place are accessed using swipe cards including the toilets and showers. Probably because of fire regulations the doors are solid and close automatically with a loud clunk which could be an annoyance for light sleepers or those that value a bit of peace and quiet. Peak clunking periods appear to be early and late in the evening. Beds were comfortable (mattress on wood base) but unless you get your air cond setting right you could wake up cold. There was no room service given during my two day stay.

The bathroom facilities and shower are adequate and built to last rather than for style. They were secure and private. They were kept in a reasonably clean condition though water gets splashed about a bit.

An advantage of this place is that you have a full kitchen at your disposal and good refrigeration though I did not see a freezer. There is commercial quality equipment used here. Furniture and the general eating space was clean and modern but spartan. You need to hire dinner plates and cutlery. There is a great view to the city on the 5th floor kitchen which is a plus. You can also go to the eighth floor and enjoy a better view. Overall I felt like I was staying in a cross between a motel and a good caravan park.
Overall
This place is basically an upmarket backpackers place well suited to young people who want to meet other young people staying in a range of accommodation styles from shared to semi private. Considering its closeness to the city centre, nightlife and transport it is reasonable value for most and was the best value for a Friday and Saturday night in Melbourne central that I could find on the net.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the toilets if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaceHotel1, Public Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Peter,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.
The Twin room generaly runs cheaper than the $150 per night however due to the Australian Open the prices all around Melbourne where higher.
Space Hotel offeres personal sets of dishes and cutlery at reception for guests to use. These sets are given out for free but require a refundable deposit so that they get returned to reception.
Room Tip. The rooms on levels 1-4 where renovated instead of built new like the rooms on levels 5 – 8 and therefore do not have the same levels of noise protection as the upper levels. Ifbetter noise protection is required please ask one of our frienly staff for a room on the higher levels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was more like a hotel than a hostel. We stayed here for the Melbourne Cup, there was such a good buzz. The pub downstairs did decent, cheap food, and had various special offers.

The only hostel I've been in where they actually give you your own towels!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaceHotel1, Public Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and can’t wait to serve you agin in the future!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

over $170 for a so called queen size room. NO BATHROOM, no amenityies in your room other than a TV and the walls are paper thin. I am absolutly discusted with this motels so called newly renovated rooms. A coat of paint doesnt change how discusting they are, not to mention the "Communal battherooms" which were dirty. This is not a place to stay unless your backpacking and dont intend on coming back. It may appear clean on the service, but it was not. They charge for EVERTYHING....cant even get a knife and folk, cup etc without a $20 depoit. No parking arrangments with anyone and you have to move your car if you want to stay in the park down the road, or street parking. LIke i said, it is a ripp off. There are far better places to stay in Melburne if you just want to come down for the night as a couple...never again.

Room Tip: There are not tips. If your a couple, dont bother. This really is a packpackers lodge for travelller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaceHotel1, Guest Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Mel,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.
The Queen Room generaly runs cheaper than the $170 per night however due to the Australian Open the prices all around Melbourne where signifigantly higher. I am sorry that you where not satisfied with your stay. We try our very best to describe the rooms exactly as they are and show very clear pictures on our website. The room that you booked does use the communal bathrooms however there are plenty of other room types that can be booked with their own private en-suits.
Space Hotel offeres personal sets of dishes and cutlery Free of charge that are availible at reception for guests to use. These sets are given out for free but require a refundable deposit so that they get returned to reception.
Space Hotel is cleaned 24 hours a day 7 days a week and has won a number of cleanlyness awards so I am very surprissed that you where not satisfied with this aspect of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a twin room for 2 nights. Room was modern, clean, good A/c, tv and iPod docking station! Awesome! Shared bathrooms were clean and showers really powerful. There were several showers and toilets on our floor so never had to wait. There was also a water and hot water station on the floor and tea/ coffee supplied in the room.

Location is right in the middle of the city. 5 mins walk to restaurants, bars, shops. The Blue Moon bar attached to the hotel is nice for a pre gaming drink. They had happy hour $2 pots of beer or sparkles.

The hot tub wasn't in use when we were there. But the roof terrace is huge and had nice loungers to chill on. Kitchen was huge and very modern, looked like a restaurant kitchen! The movie room looks like a proper cinema and was showing the Australian Open Tennis :)

I will definitely go back to Space!


Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaceHotel1, Guest Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thanlyou for your great review! We look forward to serving you again in the near future!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Space Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Space Hotel

Address: 380 Russell Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 101 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Space Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Space Hotel is where luxury meets budget. Being a traveler doesn’t mean you have to choose between a great experience and a good night’s sleep. At Space Hotel, you can have both. Enjoy modern, comfortable accommodation right between the vibrant Melbourne CBD and Lygon St, the city’s most famous restaurant & bars district. Relax, have fun and explore, it’s your space to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, HostelWorld, Agoda, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Space Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Space Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.