We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice in Melbourne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Robinsons in the City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Robinsons in the City to your Saves list
Robinsons in the City
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   405 Spencer Street | (entry on Batman Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3003, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 29 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Wanaka, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great choice in Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Paul couldn't have been more helpful during our 3 night stay at RITC. The B & B is close to the tram system which takes you into the centre of the city. The breakfast was really delicious and we appreciated being able to have an early breakfast on the day of our departure. Our room was comfortable with a private bathroom down the hall.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumphAust, General Manager at Robinsons in the City, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Trish P, Thanks for saying we are a "great choice in Melbourne" in your recent review. I am pleased you enjoyed your three nights at RITC and appreciated the breakfast and our location. It was a pleasure to meet you. Cheers, Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    32
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
104
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Hawea, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

My mum and I spent three nights at Robinsons in the City and found the owner Paul to be extremely helpful with local knowledge. From informing us about how the tram system worked (and giving us the pre-pay cards to use, saving us $6 each), to where the best Mexican restaurant in the CBD was, he was a mine of information.
We also really appreciated him giving us an early breakfast and dropping us at the bus station on the morning of our departure.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumphAust, Owner at Robinsons in the City, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Catherine P, Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of your three night stay at Robinsons in the City. It was lovely to meet you and your mother. Local knowledge and recommendations are my specialty and I enjoy sharing Melbourne with my guests. It was my pleasure to offer you an early breakfast to accommodate your early start to the day and give you a lift to the station. Cheers, PAul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Such a fantastic place to stay! We were welcomed at the door by Paul, providing us with a map, transport options and an overview of the place. Such a great location for the markets and many other places in the CBD. Breakfast was sensational! And the quaint historic feel of the place only made our stay that little bit more special!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumphAust, Owner at Robinsons in the City, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Kristelle33,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at RITC earlier this year. I am glad that the quaintness and history of our property added to your stay in Melbourne. I pride myself on offering a personalised service and I was glad to read that you appreciated that.

Cheers, Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We spent 3 nights at Robinsons and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Despite 40 C weather, the air conditioning did it's stuff and we remained cool. The location is very good, quiet and ultra convenient for exploring the city. Paul is a great host and nothing was too much trouble. Shops are close and there is safe parking. Quirky conversion from an old Bakery, but that added to the charm of the place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

What a find. The help we had on our arrival was brilliant, advice on the city, restaurants and what to do.

Right in the city but quiet, homley and friendly. Paul could not do enough to ensure that were comfortable.


Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumphAust, Owner at Robinsons in the City, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Goa4, thanks for the review of your stay and the comments regarding all the help and recommendations you received. Its nice to read that you thought RITC was a "find". Regards, Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at RITC for 10 nights. That amount of time in a hotel would be very different: at RITC it was almost a home from home. Paul is a very good host and gave us info. on nearby restaurants, events, etc.
We had the best breakfast we have had at any lodging, enjoyed with other guests from around the world.

Room Tip: If you have any trouble with stairs ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumphAust, Owner at Robinsons in the City, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
JenMP, Thank you for your review of your stay at RITC. It was great to meet you and talk about Canada and Toronto (seeing as my partner is Canadian). Im pleased that in the course of your 10 night stay you had the feeling of a "home away from home." Its also great to read that you thought the breakfast the best of any of your recent lodgings! That's high praise. Cheers, Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

It was a great location an easy walk from the station and up from Docklands. As a converted old Bakery it was a building with charm and history. Paul was helpful and welcoming and overall an excellent host. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet and the breakfast was delightful. I bought some of the jewellery on display. :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumphAust, Owner at Robinsons in the City, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
happyhoneynooner9, thanks for the 5 out of 5 rating in your review. I was pleased to read that you found the room to be clean, comfortable and quiet and the breakfast "delightful". All key components of a bed & breakfast! Cheers, Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Robinsons in the City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robinsons in the City

Address: 405 Spencer Street | (entry on Batman Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3003, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Robinsons in the City 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2014/2013/2012/2011 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence award winner and Melbourne's own urban bed & breakfast offers 6 unique guestrooms in a restored 1850's heritage building - Melbourne's first commercial bakery. This property is a rare find, located on the doorstep of the CBD. Robinsons is stylish, different and thoroughly delightful. Make yourself at home, where country charm meets city sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Robinsons in the City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Robinsons in the City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.