We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Robinsons in the City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Robinsons in the City to your Saves list
Robinsons in the City
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   405 Spencer Street | (entry on Batman Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3003, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 29 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We arrived early from the UK on a Sunday morning, Paul welcomed us with a cheery greeting after our long journey. His hospitality is second to none. Great room, great breakfasts and enjoyed the the informal friendly atmosphere that Paul creates over the breakfast table every morning. When we return to Melbourne Robinsons in the City will be our first stop over.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumphAust, Owner at Robinsons in the City, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
MnT71, I am pleased you took the time to review Robinsons in the City and that you enjoyed your time with us. Our friendly, knowledgeable service is one thing that we get a lot of comments on - so I am happy that you appreciated it as well. It was great that you chose to start your Australian vacation on Melbourne and at Robinsons. Cheers, Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    33
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
106
13
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Top Contributor
446 reviews 446 reviews
170 hotel reviews
Reviews in 193 cities Reviews in 193 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I picked this from TR and then asked the Travel Agent to book it, they did it room only, Paul saved the day by including breakfast, which was always freshly cooked and really nice. I was attracted by the age of the building and of course write ups I am not a huge fan of big table meals it is a way of getting to know your fellow travellers but mornings are not my forte everyone to their own. Paul was really helpful and the gifts of wine, teddy, key ring and a rugby ball very kind. I also liked the idea of the en suite out of the room so to speak because that way you actually got a proper bathroom. Ideal location for everything really and we would try Gertrude Street a bit further away which we did not find until the last day. Ask Paul he knows everything.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumphAust, Owner at Robinsons in the City, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
iantoes, I hope you guys made it back home OK and had a blast on your British Lions tour of Australia. It was great having a B&B full of staunch rugby fans on that weekend in Melbourne! Thanks for pointing out the history of our building, the B&B facilities and also my local knowledge. I am pleased that my suggestions helped you enjoy your stay in Melbourne. Cheers, Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My fiancée and I stayed at RITC for the June long weekend and we cannot praise the venue or Paul highly enough.
Paul was waiting for us when we arrived and provided an overview of Melbourne, the common facilities and our room. We stayed in a room with a separate bathroom and it was warm, comfortable and clean. The bathroom was well appointed and available for our exclusive use.
The butler’s pantry is well appointed with free tea, coffee and ice. RITC provides thermos style flasks to allow guests to store milk in their rooms overnight for a morning coffee which we thought was a nice touch. Although we did not partake of the bar in the pantry it was well appointed and very reasonably priced.
Paul provided a fantastic breakfast every morning and was happy to share the history of the area. Paul’s attitude in the breakfast room was contagious with other guests happily discussing what they had found in Melbourne and tips for activities during the day.
RITC has a fantastic location, a short walk to the free city circle tram or the regular tram service.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will stay with Paul at RITC on our next visit Melbourne. Anyone visiting Melbourne should stay at RITC!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumphAust, Owner at Robinsons in the City, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Sirca21, That is a very comprehensive and glowing review. Thank you for taking the time to post. I look forward to welcoming you back to RITC on your next visit to Melbourne. Cheers, Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Robinsons is in a great location, a short walk to the free city circle tram and a short walk to two of the best coffee shops in North Melb, Twenty & Six Espresso and The Auctions Rooms.

Paul, your host, is friendly and has a great relaxed attitude. Nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are clean and the lounge and breakfast area is beautifully presented. You really do feel like you are staying in a friends home. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumphAust, Owner at Robinsons in the City, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
hms138,

Thank you for entering your review on TripAdvisor and pointing out some "off the beaten tourist track" options in fantastic North Melbourne. There are some great restaurants and cafes up there. It was also good to see the pic of your cat as your TripAdvisor pic! I still can't believe her age! Looking forward to seeing you guys when you are back in town.

Cheers, Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Paul was very accomodating and friendly when i arrived. The location was handy to the city.
Breakfast was excellent as was the coffee. The actual site is steeped in history - it was an old bakery.

There is a good pub about 5 minutes up the road. I was too late for dinner but people were friendly.

The room does not have an ensuite but your private bathroom was about 2 metres from my door.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumphAust, General Manager at Robinsons in the City, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
mal_chaney,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Robinsons earlier this month. Again, like previous reviews, you have mentioned the key features of Robinsons - I am glad you appreciated them. See you on your next trip to Melbourne.

Cheers, Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
templeton,ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you want a great experience in Melbourne, this is the place to stay. Robinsons in the City is a wonderful B &B, where you can make yourself at home. The larger king room that we had for 4 nights was the perfect size, with room to spare. Although the bathroom is down a very short hall, it worked out perfectly. The bathroom is a good size and the toiletries were great. Paul, our host, is incredible, just like all the reviews stated. He was friendly, knowledgable and went out of his way to be helpful and accommodating. He even got up early to get us breakfast the morning we left early for the airport. The location is great, as long as you like to walk. The free tram is about 4 blocks away; an easy walk. Besides, with all the food you get for breakfast, the walk was necessary so we didn't come home carrying Australia with us! There is a refrigerator that you can use to store items and there is always coffee and tea, in addition to what is in your room. And there is port at night! It was a fabulous experience and we would stay with Paul again. Thanks for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumphAust, General Manager at Robinsons in the City, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
JimandDonnaJ,

Thank you for the detailed review and choosing to stay at Robinsons last month. You've picked up on the key to Robinsons "where you can make yourself at home" - good location, good breakfast, good room, clean bathroom and good facilities & amenities.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your time in Melbourne.

Cheers, Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed 4 nights at Robinson's. Both of us enjoyed our stay very much - very convenient (with the trams and walkable to Queen Vic markets, skybus and free hotel dropoff), wifi, cable TV, splendid breakfast made by Paul, and car parking. The bathrobes were a lovely touch as it was pretty chilly during our stay in Melbourne. Paul was an excellent host, and was helpful to our touristy questions. Rooms were also clean and well stocked with toiletries. Thanks Paul!

Room Tip: Only one room has an ensuite bathroom, so book early to avoid disappointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumphAust, General Manager at Robinsons in the City, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
eureka29,

It was lovely to meet you both and I thank you for taking the time to review your 4 night stay at Robinsons. Once again a review that highlights our great location and thoughtful in-room amenities and facilities.

A valid tip as well - as we mention continuously in all on-line text - 5 rooms each have their own separate private bathroom and the Executive King Room is an ensuite bathroom.

Cheers, Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Robinsons in the City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robinsons in the City

Address: 405 Spencer Street | (entry on Batman Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3003, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Robinsons in the City 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2014/2013/2012/2011 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence award winner and Melbourne's own urban bed & breakfast offers 6 unique guestrooms in a restored 1850's heritage building - Melbourne's first commercial bakery. This property is a rare find, located on the doorstep of the CBD. Robinsons is stylish, different and thoroughly delightful. Make yourself at home, where country charm meets city sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Robinsons in the City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Robinsons in the City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.