We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Charsfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Charsfield to your Saves list
Hotel Charsfield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   478 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Charsfield for about a week early last April.
This was my husband's first visit to Australia, and my first since my parents emigrated years ago. We couldn't have chosen a better place to stay: great staff, great location on several tram lines, and quiet, well-appointed rooms in a gorgeous old building. The breakfast buffet (which we had twice) had a variety of hot and cold selections; there were several interesting restaurants within easy walking distance; and next-door parking was reasonably priced for Melbourne. Overall, the Charsfield was a great value. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again - hope it's still there next time we visit!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Maria R

Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful 5 star review of Hotel Charsfield.

We are thrilled that you and your husband enjoyed your stay and it was the perfect choice for your visit to Melbourne. We also appreciate your positive comments regarding the friendly and helpful service provided, convenient and central location and the quiet and well appointed rooms on offer.

We are also pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast offered in the Restaurant and had the opportunity to experience several of the great nearby restaurants.

Thanks again for your review and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you both back when you next return to Melbourne.

Kind Regards

Melissa Lakaschus
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sarina, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This was my first trip to Melbourne and the Hotel was recommended to me by a friend and my stay was for two nights. Taxi dropped me off and first impressions were amazing. Lovely building and on stepping inside it lived up to expectations. Reception staff (Kenny) could not have been more helpful. He went out of his way to help me. Restaurant was lovely and food was excellent. Room was small but was only for one! A bus was booked for my return to Airport by Kenny. I loved the décor and will certainly stay there and recommend the Hotel to others. Did not have a chance to look around Melbourne.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 25Colleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear 25Colleen

Thank you for taking the time to post a fantastic 5 star review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and appreciated the historic nature of the building, lovely décor and friendly atmosphere and service offered throughout the Hotel. I will especially pass on your thanks and appreciation to Kenny, who consistently goes out of his way to ensure our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Thanks again for your lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Charsfield when you next return to Melbourne.

Kind Regards

Melissa Lakaschus
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Beautiful hotel, located on the outskirts of CBD. Short walk away from Albert park and the Royal botanic gardens. Tram stops right outside the hotel. Excellent service, nearby parking available. They have a laundry room on the property, which was really handy. We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment, which was huge! It was really lovely and clean but none of the coffee or tea are complimentary, i think. They have snacks and drinks that you can purchase, which is nice. The kitchen had all the tools to even bake a cake!(not that we did, but it was surely possible)
Amazing hotel, recommended to any type of traveller(family, friends, solo, couples,etc).

p.s. If you want to use their massage/mani-pedi services, you have to let them know early.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chweet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Chweet K

Thank you for your fantastic 5 star review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your recent stay and appreciated the location, Hotel amenities and apartment accommodation offered. It's also great to hear that your allocated Apartment was sufficiently furnished, which enabled a comfortable stay. For future reference, the tea and coffee offered in all our rooms is complimentary and replenished daily.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post a review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Charsfield when you next return to Melbourne.

Kind Regards

Melissa Lakaschus
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Perth, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Our first trip to Melbourne,and it got off to a great start,our taxi dropped us off outside this lovely well maintained hotel that we thought suited our taste and we were not disappointed.the check in was easy and very proffesional,the room was great,a comfortable big bed and all the mod cons,and a lovely bathroom. We had breakfast one morning and everything you could want was there,the employees were all very helpfully and informative, a very well run hotel and a return visit from us for sure. We will recommend the charsfield to anyone visiting Melbourne.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Dean C

Thank you for taking the time to post your 5/5 review regarding your recent stay.

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your first trip to Melbourne and appreciated the well maintained, clean and comfortable accommodation provided at Hotel Charsfield. We are also delighted that our friendly team were able to provide you with professional, helpful and efficient service throughout your stay.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel when you next return to Melbourne and appreciate you passing on your recommendations to others visiting Melbourne.

Kind Regards

Melissa Lakaschus
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My wife and I stayed for two nights over Queens Birthday long weekend. Staff were obliging in all aspects of Service. Kept bar open for last minute Ports on arrival back after dinner. We didn't eat in the Restaurant however the coffees were good.
Very clean and well maintained. Big rooms with a big shower and shower head. Just what was needed after walking all day.
Parking out front for free over the weekend. If staying during the week could get expensive as off street is over $20 per day.
Will make our way back again for sure. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dills10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I recently stayed 3 nights on business and was very impressed with the staff and the hotel generally was very good. The man who checked me in went out of his way to assist me with some small requests I had made prior to arriving. Other staff at reception and in the restaurant also were very helpful and obliging. The room was good though it suffered from the hot then cold shower problem that seems to be too common in hotels, not sure why. It was good being able to order from the full restaurant menu and have id delivered to my room and the food was good. The gym was small and the equipment needs to be updated and no treadmill was not ideal. Overall a lovely hotel with an old world feel and great staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodie1724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Very quaint old hotel. Exterior is charming. Hotel staff is extremely friendly. Beds and bedding are modern and comfortable. Coffee/tea service in each room. The rooms, though old, have been redecorated and are comfortable. Would stay again.
Negative- bathrooms could use some bleach in the corners.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank COLO_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#24 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,857 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#11 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,622 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#26 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royce Hotel
#36 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 788 reviews
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Charsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charsfield

Address: 478 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Charsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Charsfield is a fine example of early St Kilda Road Victorian architecture, which has heritage listing. This boutique accommodation now combines the warmth, character and style of the building with professional and friendly service to ensure the experience on offer is as unique as the guests who stay here. So whether you are visiting Melbourne on business, as a conference delegate, on holiday, or perhaps to enjoy one of the many major events in town, the Hotel Charsfield is the ideal choice for accommodation in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Charsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charsfield Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing