We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Building” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Charsfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Charsfield to your Saves list
Hotel Charsfield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   478 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sarina, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This was my first trip to Melbourne and the Hotel was recommended to me by a friend and my stay was for two nights. Taxi dropped me off and first impressions were amazing. Lovely building and on stepping inside it lived up to expectations. Reception staff (Kenny) could not have been more helpful. He went out of his way to help me. Restaurant was lovely and food was excellent. Room was small but was only for one! A bus was booked for my return to Airport by Kenny. I loved the décor and will certainly stay there and recommend the Hotel to others. Did not have a chance to look around Melbourne.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear 25Colleen

Thank you for taking the time to post a fantastic 5 star review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and appreciated the historic nature of the building, lovely décor and friendly atmosphere and service offered throughout the Hotel. I will especially pass on your thanks and appreciation to Kenny, who consistently goes out of his way to ensure our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Thanks again for your lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Charsfield when you next return to Melbourne.

Kind Regards

Melissa Lakaschus
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    177
    35
    16
    5
See reviews for
58
212
36
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Beautiful hotel, located on the outskirts of CBD. Short walk away from Albert park and the Royal botanic gardens. Tram stops right outside the hotel. Excellent service, nearby parking available. They have a laundry room on the property, which was really handy. We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment, which was huge! It was really lovely and clean but none of the coffee or tea are complimentary, i think. They have snacks and drinks that you can purchase, which is nice. The kitchen had all the tools to even bake a cake!(not that we did, but it was surely possible)
Amazing hotel, recommended to any type of traveller(family, friends, solo, couples,etc).

p.s. If you want to use their massage/mani-pedi services, you have to let them know early.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Chweet K

Thank you for your fantastic 5 star review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your recent stay and appreciated the location, Hotel amenities and apartment accommodation offered. It's also great to hear that your allocated Apartment was sufficiently furnished, which enabled a comfortable stay. For future reference, the tea and coffee offered in all our rooms is complimentary and replenished daily.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post a review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Charsfield when you next return to Melbourne.

Kind Regards

Melissa Lakaschus
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Perth, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Our first trip to Melbourne,and it got off to a great start,our taxi dropped us off outside this lovely well maintained hotel that we thought suited our taste and we were not disappointed.the check in was easy and very proffesional,the room was great,a comfortable big bed and all the mod cons,and a lovely bathroom. We had breakfast one morning and everything you could want was there,the employees were all very helpfully and informative, a very well run hotel and a return visit from us for sure. We will recommend the charsfield to anyone visiting Melbourne.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Dean C

Thank you for taking the time to post your 5/5 review regarding your recent stay.

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your first trip to Melbourne and appreciated the well maintained, clean and comfortable accommodation provided at Hotel Charsfield. We are also delighted that our friendly team were able to provide you with professional, helpful and efficient service throughout your stay.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel when you next return to Melbourne and appreciate you passing on your recommendations to others visiting Melbourne.

Kind Regards

Melissa Lakaschus
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My wife and I stayed for two nights over Queens Birthday long weekend. Staff were obliging in all aspects of Service. Kept bar open for last minute Ports on arrival back after dinner. We didn't eat in the Restaurant however the coffees were good.
Very clean and well maintained. Big rooms with a big shower and shower head. Just what was needed after walking all day.
Parking out front for free over the weekend. If staying during the week could get expensive as off street is over $20 per day.
Will make our way back again for sure. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I recently stayed 3 nights on business and was very impressed with the staff and the hotel generally was very good. The man who checked me in went out of his way to assist me with some small requests I had made prior to arriving. Other staff at reception and in the restaurant also were very helpful and obliging. The room was good though it suffered from the hot then cold shower problem that seems to be too common in hotels, not sure why. It was good being able to order from the full restaurant menu and have id delivered to my room and the food was good. The gym was small and the equipment needs to be updated and no treadmill was not ideal. Overall a lovely hotel with an old world feel and great staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Very quaint old hotel. Exterior is charming. Hotel staff is extremely friendly. Beds and bedding are modern and comfortable. Coffee/tea service in each room. The rooms, though old, have been redecorated and are comfortable. Would stay again.
Negative- bathrooms could use some bleach in the corners.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guerneville, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My travel agent found this hotel for me based on my preference for boutique style establishments and I really loved it. A five minute walk from the tram stop made it so easy to come and go into town. I found the room to be extremely quiet and I am the sort who would value this quality above almost everything despite the fact that some reviewers had some issues. I specifically requested a quiet room and was not disappointed. The staff was so sweet and helpful. There is an on site laundry room available to the guests which I found to be really helpful since Melbourne was only one stop in a month long trip. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Charsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charsfield

Address: 478 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Charsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Charsfield is a fine example of early St Kilda Road Victorian architecture, which has heritage listing. This boutique accommodation now combines the warmth, character and style of the building with professional and friendly service to ensure the experience on offer is as unique as the guests who stay here. So whether you are visiting Melbourne on business, as a conference delegate, on holiday, or perhaps to enjoy one of the many major events in town, the Hotel Charsfield is the ideal choice for accommodation in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Charsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charsfield Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Charsfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.