We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Old-world Charm near the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Charsfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Charsfield to your Saves list
Hotel Charsfield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   478 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delightful Old-world Charm near the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

An old Army Officers Mess, compete with the old stables (now a bit more utilitarian and not as romantic - or smelly) which has a delightful rambling old style. Very comfortable rooms (we got upgraded to a suite, which was two large rooms and a modern en suite). Great price for what you get, and the staff were very helpful and made an effort to help. Trams right outside which allow a quick trip either out to the restaurants at St. Kilda or into the city. Set back from the main road a bit, so it is also nice and quite from the outside, but noting the old building there are some romantic creaks as folks move about the place - nothing that a light sleeper like myself got bothered by though. Comfy bed, although the ceiling fan above our bed was broken; with no Air-con in that room (remember, a two room suite) the air-con in the lounge struggled to keep the room cool at night. Minor inconvenience though.

Room Tip: Suite was nice, but was closer to the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Ainsley M,

Thank you for sharing your delightful 5 star review.

I am so pleased to read you thoroughly enjoyed your return to Hotel Charsfield, however it does sound like you remember it as the WRAAC 31 barracks.

Thank you for bringing to our attention the ceiling fan in your room. Our maintenance team has now checked all rooms, and each fan is in perfect working order.

I am pleased you enjoyed your upgrade to one our Junior Suites, and look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Charsfield next time you visit Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Assistant Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    156
    30
    15
    5
See reviews for
52
178
35
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed in Hotel Charsfield whilst attending a workshop. It was a pleasure to come back to each day after long days at the workshop. The staff (with one minor exception - see below) were excellent - always making a point of greeting me whenever I entered and exited the premises, and always (with the exception of one incident) smiling and helpful. The Deluxe room that I booked was on the first floor of the hotel (NB - no lift!) facing the back of the hotel, quiet (as I requested), beautifully furnished, with a comfortable bed, aircon and adequate drawers and wardrobe space. I agree with comments about the bathroom 'tho - whilst I found the size of the room adequate, it might definitely be a bit of a squeeze for large people or a couple who are in there together! Continental breakfast was ample with a good range of cereals and spreads, although a greater range of fresh fruit would have been nice. Espresso coffee was extra - it would have been nice to have included it in the breakfast charge.

Just a couple of minor quibbles:
1) The lady in charge of breakfast was a liitle sour on the second morning, but her manner had improved the following morning. I'll put it down to having a bad morning...
2) I left a dirty towel in the shower receptacle for collection by the cleaner as instructed, but it wasn't collected and was still there when I checked out. I mentioned this to the front staff at checkout, who were very apologetic.

All in all, a lovely experience - I'll certainly be back if the opportunity arises!

Room Tip: As others have said, ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you want to ensure a quiet room. And...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Peter W,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am pleased to read that Hotel Charsfield was a most comfortable hotel for your recent stay in Melbourne and delighted to hear you will return when next travelling to Melbourne.

Perhaps for your next stay you might like to consider one of our heritage style rooms, The Premier Room which does offer larger marble bathrooms and very elegant decor.

I would like to thank you also for raising your 2 negative aspects of your stay, and would like to assure you that both incidents were not our usual very high standard of service.

I have spoken with the managers of both departments and we will use this review in our next staff meeting as a training tool.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Assistant Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I regularly stay at the Hotel Charsfield for a reason - it is well-priced, very comfortable and convenient. At a time when Australian hotel prices in capital cities are becoming increasingly more expensive, the Hotel Charsfield provides a very comfortable room comparable with the chain hotels at a location that is only minutes from the city.

For first time visitors, the hotel is located a handful of stops on the tram from the city centre but is not situated in the middle of the urban jungle of the CBD or Southbank. St Kilda Road is a broad, leafy boulevard that provides a picturesque setting for this 19th century building.

The restaurant is pleasant and the menu has always been first rate when I have eaten there. If you wish to eat out you will need to walk or catch the tram to either St Kilda Beach, Southbank or the city - each of which is a short tram ride on a regular tram service.

Melbourne's weather can produce a wide range of temperatures - the in-room air-conditioning has always been up to the task but on most nights the quality of the building has meant that I have not had to use the heating or cooling.

I would recommend this hotel to business travellers or tourists without any hesitation.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are perfectly fine for short stays but for longer stays try the junior suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Phil_S_AU,

Thank you for your delightful 4 star review and continued support of Hotel Charsfield.

I am pleased our location and facilities are well suited to your needs when travelling to Melbourne.

Thank you also for your kind comments on the quality of meals and service you reguarly receieve from The Charsfield Restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Charsfield in the near future.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Assistant Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We were very happy with this hotel. The room was lovely, with new fixtures. The dining room and bar was very nice for breakfast. Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We loved the architecture and ambience. There is no elevator, and the hotel is not central to St Kilda, however it is a short cab ride to downtown or St Kilda.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear L33333,

Thank you for your lovely 5 star review!

We are so pleased to read you thoroughly enjoyed your time at Hotel Charsfield and that our accommodation and facilities were to your liking. It will be my great pleasure to share your review with staff and management alike.

I am pleased you also liked our location along St Kilda Road boulevard, being close to all most attractions on the south side of the inner city near St Kilda, Prahran, South Yarra and just an 7 minute tram ride to the city centre.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time you visit Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Assistant Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We spent a delightful; evening at the Hotel Charsfield on St Kilda Road enjoying the plush & elegant surrounds in our Deluxe spa room. The decor was a mix of modern and elegance of a bygone era with our own balcony to boot. Service was of a high standard & friendly. On the down side the restaurant had run out of oysters & prawns and with quite a small menu to choose from that was very disappointing. Staff apologised and told us that was not the usual. Luckily Southbank was close and we headed down there. all in all we were very satisfied with our stay .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Jennibmelbourne,

Thank you for your lovely 4 star review. I am so pleased to read you enjoyed our night away in our beautiful Premier Spa Room, and found our staff to be a delight during your stay. It will be my pleasure to share your comments with our staff and management alike.

I apologise for your experience in The Charsfield bar and restaurant, as unfortunately seafood on the night you stayed was unavailable. Please rest assured this is not our normal standard of service, and all dishes are available on our seasonal menu. I am pleased though you found some wonderful restaurants at nearby Southbank and hope our staff were helpful to you in selecting a nice restaurant suited to your preference.

I hope you had a safe trip home and do look foward to welcoming you back to Hotel Charsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Assistant Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Arrived in Melbourne during a very hot week. Staff were attentive and friendly, room was clean, comfortable and cool! The hotel is a beautiful old building and lovely gardens. Dinner in the dining room was delicious and very close to all attractions in Melbourne. Thank you.

Room Tip: Room at back of hotel was very quiet and restful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear 500Belinda,

Thank you for your lovely 4 star review.

I am so pleased to read you enjoyed your recent stay at Hotel Charsfield, and that our rooms were nice and cool, offering comfort during Melbourne's heatwave.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our location along St Kilda Road boulevard and found us ideally located to access the CBD and local areas. Tom, our attentive maintenance and garnener takes great pride in the upkeep of the building and surrounds so he will be delighted to hear of your review.

Thank you also for your kind comments regarding the service and food quality you recieved when dining in The Charsfield Restaurant and Bar.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Charsfield next time you visit Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Assistant Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We are regular visitors to Melbourne yet surprisingly we have never stayed in St Kilda Road. Having recently experienced the absolute charm of Hotel Charsfield, this will now change. I will be recommending this historic treasure to family and friends.
Delightfully helpful front desk staff who were full of useful suggestions on parking. If you are out all day, drive back after peak hour and you can park your car in St Kilda Rd for free until 8am on weekdays. On weekends it is all free so you will not need to garage your car.
We stayed in a Junior Suite which was great for an extended stay as it had a separate lounge area. Spacious rooms, beautifully decorated in a restrained classical style; a guest laundry with washer and dryer for only $3 a wash. Another pleasant feature is the Reading Room with its wide range of books, magazines and daily papers.
The location is perfect for easy access to the city via the tram or it is a pleasant 25 minute walk to the Arts Centre going along the magnificent promenade that is St Kilda Road. We were there during extreme heat where every air conditioner in Melbourne was having trouble coping with 43 degree heat. However with the return of normal summer temperatures, our room was quiet, comfortably warm and spotlessly maintained.
I have travelled extensively and I am so impressed with this lovely hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Australian57,

Thank you for your delightful 5 star review.

We are delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your time at Hotel Charsfield and are now recommending it to friendsand family. We are well known as the hidden gem on St Kilda Road and are so fortunate to have a large clientel of people who love returning to the hotel time and time again because of the comfort and friendly service.

Indeed parking is wonderful along St Kilda road on weekends, offering free street parking from Friday evening until Monday morning. Weekdays after 6pm is also free until 8am the following morning. We also do offer secure off-site parking for $22.00 per 24hours which can be arranged on check in.

I am pleased you enjoyed our Junior suite which is pefect for guest staying just that little bit longer. Thank you also for your consideration during Melbourne's intense 5 day heatwave, as mentioned alot of business's, homes and other hotels did experience power outages and some struggle in cooling their establishes down as the deman across Melbourne was at a peak.

It will be my great pleasure to share your comments with staff and management alike, especially our housekeeping team who do a fantastic job and take great pride in ensuring our hotel rooms are spotlessly clean.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Charsfield next time you visit Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Assistant Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Charsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charsfield

Address: 478 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Charsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Charsfield is a fine example of early St Kilda Road Victorian architecture, which has heritage listing. This boutique accommodation now combines the warmth, character and style of the building with professional and friendly service to ensure the experience on offer is as unique as the guests who stay here. So whether you are visiting Melbourne on business, as a conference delegate, on holiday, or perhaps to enjoy one of the many major events in town, the Hotel Charsfield is the ideal choice for accommodation in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Charsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charsfield Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Charsfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.